We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most helpful staff of any hostel we've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Casona Poblana
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most helpful staff of any hostel we've stayed in”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hostel is brilliant. The manager stayed up in order to let us in at 4am as this was the only bus we could get from san cristobal. All the staff went out of their way to get us all of the information we needed and to make our stay comfortable.
Clean, light and airy rooms with big windows and a small balcony onto the street. Hot powerful showers were also a pleasant surprise! They also have a computer room, kitchen, pretty fast wifi and purified water. Breakfast is cereal, bread, bananas and sometimes papaya.
I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    70
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
44
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived from Oaxaca at 4am and were let in by Marco who was waiting up for us. He tried to stop our taxi driver from ripping us off but you can't win 'em all... He helped us upstairs to our dorm with our luggage, all the time whispering and not turning on unnecessary lights and didn't make us sign all sorts there and then but let it wait til the morning. At breakfast he was there again, super cheerful and made sure we had everything we needed. Then later helped us make an appointment at a spa nearby (Aquatica). Basically he's an angel!

The 10 bed dorm was big, not over cramped, with high ceilings and big windows with a little standing balcony space. There are two toilets and two showers in the dorm, all separate compartments, and 2 sinks outside, so there's never a queue for the bathroom.

Breakfast provided was cereal with banana (apparently there's papaya sometimes), toast with jam, coffee, fresh orange juice and a selection of teas. You just go to the kitchen to say what you'd like and they bring it to you in the communal courtyard. It feels nice because the table sizes and arrangement encourages new acquaintances with whoever comes down to breakfast.

The location is great, just down the road from the Zocalo and round the corner from the bus stop from which route 44 takes you to the central bus station for Mexico City.

It's a lovely hostel, couldn't have been happier. No communal computers but the WiFi works, all the time, even in the rooms!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here in April visiting friends studying in the city, nice hostel very central to the city, it rained which made sleeping fine although I can imagine the dorms can get very stuffy in warmer months. I have never stayed in a hostel with such a powerful shower it was amazing on a weary, hungover body. However I did have to dust my bed off from fallen flies before I could make it and breakfast was a little disappointing. The staff more than made up for it though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Pros:

This is a nice, cheap hostal near to all the things in the Zocalo.
You get towels upon checking in, which was good since we forgot ours.
The area felt safe, and we slept well our two nights here.

Cons:

Our room didn't have a window to crack open, which made it stuffy at night. There is a fan in the room, however, so by and large it was fine.

Biggest disappointment:

Breakfast and the way we were treated regarding it.
Breakfast is served at 8:30 am and 10:30 a.m. EXACTLY apparently.

We came down after a quick shower at 10:41 a.m.

The server first ignored us, then, when asked about breakfast, asked her colleague at the receptionist desk if they were still serving breakfast. The response: no.

She then explained that this is served at 10:30 and since we had come down so very late (sarcasm) that we were not going to be served.

More than anything, this left us with a poor impression of customer service at this otherwise perfectly fine hostal.

As an fyi, breakfast is nothing more than some cereal and toast. I am not complaining about the quality, merely how we were ignored and then poorly served after apparently arriving so late that a bowl of cereal and some toast could not possibly be made 10 minutes after the exact time breakfast begins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Love this place. Close to the Zocalo (city center) and lots of wonderful places. Tables in courtyard. Friendly fun conversation. Things well taken care of. Room adjacent to courtyard or off balcony upstairs. Restaurants nearby. Had a very nice private room. WiFi of course, like everywhere in Mexico.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is located on main street and very close to zocalo and some sights. No problem to go back late night. All receptionists spoke English fluently which was a big and pleasant surprise to us because most people we met in hostels and hotels spoke little or no English. Staff were very helpful too. When they learnt we were feeling sick, they offered to boil hot water for us to make herbal tea. A man whose name I forget also suggested good places to eat. Double room are not big but clean enough. Breakfast included. For a double room, this place is value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in this nice hostel some days at the beginning of August. The staff was really friendly and helpful! The house is nice, with a sunny patio (where they also serve the breakfast) and a roof terrace (great place to meet other travelers). The rooms were clean. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm and it had its own bathroom. The location is perfect if you want to explore the centro historico. It’s about 5 minute walk from Zocalo; ATM an Oxxo also really close. They serve breakfast, it’s not the greatest one, but it’s included. What I didn’t like was that they have some kind of kitchen, but actually nobody was using it and I’m not really sure if it was for traveler’s use.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffeeanne_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicente M P, General Manager at Hostel Casona Poblana, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Google Translation
Hola! Te agradecemos muchísimo por haber elegido a Hostal Casona Poblana, definitivamente tomaremos en cuenta tus comentarios y trabajaremos para ofrecer un mejor servicio. Estamos en constante monitoreo de los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes por lo que no tengas duda que te tomaremos en cuenta. Esperamos tenerte de regreso pronto y descubras todo lo que tenemos para ofrecerte. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.4 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#59 of 97 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
2.1 mi away
City Express Junior Puebla FINSA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
City Express Puebla FINSA
2.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#86 of 97 in Puebla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gente de Mas Hostel
Gente de Mas Hostel
#2 of 42 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casona Poblana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casona Poblana

Property: Hostel Casona Poblana
Address: 16 de Septiembre 905, Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casona Poblana 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Casona Poblana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing