We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We enjoyed our 10-day stay, although we were kept up a couple of nights by travelers who chose to speak, sing, or yell at full voice until wee hours. Despite this, the hotel has a wonderful staff, helpful people at the front desk, a decent restaurant. The location is excellent for access to everything within the historic district of Puebla. For those who appreciate a sense of history, this centuries-old monastery-turned-hotel is hard to beat; the view from the roof is breathtaking, especially at night when the towers of the adjoining church are lit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank W0rldViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    185
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
88
117
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, very little traffic noise. We had a shared room (two singles) and there was not much room for anything else! We were stepping over our suitcases to move around. The toilet was crammed behind the door and made it difficult to get in and out.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We usually go for a Hotel Colonial in any city in Latin America, and this one comes up to scratch. Fantastic central location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, the oldest lift in México (it still works!), good restaurant. But the hot water needs some attention: there was a bath, but only lukewarm water to fill it... Otherwise this would have been "excellent". And pay a visit to the rooftop terrace (azotea) for a panoramic view of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KulturaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Hotel Colonial de Puebla is located one block from the Zocalo on a quiet walking side street across from the University de Puebla and a fabulous church. The service was fine, the people at the desk friendly and someone always spoke some English. They gave me a beautiful old room over looking the walking street. Everything in the room worked fine. The only "problem" was that the hotel does not have a secure website, so you must call ahead and give them your card number for a reservation. I did that from Mexico DF, but call ahead for they often are full. Not when I visited, a Sunday to Tuesday. I loved this wonderful colonial hotel, and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the walking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Colonial Hotel was recommended by friends and they were spot on! Beautiful old hotel, carefully maintained, very friendly and helpful staff, perfect location just off the Zocalo and good food in the restaurant. Only one block off the Zocalo on a quiet corner we had a room overlooking a plaza which always seemed to have something interesting going on. Built in 1668, I think, the hotel has kept it's character so you feel like you are stepping back in time as you wander the hallways. Comfortable spacious rooms with a big bathtub, which is really appreciated after a day of walking around the centro historico. I travel a lot for business and this is one of the few hotels that I would unreservably recommend for a holiday or business. Good WiFi connection if you feel like working.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza between the hotel and the university
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron-Woodcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riihimaki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We visited this hotel one night with a group of 30 tourists from Finland. As we all were at the age between 40 and 80 years, we felt in love with this old-fashioned hotel from the Old Good Colonial times! The furniture was nice and the dining hall charming. The breakfast was relatively modest.
However, some modern improvements should be done in this hotel. The pressure of the water is very weak. Where to keep (on the floor or in your hand?) your soap or shampoo while having your very weak shower. To get your hair dry, you have to go to reception to get a hair dryer. Especially the toilette facilities are on a low level which is not acceptable nowadays.
However, we can recommend this hotel for grown-up worldly travellers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PerttiHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived in DF on a red eye and caught the bus to Puebla from the airport. We arrived at the hotel around noon, which was too early to check in. Two gracious women behind the front desk took care of our bags and had our room ready for us by 1:30. What a welcome surprise! We stayed for six days and had breakfast in the restaurant every morning. When we travel, we usually like to mix up our dining experiences, but the Colonial restaurant was so delicious, friendly and efficient, we had breakfast there every day. We enjoyed spending time in the open spaces the hotel provides at the end of our busy days. We definitely will return soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4adancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#38 of 100 in Puebla
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Portal
Hotel del Portal
#44 of 100 in Puebla
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona San Antonio
Hotel Casona San Antonio
#11 of 100 in Puebla
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andante Hotel Boutique
Andante Hotel Boutique
#18 of 100 in Puebla
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial de Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial de Puebla

Property: Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Address: Calle 4 Sur # 105, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial de Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial, with a prime location one block from Puebla's main square, dates back to 1668 when it was built as a Jesuit monastery. The building is catalogued as an Historic Monument, because of its magnificent colonial architecture. Its restaurant is known locally for its excellent cuisine, and recomended in almost every foreign tour guide. The "Mole Poblano" served every day in its dining rooms is reputed to be the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial de Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing