We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I Could Rate Descanseria Higher”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

European-style? Yes. Upscale? Trying to be. Comfortable beds? Yes. Austere? Yes. Food? Excellent. Great location? Sure. I wanted to try Descanseria on this visit instead of my usual stay at Casareyna. Afterall, the hotel is owned by my absolutely favorite El Mural de Los Poblanos Restaurant where my favorite Chef Lisette works her magic. Indeed, the chef here at Descanseria, David Diaz puts out a very good "urban cafe" menu with quality food. I love the decor of the dining room -- restful with lots of textures on ancient colonials walls, cream, beige, grey, banquettes. What's lacking? Towel bars and shelves in the bathroom. A counter top to set your toothbrush and make-up/shaving kit. An air conditioner that works--lots of AC noise. A room orientation that shows you where the light switches are and how to lower the black-out shade. Clean? Yes. Attentive service at the front desk? Yes. Nevertheless, the rooms lack warmth -- no artwork, no rugs on the floor. Sorry to write this. I likely won't return. Better value for the money elsewhere, breakfast included not withstanding!

Room Tip: Choose a room off the main street. You will have a quieter sleep. Note that there is a black-out sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaxacaculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We staid here one night, during our 3 week trip in Mexico this year.
First, it is perfectly located near the center but in a quiet neighbourhood.
We used the valet service, they parked the car just across from the building.
The welcome was great, they speak english very good, and one of the guys even spoke french, and was happy to speak with us.
Our room was on the 2d floor, it was very spacious, with 2 large beds that were nicely decorated. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, both historic and modern.
There is a patio, and on the 2d floor a place to rest if you want to seat quietly.
We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the adjoining restaurant 5 de Mayo. It is a la carte with lots of choices, but was included in our package.
We were very happy with our choice of hotel and could not have been better satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here on two different occasions and loved it each time. The staff is beyond friendly (and they speak English, which is rare in Puebla, Mexico). The hotel has a wonderful European flair, which is in keeping with the town We were pleasantly surprised by Puebla, as we felt we had been transported to a small village in Europe. You can tell there is a French influence due to the history of the town. The hotel is a restored 1700's very large home with high ceilings and a beautiful center two story courtyard with casual seating and a great place to spend some relaxing time. Our flight left early, so we didn't get in on the free breakfast, but they offered a box lunch to send with us. Service is over the top.

Room Tip: Our superior room had its own balcony with french doors opening onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful rooms in this stylish renovated historic building! Great service and breakfast! Our room was facing 5 de Mayo and had access to the patio but we did not hear anything! For any occasion I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lausrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just finished a week stay and loved the hotel and the staff. Joseph and Iban were outstanding in the restaurant and the food quality was excellent. Angel the bell attendant was helpful throughout the week. Loved the room, just beautiful and clean.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GMLBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The check-in was a breeze, parking was valet, location was superb if you want to explore downtown puebla. Hotel breakfast was a la carte but included in the package so it was all good. The attention by the staff was great, service was timely. Didn't get the normal hello/goodbye greetings that was expected from the staff at a hotel.
The terrace was very airy and had lots of natural lighting with lots of sitting area.

Room Tip: floors on the first floor have the colonial feel, but were humid. The rooms on the 2nd floor are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Two nights in Descanseria. The service was great. Friendly professional. the design and architecture is clean, above par, comfortable, fresh. Feel of the historic with the brick and modern with the design choices. The location just off 5 de Mayo could be problematic with traffic noise but i heard nothing either night and slept very well. (beds are great with nice choice of linens) Three blocks from the cathedral in the central historic district. The restaurant, though small was modern, efficient, great food and offered what i wanted…mainly breakfast. I certainly would stay here again when i return to Puebla. Is it a 5 star hotel…no…but it didn´t cost 250 dollars a night…you get more than what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerekinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.3 mi away
Casona Maria Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#24 of 100 in Puebla
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#23 of 100 in Puebla
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andante Hotel Boutique
Andante Hotel Boutique
#22 of 100 in Puebla
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure

Address: Avenida 3 Oriente 627, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Descanseria, Hotel Business and Pleasure, charming and special hotel in a colonial building of the 18TH Century. The location is exceptional, right in the hearth of Pueblas Historical Center, Zocalo, easy access and just a few steps far away from the most important attractions for business trips, entertainment, cultural or gastonomic. Recently fully refurbish to accommodate travelers seeking comfortable and high quality lodging at an affordable prices. Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Descanseria Hotel Business and Pleasure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing