We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great service, difficult location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Express Zacatecas
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Zacatecas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the main expressway(mostly toll) near the new Government City and close to the one enclosed upscale mall in Zacatecas but 5 miles from the center of the historic district of the city where the cultural sites are. There is a shuttle on a space available basis within a 10K radius that should get you to any local point of interest. You can book tours at the desk and taxi fares are quite low. If you are adventurous, city buses are cheap. There are few restaurants nearby so the hotel has a not so limited room service menu and several restaurants deliver. The front desk goes out of its way to connect you with the cuisine that pleases.

Breanfast is ample including pancakes and eggs to order. Snacks and drinks were available all day but that may have been due to the World Cup.

The one queen bed room was attractive and functional and the bed comfortable. It's a modern style almost Ikea-like. I was quite satisfied.

The one sour note is the WiFi setup. Several routers throughout the building, all but one having cryptic SSID's. If you can't connect to "CityExpress" you have to call the desk and they'll help you connect to one of the others. Even so, speed is agonizingly slow.

The $70US or so rate is an excellent value compared to the competition.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank 998barryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thanks for contact us we are thanks for your comments and its plased to know that the Hotel City Express Zacatecas did with your expectatives of comfort and service and make you very comfortable
Looking foward for your next visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had a LONG days drive through N Mexico, and we were quite tired, fatigued, ready to quarrel, were using non-standard English, hungry and sick of being in a car.

We made it outside of Zacatecas, hoped to find a hotel outside the city as we were ready to camp in a cow field at this point, but all the cow fields were fenced in, so into the crazy traffic Z we went.

At rush hour on a Friday.

Was not a happy set up - at all.

Got funneled into the madness of Z and found ourselves helplessly caught like rats in the road system, terrified and having way too many close encounters of the collision style, we spotted the City Express sign, and ditched off the hellish highway (pulling a camper trailer, BTW) and soon pulled into CEexpress's parking lot

Truth to be told, the lobby could have been filled with a Bandito motorcycle club reunion and Dracula transvestite convention, it would matter not, we were getting a room.

As soon as I approached the door a well appointed gentleman opened the door, the lobby was full of light and cheer, the desk were attentive, the rates were great, $52. $ 645 Mexico peso, the staff nearly rushed outside to help us unload, our room was perfect, small, perhaps, but remember $52, we are so happy to have stumbled here, I believe we will stay here for several more days.
And,tho,as we have been here for all of six hours, they evidentially provide a transport service to the Centro, which sounds great to me, cause we have no more interest in driving our 12 passenger one ton van anywhere in Z but out of here.

Hope to use that tomorrow, as we ARE NOT fireing up our van until leaving.

Three cheers for City Express, as far as Sue and I already concerned.

Room Tip: I hit the pool button by mistake, I don't think it has a pool l
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomjackson008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay at City Express Zacatecas comply with your expectatives and our standars of service and quality make you feel confortable.

Looking foward for your next visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The City Express Hotel in Zacatecas is a 15-20 minute taxi ride from the La Calera Airport at a cost of about 300 Pesos (12 GBP). The hotel advertised a shuttle bus and whilst I tried to arrange that to pick me up when I booked on the internet I did not see it on my arrival so took a taxi. This 6 storey hotel has nothing of interest near it and is in a quiet open highway area and there was a little traffic noise in those rooms that face the road. The reception was efficient although, as expected, some staff had limited English. The room was similar to Travelodge UK type rooms. There was a walk in shower which was nice, a TV that had quite a lot of English movie and sports programs but no English news. The bed may be a little hard for some but I found it reasonably comfortable. There was no free coffee or tea in the room but there was 2 bottles of free water. In the lobby there is a small restaurant with a limited menu but reasonable food and they deliver to the room as well. Breakfast was included and was OK with a few Mexican dishes, some fruit, some pastry, bread and cereals. As usual in USA and Mexican hotels there were drink and snack dispenser machines on every level. I requested a late check out for 3pm and that was given at no extra charge. I took the free hotel shuttle back to the airport but that is not available after 5pm.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road. There is a little traffic noise in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear James

Please let us know your comments regarding the service received by the limited English and a little more variety in the breakfast menu as this lets us know your needs and work on them to make your stay both enjoyable and complete.

We said goodbye, but not before thanking his comments. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is a basic hotel with no frills but everything you need for a comfortable stay.

The rooms are small, but contain all the necessities. The beds are comfortable but not plush.

Breakfast was good.

The hotel is not close to the centre of town, but they run a shuttle service.

Overall ... value for money if you're on the road,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalaharigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Good morning George,

We welcome your comments regarding room sizes as this lets us know your needs and work on them to make your stay both enjoyable. We hope it's transportation service has been helpful to move

We said goodbye, but not before thanking his comments. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Location - Very much on the Highway connecting other states.
Transportation - Free Shuttle service (max. 10 Kms.) - to reach Office, Shopping & Airport.
Rooms - Very neatly maintained and lot of natural light.
Food - Complimentary Break fast and Lunch / Dinner available at affordable price. Complimentary snacks on Evenings (Tuesday to Thursday)
Staff - Very friendly & Good Hospitality.
Maintenance - Prompt attention to the needs of the Customer.
Gas station - right next door.
Hospital - A new General Hospital at walkable distance.
Shopping Mall - Galerias Zacatecas very near the Hotel. Guests can take free shuttle service from the hotel.
Cinema - Cinepolis cine complex available at the Shopping mall.
Walmart, Soriana & Downtown - reachable distance by Taxi (50 pesos) or Shuttle service from the Hotel.
* prior info. to the Reception for the Shuttle service would help.
Sight seeing - Reception can be contacted to book for a day's trip to visit places in Zacatecas. Pick up at the hotel.

In all, a very pleasant experience @ City Express, Zacatecas :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsram78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you at City Express Zacatecas . Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know that the quality of the service met your expectations, that you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel´s location worked great for both your transportation and entertainment needs. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico City or in any other hotel of the City Express chain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

With the road improvements from the US border now Zacatecas is a viabel one day drive for expats heading to the Guadalahara area, located on the north side with easy access on hwy 45 near the new convention centre. Really clean attractive rooms good breakfast included and a Pemex next door ideal for a stop over.

Room Tip: I think all rooms here are of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeltjeAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Appreciated guest:
It is gratifaying to say hello and also thank you for choosing City Express Zacatecas , we will consider your comments for a second hotel in this city. We work every day so that the quality of our service meets your expectations. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

right on the main highway through Zacatecas its impossible to miss, the staff were very friendly and very affordable rates! the sound in the rooms was very low considering its next to a highway. The room service was very prompt and the food was excellent as was the free breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms farther from the road will be quieter. and rooms on the lower floors will have less draft from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERENCIACEZCL, Gerente at City Express Zacatecas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Good afternoon Mr. Flint, It´s a pleasure for us to serve you. And we want to see you in your next visit. Thank you again for staying in this your hotel City Express Zacatecas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Zacatecas
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Zacatecas
Fiesta Inn Zacatecas
#3 of 37 in Zacatecas
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 37 in Zacatecas
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Hacienda Baruk
Hotel & Spa Hacienda Baruk
#27 of 37 in Zacatecas
201 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Baruk Teleferico y Mina
2.8 mi away
Don Miguel
Don Miguel
#24 of 37 in Zacatecas
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Zacatecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Zacatecas

Address: Calzada Heroes de Chapultepec No. 1700 | Fracc. Argentum, Zacatecas 98050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Zacatecas
Price Range: £32 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Express Zacatecas 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Express Zacatecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing