We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property that is centrally located”
Review of Casareyna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casareyna Hotel
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Beautiful property that is centrally located”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Casareyna at the tailend of climbing expedition on the volcano Orizaba. My climbing partner and I did not fit into the mold of most people staying at the hotel which seemed to be mostly business people and the occasional Mexican Tourist.

Overall we were happy with our experience. The staff was efficient while not overly friendly they answered questions for us. The room was large and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable.

The location is just a few blocks from Zocalo and right across the street from the artist section of Puebla. We felt safe and did not have any insecurities in the area. There are a couple of good bars right across the street and the restaurant within the hotel was a favorite from the whole trip. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: There are supposedly rooms with great views although we did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    113
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
207
323
47
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The only reason why I don't give it perfect score is because I kept waking up because of the construction noise. I wouldn't skip the hotel because of this though, just ask for a room away from the construction noise or bring earplugs. Hopefully the work will be done soon, and this will no longer be an issue at all. I love the architecture which uses existing walls and arches from old buildings and modern glass and walls to create a truly beautiful building which is simultaneously elegant and quaint. The room and bathroom are spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good too. There's a Sanborns and a Tarlets Coffee a stone's throw away, and it's about a 10 minute walk from the zocalo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

1. very reasonable price, money for value
2. parking included; doorman valets car at no extra charge to secure area
3. smallish continental breakfast included; tasty
4. hotel set a new personal best record of 13 toiletry amenities
5. large room, large king bed, nice bathroom
6. a/c and fi fi work fine; many channels on tv
7. 2 bottles of water in bathroom are free; those displayed in bedroom cost $
8. like everything in Mexico, difficult to find. Best way (without locater device) is find the local Sanborns. It's just down the side street next to Sandborns
9. Good location. A 5-6 block to the Zocalo with things to see along the way.
10. Tip--when going to the Zocolo, take a block detour and walk down 6 Oriente. It is locally known as "candy street" for its numerous candy stores.
11. The hotel has a good high quality restaurant, but a little too spicy for our taste. Our best meal was at Entre Tierras at 4 Norte 410 Centro, an easy walk. The cheese enchaladas are great and the meat ones are almost as good. Nice English speaking manager (Armando)

Hope the above is helpful to you

Room Tip: ask for a room which does not overlook the restaurant. It tends to be loud in the morning and loude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel Boutique Casareyna
This is a beautiful hotel and we were in a suite complete with a patio. Beautifully appointed and terrific staff. The best bed we slept in during the 5 weeks of travel in Mexico. It was a great location in a safe neighborhood. They were under construction while we were there so it was pretty noisy…I wish they had warned us about that. This is the best place to eat mole for sure. We loved the restaurant but again, because of the construction; avoid eating outside unless you don’t mind the constant construction dust misting down. Hopefully that’ll be a short-lived problem. Great Wi-Fi, great gift shop, great bathroom products, fantastic restaurant, and a 10-minute walk to the Zoczlo.
Con's: the shower was lukewarm with little water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelushlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is excellent for the price. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well - maintained.
The public spaces are very stylish. The location was convenient to walk to the attractions of Puebla. The restaurant has a nice continental breakfast - included in the room price - and a famous mole poblano but it closes early, as early as 6 on Sundays. if you're in the mood for a quick snack head across the street to the shopping center - delicious crepes for 35 pesos and other food stands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklyntraveler609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

My experience at Casareyna comes from actually NOT staying at the hotel. I made a reservation through the page and it had a problem - so in the end was cancelled. I of course was not pleased- but the management of the hotel was superb in treating me. They helped me sort out meals and accommodation and from a potentially conflictive situation they ensured I am looking forward to stay with them. It does help a lot sampling the authentic and tasty Mexican food they serve at their restaurant.
Congratulations for having authentic client service attitude. Look forward to my stay with you

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Not only was the service extraordinary, but the room itself was beautiful and very spacious. Walking distance to several museums and the city center. Also, the restaurant is incredible. Ask for Carlos, the waitor. I could eat their homemade panque every day of my life. And the wine, the wine.... I wanted to buy a cask but my boyfriend said no. Good call since we were flying home.

Just make sure you print out directions in advance as its a little tough to find if you are on your own.

Finally, I'm pretty sure its haunted. My boyfriend and I both woke up in the middle of the night to bizarro noises that sounded like something was trying to open the window from the outside (we were on the 3rd floor). No matter, we would both stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_krumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#22 of 100 in Puebla
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#6 of 100 in Puebla
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Purificadora
La Purificadora
#26 of 100 in Puebla
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#17 of 100 in Puebla
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casareyna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casareyna Hotel

Property: Casareyna Hotel
Address: Privada 2 Oriente 1007 | Col. Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casareyna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, cozy and charming hotel, located at Puebla's downtown, right next to the convention center. Casareyna offers big, comfortable and luxurius rooms plus an awarded fine dining Restaurant. The facilities include a certified Talavera boutique with factory prices, outdoor patios, bar, meeting room and much more.Great service and a single goal: Your total satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Otel, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casareyna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing