We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly beautiful!”

Rosary Chapel (Capilla del Rosario)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.00*
and up
Puebla and Cholula Day Trip from Mexico City
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This extremely ornate 17th-century chapel is part of the Santo Domingo Church.
Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Chapel is a short walk from most places in the historic center of Puebla. I was amazed by the amount of detail and gold everywhere within the church! It is one of the few churches I have seen in the Americas that can compare to the great churches of Europe!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WYglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,159
    133
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
263 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I visited this beautiful ornately decorated chapel in early evening just in time for mass. The priest invited the tourists to stay, so I observed the ritual for half an hour. So much detail, I always think of the workers who built these structures so long ago, how hard they worked for little or no recompense.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I have been to many cathedrals in Europe, but this was my first visit to one in Mexico and it did not dissapoint. The workmanship is mind blowing and it is really worth while to just sit and look at all the detail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZaanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Beautiful golden chapel. The details are unreal. We went 2 times and admired all the details. The church is also impressive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
200 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Absolutely, beautiful, breathtaking, gold chapel. It was closed when we first got there but we were happy we went back later in the day - it is really worth seeing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosary Chapel (Capilla del Rosario) also viewed

 

Been to Rosary Chapel (Capilla del Rosario)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing