We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chester Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel(Gosport)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TravelRest Solent Gateway(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
42
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were in Portsmouth to see family and had no idea where to stay. Jenny and Keith were welcoming and extremely helpful with their in-depth knowledge of the area. The room was not spacious but adequate and the bed was very comfortable. Plus there was the added bonus of decent pillows which will get my vote every time! How often do you go somewhere and the pillows are horrible? The breakfast was splendid and the location handy for the ferry into the Historic Dockyard. I'd cheerfully return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank angie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments are very much appreciated.
Jennie and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Chester Lodge B&B for 2 nights from Friday 20th June 2014, having not stayed in a B&B for a number of years we didn't know what to expect, well I can truly say what a delightful place to stay, Jennie and Keith made the 4 of us very welcome, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the sheets were Egyptian cotton, big fresh white fluffy towels ( a good size as well, and they were changed daily) the breakfast was delicious, and nothing was to much trouble for them. We shall definetley stay next time we visit the family in Lee on the Solent. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Corrina for your review, it is very much appreciated.
Regards, Jennie and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Paul and I recently stayed, before we went to Spitbank Fort and they were so wecolming and kind. Paul wanted to watch the footie and Jenny went and researched were we could eat and watch the match in the local area. The room was spottlessly clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was of high quality and plenty of it too. Thanks J&K for kick starting our great weekend.

Room Tip: My tip for a good B&B: Must have real sausage for breakfast not a rusk
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it was very much appreciated. So glad we were able to kick start your weekend. Best regards from Jennie and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My grateful thanks to Jenny and Keith for their warm welcome and excellent accommodation. They really have thought of everything to make a stay in their lovely home as comfortable and pleasant as possible; the room and en-suite were immaculate, spotlessly clean and fresh and toiletries were provided. The bed was very comfortable, resulting in the best 2 nights sleep, that I have had in a long time and plentiful breakfasts were provided. Fellow guests obviously use the accommodation regularly and having been once why would you want to stay anywhere else in the area. It is excellent value for money and it I cannot rate it too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you Janet for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope you have settled in now.
Regards
Jennie and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Could not have asked for a better place to stay. We stayed for 2 nights to visit some friends and attend a party. We had the warmest greeting and instantly felt welcome. The room was lovely and the bed was AMAZING ! The bathroom was small but that wasn't an issue as it was spotless and tidy. I wish everywhere we stayed was like this. A lovely couple, a lovely stay and the breakfast, WOW! Exactly what we wanted and when they realised I was on a special diet they even offered to go and buy items that suited. Parking was easy and right on site and they supplied a fan for the room ( I get very hot at night).Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
Rachel and Mike from Exeter. Thankyou for a lovely stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J, Owner at Chester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

So sorry for the delay, we do appreciate your review.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Jennie and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews