We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the typical taco joint..”
Review of Las Ranas

Las Ranas
Ranked #47 of 675 Restaurants in Puebla
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: It is located just around the corner of the street 5 de Mayo in Puebla (the most important walking street) It is 2 restaurants.. one right across the other. They specialize in tacos but they serve a few other dishes too. It is by far the best tacos in the city and I have invited friends from Greece, Norway and all over Mexico and everyone loves them so I can't understand why they aren't listed in tripadvisor yet. They are the best known tacos in the city I am sure
Visalia, California
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,216 helpful votes
“Not the typical taco joint..”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This place brings so memories, I like the way they cook the meat, the tortillas taste very delicious, and pretty much everything they serve here taste very fresh, and like homemade, it's like your mom, or grandma are cooking and you just came to visit, that's how it feels in here, you sure won't leave this place with an empty stomach, all the food I have tasted here meets my expectations. if you are in town and you just want to enjoy a good meal, but without the need of dressing up, just come to las ranas. You always feel welcome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MONTYHADES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    36
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast, fresh meal well priced”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Las Ranas is hopping. Heh heh. Pun intended. They basically serve seasoned pork in your choice of tortilla or bread. That's it. Basic and oh so delicious. We were lucky and got the very last table but when we left there were at least 6 people waiting for a table. Be prepared to wait. It's worth it. Oh and order the horchata rice drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadeleah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great and affordable food”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

What a great food! Arabe was fantastic and so was queso con pastor, melted cheese with pastor meat on top. The tacos are some of the best we've had in Mexico. The service is awful, they only move fast to take your order. If you want to order more or if you want to pay, suddenly none of the six or seven waiters looks your way. But still, the food is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Taco árabe y torta gringa geniales”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Best torta i Ever had the taco arabe is fantastic must go if you are in Puebla process are extremely cheap about a dollar for the torta

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“To go and repeat.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The taco árabe is the best, but this popular restaurant is a true local institution. It is full many times, but the food and the price are worth to wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Ranas also viewed

 

Been to Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing