We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in town”
Review of Hotel Gilfer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gilfer
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best location in town”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

we moved to Gilfer after to nights in a bad place further away and were pleasantly surprised at the ideal location and comfort of the place. we would definitely come back here on our next trip to Puebla.

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor and could see the top of the cathedral which meant away from the street. n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    53
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
17
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Moderate price, pleasant staff, excellent location. Architectural style is a little weird, mixed textures, woods, tiles, and stone throughout. Very clean, but in need of a little maintenance. i.e. all that remained of a close up shaving mirror in bathroom was the frame, but it made an excellent towel hanger. Lots of hot water, good water pressure, and nice towels. A tub, too. The beds were firm, but thar's how I like them. Good cable and nice plasma TV. Climate control worked well. We stayed 5 days and ate 4 times in the restaurant. Food was fine and prices for menu of the day were under six dollars. But the wine prices were exorbitant! $5.60 usd ( 70 pesos) for a glass of common table wine. And the waiters didn't know what kind of wine it was, but they did allude to a box. The wine cost more than the three course meal. (55 pesos or $4.50 usd) No matter, this is a hotel I highly recommend if you want a pleasant, comfortable, and clean room. No complaints. And a location you can't beat. I will be posting photos. They offer free underground parking. Lots of business people there for that reason.

Room Tip: I chose an east facing room on the sixth floor. Very nice view. I shied away from a west facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tfobmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Weckbaugh
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Good price, clean, helpful staff, within easy walking distance to everything, restaurants on site that I heard were good (from my traveling companions). I do wonder at the beds in this part of Mexico however. I had brought my own pillow but if I said the mattress was super firm, it'd be an understatement. If you want to save money, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The hotel is a reasonable budget option located in the historic centre of Puebla close to the Zocalo. However, it is not a 4 star hotel. The lobby area is very small and has no seating area (only three stools for the users of the PCs). WiFi works well. What I did not like at all is the ventilation system that equally distributes all kind of bad doors between the rooms. I had the cigaret smoke of my neighbours in my room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thoiry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This budget hotel is just a block off the zocalo and within walking distances of most sites in Puebla. The rooms are large and include satellite TV and free wi-fi. The front desk is Spanish-speaking only and the furniture in the rooms is somewhat battered. But, all in all, this is a place to be recommended. I have stayed in several other Puebla hotels that were of a similar price and in a similar location and the Gilfer is far better than any of the others. I have found that paying twice the price at other hotels did not get me any more satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor facing the cathedral for a great view of downtown and the smoking vo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is in a good location, very near the zocalo. Clean and roomy, but old and not luxurious at all. Well priced, is a good option if you are looking into a 3 stars hotel.
The hotel is one block away from the zocalo, main plaza with lots of restaurants too. The staff were friendly, it was fine. The rooms were in reasonable condition, bathroom was clean but with low water pressure, but hot water was no problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinstoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The rooms are clean and quiet, the wifi is good, the location is central, the staff are friendly and helpful. Best of all is the price. We paid 550 pesos for two people with a bathroom and a TV. The dehumidifier seemed to rum permanantly, but we quite liked that. We checked out a lot of places to stay, even looked at the rooms, and none with similar amenities were even close to this price. There were backpackers charging more. Even the hotel restaurant was good and reasonably priced(ish).

Only downsides- shower took a long time to warm up, room smelled strangely of bootpolish, safe didn't work, electrical sockets very loose so it is hard to plug a charger in to them.

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Portal
Hotel del Portal
#43 of 99 in Puebla
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#17 of 99 in Puebla
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#62 of 99 in Puebla
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#60 of 99 in Puebla
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#41 of 99 in Puebla
140 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#87 of 99 in Puebla
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gilfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gilfer

Property: Hotel Gilfer
Address: Calle 2 Oriente No. 11 | entre 5 de mayo y 2 norte, a dos cuadras del zócalo, Puebla, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gilfer 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubicado en el corazón de la capital poblana, el Hotel Gilfer le ofrece a usted la mejor opción de hospedaje que hay, ya que nos ubicamos en la zona colonial y comercial de esta histórica ciudad. Además de contar con todos los servicios necesarios para hacer de su estancia con nosotros una experiencia inolvidable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gilfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing