We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a mix”

Alley of the Frogs (Callejon de los Sapos)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.00*
and up
Panoramic City Tour of Puebla by Double Decker Bus
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Puebla City Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 114 things to do in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This street is a popular antique shopping area by day and provides a lively musical atmosphere at night.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bit of a mix”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is like any other market/car boot sale/ garage sale. Lots of stuff-some pretty cool, a bit eclectic and some just plain off the wall junk. It's worth a visit if you're in the area and just around the corner from the el Parian and zocalo; you just might find something you fancy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayday2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    233
    75
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“¡Pulque!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although I'm not much of a drinker, I wanted to try pulque, a local fermented drink made from the maguey plant. It is thick and tastes, when unflavored, like agave (a member of the same plant family, I think). I tried the piña colada flavor, which was too much for me to drink, and I shared it with a friend. It is served in bamboo pitchers and cups. Refreshing and delicious, high in protein, you may love it, too. It has to be fresh or it may not smell/taste as pleasant. Callejon de los Sapos is the place to get the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sharishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Touristy but great fun”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love this street (callejon) for it's crazy assortment of 'stuff' both old and new. Plenty of cafes, an excellent music store for fans of latin sounds. I've always felt safe here, but on the weekends it's quite busy and in any crowd situation -- watch your purse. On the weekends there is usually music, either live or blasting out of the cafes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagasaki, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shopping not mandatory”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This alley is full of vendors offering from antique objects to books and art. Take your time and enjoy looking at all the objects that they sell. Who knows? Maybe you´ll find a 100 year old picture for your living room.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's worth looking if like antiques”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I would say this is an interesting place if you like antiques but most of the stores are closed for some reason. It's close by the Parisian market so stop by if you are browsing around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alley of the Frogs (Callejon de los Sapos) also viewed

 

Been to Alley of the Frogs (Callejon de los Sapos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing