We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the money during this trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Santo Domingo
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best value for the money during this trip!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in private room, that was great - clean, spacious, with fantastic old_fashioned ceiling. We are couple with 2 year old and we got a room with two beds - one double and one single, with no extra cost for the second bed. Every 2 days there is cleaning service, so spending 3 nights we got our room cleaned. There are 4 available computers for free, and near them coaches to hang out.
Location is great - close to zocalo and all main landmarks, but not loud, and walking the other way there is main bus station for buses to Cholula.

Minuses: breakfast is too sweet for me (cereals are with sugar), there are tvs in the rooms, so if your neighbour decides to use one, might be a little bit loud.
Wi-fi a little bit too weak in the room for my device.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASzJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
24
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, most of whom spoke english. Rooms were basic but nice and clean with ensuite bathroom at a good price. The computers and internet connection were a little unreliable (didn't use the WIFI) but still usable and free. Breakfast included, and there is a kitchen you can cook your own food in.
Free luggage storage - although your bags will be stored on some shelves in the kitchen, not in lockers. We left our stuff there (nothing of too much value though) for a few days anyway and it was fine, but I expect something secure when I see 'luggage storage' advertised.
Great location - only a few blocks from the town centre, and back up the street a few blocks is a decent market where you can buy vegetables, meat, cheese etc.
Pretty quiet while we were there, not a party atmosphere if that's what you're after. But if you're like us - a couple travelling on limited funds who like to get a private room with their own bathroom now and then, it's not a bad option.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Great location, with walkable distance to the Zocalo and other major spots.

The wifi is not functioning for Macbook, the receptionist couldn't help with this problem though.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin5427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hostel is an easy walk to the Zocalo and major points of interest, but I found the room to be a bit grungy, it was very noisy (I had a room on the main street, so lots of traffic noise all night, bring your ear-plugs!), the (free) internet was generally ridiculously slow (with occasional moments of acceptable speed) and the breakfast was miserable (coco-pops, 2 pieces of white bread toast with butter and jam, coffee and juice) - better to just go elsewhere for something more nutritious. For the price it's ok but certainly nothing special and I'd look for an alternate hostel if I went back to Puebla.

Room Tip: rooms towards the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at this hostel and on this trip I stayed in the dorm room. Everything was clean and organized. The lockers are made of cheap thin wood and do not provide peace of mind security, even with a lock. The bathrooms in the dorms are in-suite, which I hated because it provides little privacy for anyone. I recommend staying in a private room over the dorms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

It's a good place to stay. You have to pay for the towels and internet. Rooms have their own bathroom and are clean. The service is ok but don't ask to much. For everything they have a form. The rooms near the streets are maybe a little noisy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Just a few blocks from the central plaza the location of this hostel in good. It's housed in an orignial colonial building with all rooms upstairs surrounding a central courtyard.

The dorm was not the best I've seen for a number of reasons. It felt a bit too crowded at times with 20 beds in total (if I counted right). Worse was that those 20 beds shared just 2 toilets (no locks on the doors) and 3 showers in a bathroom that was within the dorm. The toilets were not kept particularly clean - the bins full of toilet paper overflowing. There was also a shortage of plug sockets (only 2 that I saw). There were wooden lockers (locks provided) big enough for a small backpack.

Breakfast was included in the price (150 pesos) but (as is normally the case in hostels) was not great - sugary cereal/juice, coffee, white bread and jam. There was wi fi but those without laptops had to pay to use the hostel's computers.

The staff were friendly and helpful with local information. As well as the cafe downstairs where breakfast was served there was a seating area upstairs with sofas and tv plus a water despenser.

Whilst the dorm wasn't that nice I would recommend this hostel for the social atmosphere and central location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.3 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#59 of 100 in Puebla
194 reviews
2.5 mi away
City Express Junior Puebla FINSA
5.0 mi away
City Express Puebla FINSA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#38 of 100 in Puebla
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Casona Poblana
Hostel Casona Poblana
#1 of 43 in Puebla
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Domingo

Property: Hostal Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida 4 Poniente 312, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santo Domingo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santo Domingo is located in Puebla, just 1 block from Santo Domingo Church and Victoria Shopping Centre. It offers a 24-hour reception and rooms with a bathroom. The Santo Domingo has a central courtyard with a snack bar where you can enjoy some food in a light, open space. Staff at reception can provide information about what to see and do in Puebla. You can drive to Puebla's Interactive Museum in 10 minutes from Hostal Santo Domingo. Puebla Airport is a 35-minute drive away. Puebla Centro is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, museums and cathedrals. This is our guests' favorite part of Puebla, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Puebla! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing