We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two night stay”
Review of Chester Lodge

Chester Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lee-on-the-Solent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chester Lodge
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A two night stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Jenny and Kieth are warm hearted, accommodating hosts. Our king-sized bed was most comfortable and the breakfasts are as small or plentiful as you like.
As we live over two hundred miles away we would definitely stay here again when in the area.
Jean and Rob, a 50's couple.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_and_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is very much appreciated. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Jennie and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Thank you Jennie for a five star stay. You saw to my every need and made me feel so welcome. The room I stayed in was very clean, fresh and well maintained. The breakfast was very plentiful and I wanted for nothing. Thank you again Jennie for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards from Jennie and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed for just one night as we were going to Portsmoth the next day to watch our son in the Great South Run but what an experience. I will certainly return if we ever go back to that part of the world again. The room was amazing, bed very comfortable, breakfast super and the owners very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Your review was very much appreciated. so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you
Jennie and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First class accommodation and service.jennie and Keith excellent hosts.cleanliness second to none,and breakfasts cooked to order and great choices.give this B and B a try you won't be disappointed.thank you for making our stay enjoyable.
Chris and Carol Tobbell

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Jennie and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Jennie and Keith and shown to our room which was beautifully furnished, with comfy beds. We consider it to be the best B & B that we have stayed at and the breakfasts were lovely - everything you could wish for. Our hosts were very informative and nothing was too much trouble for them. A lovely two days!! We would certainly recommend it to others and hope to return ourselves.

Room Tip: We chose the twin bedded room which was large enough to have a sofa in it, for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescent70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we really appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Jennie and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Due to our daughter relocating to Stubbington, we needed to find a b&b at short notice in the Lee-on-the-Solent area. My future son-in-law emailed a number of establishments in the area, however all were full due to the weekend of our stay coinciding with the start of Cowes week. He eventually found Chester Lodge, and the proprietor replied explaining that she had a cancellation and would be able to accommodate us.

Well, where to begin? Jenny and Keith are by far the nicest, welcoming and most friendly proprietors we've met, and we've stayed throughout the UK. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless, well-furnished and decoration was up to date (nothing shabby here despite the credit crunch!) The comfortable king size bed was made with fresh linen, and the pillows plumped ready for a good night's sleep. The carpet was spotless and sumptuous beneath our feet. Dimmable personal wall lamps on each side of the bed were excellent whether you wanterd to read or just watch the television. A courtesy tray was provided, and well stocked with all the usual you would expect, and there was even a bottle of mineral water provided to take with you if required.

The ensuite was spotless, and fitted to a fine standard, however we found it a little small for us (although we've seen smaller!) Electric shower provides abundant hot water, and toiletries such as shampoo and shower gel is also provided, and can be found on the glass shelves. Handwash is provided via a very nice wall mounted dispenser.

There is a wall mounted hairdryer provided for those who would require it.

Now the important part, the breakfast! Choices are made on a form provided the day before, and you mark off what you would like for breakfast. A standard full English consisted of two bacon, two eggs, two hash browns, sausage, mushrooms, tomato (fresh or tinned) and beans, although you could mark the form to indicate you only required one instead of two of the above items. A full range of cereals is also provided, as is fruit juice and as much tea or coffee as you require. Toast arrives in abundance, and can be enjoyed with a variety of jams or marmalade. The dining room is well appointed, and individual tables-for two-provide a personal experience rather than some establishments which put all guests on one table. Quiet background music is provided, or Keith can turn on the television should you wish to watch the morning news while you breakfast. Another nice touch are the little ceramic ‘table bins’ – to put your empty sugar wrappers and butter wrappers in. Nice.

All in all this is certainly one of the best if not the best B&B we’ve ever stayed at, and with the tariff at £69 for a one-night or £62 for two or more nights (August 2013) it represented fantastic value for money – in fact, I don’t know how they can make money at those prices!

We hope to return in the future – and highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for accommodation in the Lee-on-the-Solent area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robaltech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This has to be the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed at. We tend to stay at hotels as many Bed and Breakfast establishments dont offer the same standards....not so at Chester Lodge.
Jennie and Keith offer the warmest of welcome, the room cannot be described as anything other than 5 star - Supremely comfortable, extremely well presented, clean , tidy, and with all the amenities, including WiFi.
The room rates were very competitive and in my opinion the proprietors are under charging. Breakfast was included in our price and is by far the best breakfast we have had in any hotel with a huge choice. The final cherry on the cake is the location, perfectly situated not too far from local amenities, yet far enough to offer a tranquil setting on the coast.
All in all, you cant get better. Thanks to Jennie and Keith, our 5 night stay was superb. We will definitely book again when we're in the area.

Room Tip: Extremely high standards, you will not be disappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Your comment are vey much appreciated.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Jennie and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee-on-the-Solent
4.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,122 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
240 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Anglesey Hotel
The Anglesey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gosport
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#2 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apple Tree Cottage
Apple Tree Cottage
#8 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milvil Corner Bed and Breakfast
Milvil Corner Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Lodge

Property: Chester Lodge
Address: 20 Chester Crescent, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport > Lee-on-the-Solent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee-on-the-Solent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester Lodge is a family run Four Star bed & breakfast. The Lodge is set in a quiet part of Lee on the Solent and has a private off-road car park. A friendly welcome awaits you from Jennie and Keith. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chester Lodge Lee-On-The-Solent, Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing