We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full English full value”
Review of Bluebird Cafe

Bluebird Cafe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: http://www.classiccafes.co.uk/Seaside.html Its named one of the classic seaside cafe's in the UK.
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Full English full value”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Visited for breakfast 9:30 am. Quite busy with a mix of workers, cyclists, mums with kids and pensioners. Service efficient and food delivered within 10 mins of order. Wide Range of food with 3 sizes of breakfast from £5 to £8. We had the small and the medium ones with tea/coffee. Both were delicious although next time will opt for toast rather than fried bread which although very tasty is a bit much for my constitution these days. Excellent views across the Solent to isle of Wight and on a fine day you can sit outside and enjoy the sea air!!
All in all good value and a delightful location with free parking along the promenade close by!!

Helpful?
Thank meonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    56
    23
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic Cafe with Good Food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful and service was quick. I had the small breakfast which was very fresh and tasted good. Great value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattPearce2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great ice cream but poor breakfast”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

In summer this is great for ice cream but having eaten breakfast there, I wouldn't recommend it. The tea is served from an urn so is very stewed.
The sausages were deep fried and the bacon very fatty. More like a truck stop cafe than a seafront watering hole. Disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glymps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I've come here a few ties and have enjoyed the food, but last time I visited I was unhappy with what I was served and saw.

I can't eat runny eggs, so for a change instead of having scrambled egg I thought I would have hard eggs, well they were sure hard!!!!! They could have been used as paper weights. My mushrooms were burn't it just all looked like it had been cooked up a week ago and heated in the microwave.

But what's shocked me more was the women that was doing the cooking was wearing bright red nail varnish and hair hanging down. Something I know is a big no no in catering! I know it's a greasy cafe but please have a little pride in what you serve!

Helpful?
1 Thank Trins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is what it is, a cafe, clean, good food and consistent”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

You turn up, order, eat and go and the food will fill you up.

If you want a decent breakfast this is the place to go. I cannot comment on anything else on the menu, I have been using this place for 20 yrs and only ever had a breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluebird Cafe also viewed

Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 

Been to Bluebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing