We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Portal
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Casona Poblana(Puebla)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites La Concordia(Puebla)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Gente de Mas Hostel(Puebla)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
34
40
31
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
40
31
15
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location, across the street from the Zocalo in the heart of Puebla. Everything is very close, including many outdoor restaurants. The city tours are less than a block away.. The hotel is an impressive looking historic building. The folks at the front desk were friendly and helpful. A decent breakfast was included. So far, so good. Now the rooms. They feature small balconies, and nice views. But -- they need a major makeover. Everything is dated, Perhaps ash got in from the volcano nearby, which was quite active just before we got there, but the floor was dirty. You had to wear something on your feet just to walk to the bathroom. It would not be that huge a job to renovate, to add some TLC. It was not awful, but as of now, we cannot recommend Hotel del Portal. Too bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saskfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have stayed in many budget hotels throughout Mexico and this is by far the worst. They promised breakfast was included, but failed to tell us the restaurant was closed New Years Day and didn't discount our rate. The front desk person was an unhelpful, smug idiot, and the wifi (only available in the lobby) was mysteriously out of service for most of our two days there. The room was clean, but freezing, and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Only one tiny towel was provided for the three of us, although the concierge brought more immediately when i asked. And, the one morning it was even available, the coffee was terrible. There are definitely better options for this price.

Room Tip: Pay for the balcony rate if you do stay here. The rooms are tiny and cell-like.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brookbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We ended up here as a last resort as all the decent hotels we're full. The location is great which is the only way of justifying the $80 price for one of their very basic cell like rooms. After waiting 10 mins for the manageress to find a porter who wanted to do some work - reminded me of Fawlty Towers sketch - he put us in the lift pressed the button for the 2nd floor and we never saw him again! Pretty sure we could have managed to work that out ourselves. The worst thing however was the 'complimentary American breakfast'. We were told to help ourselves to the buffet so we did, we ordered some coffee with a waiter and waited 20mins as they were much more interested in pampering the local wealthier looking guests. It was pretty amusing after a while as they blatantly couldn't care less about tourists, it was as if we weren't there. The best bit was when we got up to leave and we were given a bill for $80 as we had helped ourselves to a spoonful of yoghurt which apparently wasn't included, we argued for half an hour and walked out of the hotel without paying. This is not a tourist friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Beware of this hotel. We decided to check out of the hotel in the morning so that they could clean our room and reuse it. We checked our luggage at the reception. When we returned to the hotel to reclaim our luggage the hotel had lost our most expensive suitcase. They promised to repay for the cost of the luggage and its contents but then later changed their minds and we were only paid for half.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pescadito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed here for a few nights in October. The front desk was friendly enough. However, you're supposed to leave your key at the desk when you leave the hotel and it can be a little annoying to get it back when you return to the hotel if there is only one person at the desk and a long line of folks checking in.

There were some young kids- like a middle school field trip- the first night we were there. They were a bit obnoxious, knocking on our doors and generally being loud. This is really not the fault of the hotel and it didn't come to the point that we had to report them.

The rooms are a bit old, but they provide plush towels and hand towels, along with bottled water. We had a room overlooking the zocalo, which was loud until about 11pm, then the city seed to go to sleep. The view was worth it.

The breakfast was not really worth bothering with. The toast served is a product unique to Mexico- pan tostado- which I know translates into toast, but this stuff is a little different. It's more like big slices of melba toast, not bad, just not toast like most Americans are used to! There are tons of other cafes around the zocalo, so you won't go hungry. You can go to McDonald's for hotcakes or try one of the more traditional Mexican places.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews