We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice quiet business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turotel Morelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turotel Morelia
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice quiet business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We planned at trip to explore Morelia and after searching Tripadviser chose Turotel as many recommended the rooms away from the main periferico for being very quiet. Well, we could not be happier.

We ask for a recommendation in central for lunch yesterday and they recommended the restaurant Lu. Tripadviser rated it the 4th best in Morelia and we would agree. Excellent service, food and location!!!

The added benefit of this hotel is that the the front desk staff mostly speak very good english if your spanish is lacking in any areas...but they will speak spanish if you are trying to practice.

Overall a fine place to stay.

Regards,

Preston

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Preston E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    32
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
14
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troncones, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Thank you to all the staff to make our staying so easy and pleasant.
We were relocated at mid night from a beautiful downtown hotel (Hotel Casino)
it was a power breakage and they immediately took care of us (thank you)
We finaly decide to stay at Turotel for the rest of our visit because it has a very good location if your are visiting Morelia for shopping, business or vacation.
Good breakfast buffet and snack 24h.
Excelent service from Lupe (frontdesk, kitchen, waiter & valet! thank you very much)
we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 203, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jardin Del Eden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel has a very good value for money. Rooms are new with all amenities you need for a business trip. The restaurant food is good. The hotel staff is very kind and always with a smile on the face.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoZamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We needed a modern and convenient hotel in which to stay in Morelia following surgery. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, and staying at Turotel, we are not surprised that it has won First Place in the Hotel category for Morelia.

Among the attractions for us were its location, on the eastern outskirts of the city, not in the beloved, charming, but traffic clogged central part of the city. Another attraction was the breakfast buffet and room service We made use of both and were pleased by the freshness of the food and the speed of room service. (Albeit that all we ordered was juice and mineral water, but even though it was at 1 o'clock in the morning, it took only 5 minutes for room service to deliver the drinks.)

Most important of all, our room was spacious, with two double beds, an ample desk, a comfortable easy chair, a large dresser with huge drawers and a small but adequate lavatory-bathroom combination. More on that in a moment.

Seldom have we used AC in a Mexican hotel, but here it was useful due to the strong Autumnal sun. But most of the time, we just set the AC to "Fan". Although our most recent room faced a busy peripheral road, the room was quiet enough, unless ambulances were passing.

The beds were very comfortable, the bed linens sleek and soothing and the pillows soft.

I was a little nervous at first parking outside, in front of the lobby, and not in some locked compound. But apparently Security is vigilant and we passed three nights without incident.

Housekeeping was spotless and detail oriented.

There is a small but pleasant pool on a first floor terrace and a lounging area with tables and deck chairs. It's pleasant, but a very minor attraraction for us, as is the small adjacent gym room.

Internet access is very important to us, and here there was some faltering, as our connection would at times fade and disconnect unexpectedly. However, several wifi routers were detectable and if necessary, I could go to the lobby, where there is always a strong signal.

Now to the lavatory-bathroom: the lavatory was of a high standard, with all the amenities and these of high quality. The door to the toilet and shower is positioned in such away that it is impossible for two persons to enter if one is seated. (Please, don't laugh.) Once inside, the toilet is fine. The shower stall is fully tiled and the supply of hot water quick to arrive and above all, abundant. It's a joy to use the shower. Towels were plentiful, although a bit rough.

We opted for the SuperAhorros plan in which breakfast, either buffet or cooked to order (or both!) is included Our rate was $944 pesos per night, breakfast and taxes included. For the most part, the food is not of gourmet standard, but is tasty, fresh and generous. We couldn't ask for more under the circumstances,and at the price. We were fortunate to get this promotional rate, because as the holiday of Day of the Dead approaches, the rates increase to over $1000 pesos a night.

Over all, we couldn't be more pleased with Turotel Morelia, Mexico. We would recommend it to visitors wanting a comfortable stay in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUROTEL, Manager at Turotel Morelia, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

It is a pleasure for us to receive favorable comments about our hotel. Of course we will keep in mind your suggestions and we will try to improve.

We hope to have you back in Morelia very soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I was very unsure of this hotel, some good reviews and one or two not-so-good, so only booked one night. The check-in was friendly and efficient. The rooms (we booked two) were spacious and very clean, and up-to-date (unlike some of the very tired rooms we saw in hotels in the old part of town. The beds were comfortable, we had plenty of hot water for showers, tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and it was quiet. As a retired person, I really appreciated the elevator, even though my room was only one floor above reception. The breakfast was the best in my tour of central Mexico - its well worth the little bit extra if paid at time of booking - lots of healthy options, such as muesli, cereals, and fresh fruits, as well as pancakes, french toast, eggs, etc. cooked to your order, and cappucino coffee. The staff were very helpful. Only drawback is that it is a taxi-ride (about 35 pesos-roughly $3) into the center of town where the Cathedral/Plaza and all of the historical sites are located. For this reason alone, we moved into a hotel near the cathedral for our 2nd and 3rd nights in Morelia.

Room Tip: My room was on the opposite side from the road outside, but the other room faced the road and was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is OK, just what is needed but nothing else (10 TV channels and old TV for instance). The room service menu is the worse I have seen (chips, cookies, coke, a sandwich and so forth).
Breakfast is great and the room clean. The first 2 nights were OK but this morning (I just checked out) there was no hot water to take a shower. I called the front desk and they said they were checking and would call me back. After 30 minutes I had to cal again and they said the keys of the services room were not in the hotel and I had to wait until 10 AM for the person to come with the keys.
When I come to the front desk instead of apologizing they say that these things happen and that it was an accident. And that is it! They billed me for the night and I complained. Then a lady came and mentioned that they could give me a 50% discount!!! COME ON!!!! I had to leave late and without showering!!!
So basically they do not know how to serve a client and they want US, their CUSTOMERS to take responsibility and pay for their mistakes.
I know that these things can happen, we are ALL humans... and it is OK. What is not OK is how you react to these accidents and how you SERVE your clients.

Furthermore, me and people from my company come every 2 weeks to Morelia for work. When I called to see if we could have a better fare if we always come here, they gave me a "discount" which was 10% higher than the price show in the web... So to their best loyal clients, they charge them more... Unfortunately it was my last time here...

Room Tip: I stayed in the 4th floor and tehre was no hot water... people in other floors did not seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geronimo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Turotel is everything it claims to be on its website, except they forget to mention the amiability, hospitality and the high level of professionalism of the entire staff. The breakfast/brunch is delicious, whether you eat from the buffet or order a custom prepared plate, so be sure to ask for the room rate that includes this flat flee option.
The hotel is quiet, rooms feature double paned windows, light blocking drapes, excellent climate control and super strong wifi. Comfortably furnished, sparkling clean and modern, you can’t go wrong. In-room safe was over-sized, even my laptop fit.
Vanity area is separate from the bathroom, and very hot water comes out quickly. A flimsy shower curtain and tiny lip in the spacious shower area means the floor gets wet, but that seems to be pretty much standard in most Mexican hotels (and homes), so I don’t even notice anymore.
Swimming pool is moderately sized, and the water is not very warm. Still, some people were swimming and enjoying themselves. Too cold for me during my four day stay.
“Colectivos” (public transportation vans) stop in front of the hotel. To get to the Centro Histórico, walk to the stop that is immediately to your left as you exit the hotel. Take the van that says “Rojo 1.” For six pesos you get a ride past many beautiful old buildings on your way to the centro, as well as the old stone aqueducts, Villalongin park, and the fountain of the three Tarrascan maidens. The driver will drop you off at the fountain if you ask, then you can walk about ten minutes to the magnificent cathedral, passing by many stately and ornate colonial buildings on your way.
To return to the hotel, go to the portal on Calle Allende behind the Plaza de las Armas. You can take the van that says “Café 1,” which will take you back to Turotel, with the option of getting off at the Botanical Orchid Gardens (Orquideas) and the Planetarium on your way. (Make sure you check museum hours.) After your visit, return to the street and flag down the next “Café 1” van to take you back to the hotel. The bus/van stop for Turotel is called “Mil Cumbres.” You can always take the van Rojo 1 to return to the hotel as well, which is a shorter route.
Another advantage of the location of Turotel is that you can walk (15 or 20 minutes) to two great shopping malls, “Plaza Morelia” and the new and grander “Plaza Las Américas,” just a few more steps away. There is also a taxi stop in front of the hotel, and for 35 or 40 pesos, you can get a lift to wherever you want.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in any room ending in 01 or 03 because the view is rather boring. Instead ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tfobmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#4 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gran Hotel Morelia
3.0 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Suites Campestre Morelia
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morelia
1.2 mi away
Gamma by Fiesta Inn Morelia Belo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turotel Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turotel Morelia

Property: Turotel Morelia
Address: Av. Acueducto No. 3805 | Esq Av Camelinas, Morelia 58254, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turotel Morelia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A practical hotel, full of comfort and warmth in its service and rooms. Well located, its excellent rates include a complete breakfast buffet prepared to your taste. The up-to-date design includes a swimming pool, meeting rooms, a business corner, internet service, free parking and a 24 hour room service.Conviniently located in Morelia’s financial and commercial district, surrounded by restaurants, cinemas and malls. Just five minutes from Tres Marías Golf Club, ten minutes from downtown, and 30 minutes from Morelia’s international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turotel Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing