We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Just Might Allow Your Pet!!!”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here several months ago. The location is great. The room is clean and sunny with a nice view. It was also spacious. The price is reasonable (during the off season). They have onsite car parking.

The best part about this was that we asked the right person, and asked if our dog could stay with us after explaining that she is mild mannered, well trained, doesn't bark and so on. He allowed her to stay!

This is so hard to find in Mexico. I have stayed at many substandard hotels traveling through this country because the vast majority of hotels flat out refuse to consider a dog.

He allowed it, but upon checkout the staff was much less friendly about it. They looked at us like we were filthy and demanded to inspect the room before we left. This was fine because she does not cause a mess or destroy things. I am mentioning it because whether or not they allow your dog to stay might depend on the person who you ask.

And a side note. If your dog is ill mannered in any way, please don't hotel travel with it! I believe there is so much difficulty partially because there have been experiences in the past where hotels have been burned with allowing dogs. This is sad because those of us who have trained our dogs well have such a difficult time traveling.

Hotel staff: if you read this review, THANK YOU for allowing our dog. We will be back the next time we're in Puebla!

Room Tip: Get higher for a better view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

It would appear that the owners are satisfied with the calling of this hotel as a youth central, and feel no need to invest any money in improvements or attracting a better clientele. It obviously functions as a cash cow in its present condition. Because of their reasonable prices, the hotel attracts large groups of youth sport teams, school groups, and student travelers. If so, be prepared for a noisy night as the courtyard acoustics echo everything. Pros: Very close to Zócalo and Centro Histórico. Spacious rooms are reasonably clean, beds are alright, nice linens, and the housekeeping staff does a thorough job. Warm enough water for showering. Cons: Like in most old buildings throughout México, the drains emit a putrid odor. Some of the furniture looks like discards from second-hand stores. Wifi never worked inside our room, but sometimes it functioned weakly/intermittently from the central courtyard. Often, there was no signal at all. Breakfast was watery coffee, toast and jelly, and fruit. There was a portable fan in our room, but no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Hard to say, all rooms open onto noisy areas. But, some rooms have newer furniture and have been pai...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfobmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location is fantastic, the prices are quite good too. The breakfast is very bad and the tables are quite dirty and messy.
I love the customer service they have, they are very polite, helpful and friendly. The room it was quite small and we didn´t have air conditioning so in summer it was a pain in the back. Apart from that it is pretty well located. In the early mornings is sometimes irritating that some clean staff are talking loud and yelling and of course your rest is over.

I may stay here again in my next visit to Puebla =)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunita_desertica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was looking for a chip, clean and close to downtown hotel. This one fits the profile just right and service is great.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Reedmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Rooms are on 3 stories surrounding the inner courtyard. Any noise echoes and noise is prevalent until late at night and early in the morning. Service is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just returned from three nights at the Imperial Hotel Puebla. There were lots of positives about the hotel, but some unforgiveable negatives as well.
This hotel is an antique and in some ways rather charming. It is in a great location just a couple blocks from the zocalo. The lady who runs reception during the day, Sandra, is charming, smart and has a welcoming, warm smile. She does not speak English, however, and if this is important to you, you should beware. (The majority of people we encountered in Puebla had almost no English. I speak enough Spanish to get by and I don't know how things would have gone if I did not have this skill.) The evening reception person, Edit, does speak English well and was adept at solving problems.
The breakfast was about as limited as I have seen, and i am a true budget traveler. Toast, cornflakes, melons and weak coffee. There was a group of students staying the same time as us. On their first morning they overpowered the breakfast and the staff ran out of coffee in ten minutes. After that we made coffee in the room and bought pastries to supplement the breakfast. There are fewer pastry shops in Puebla Centro than you might expect, We were directed to a good one (Flor de Mexico?) on 3 Sur and Reforma, six blocks from the hotel.
Our room was on the top floor and was charmingly Mexican. Mexican linens and small windows that open over bars to the walkway / courtyard. It was fairly clean but the carpet was filthy. We had a patio-type table from which we ate our breakfast. The TV only showed programs in Spanish.
The sink failed on our first night and we had to crawl on the floor to use the stopper after that. The shower rod was about ready to give up the ghost. It took a long time to get hot water.
Two out of three nights the other residents were noisy through out the night and the hotel did nothing to correct them. The rooms are far from sound proof.
They advertise an evening snack. The snack is awful and the people who show up for it would fit right in at the nursing home houses Homer Simpson's father...if it were in Mexico. Ordinarily I love Mexican cuisine. Both the snack and breakfast were below the level that the hotel advertises.
In spite of all this, the people were nice and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a quiet room on the upper floor, knowing that noise is likely and hard beds are a st...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel itself quite nice but a little worn out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#20 of 100 in Puebla
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gilfer
Hotel Gilfer
#43 of 100 in Puebla
111 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#88 of 100 in Puebla
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Star Express
Hotel Star Express
#55 of 100 in Puebla
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Paseo
Hotel del Paseo
#74 of 100 in Puebla
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson San Sabastian
Meson San Sabastian
#63 of 100 in Puebla
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: 4 Oriente 212 | Colonia Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: £28 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Imperial 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing