We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shower in room next to bed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Cottage
west drayton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“shower in room next to bed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Check in ok,
Was a bit suprised to find the shower in the bedroom and I mean in the bedroom next to the bed not in a bathroom ,(as this was not mentioned when I enquired), which i suppose would be ok for a married couple maybe, but we were two forty something women. Breakfast was nothing to rave about, wasn't bad just wasn't fantastic.
Toilet felt like it was in a cupboard with a tiny corner basin.
Overall room was clean and beds were comfy
Bathroom situation was a no no for me
Would I stay here again ? NO

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindwardGal, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Would this review be anything to do with the fact that two forty something women came in at 4am and woke all the other guests up. Fell up the stairs drunk and banged every door.
Would I want you or anyone like you that thinks thats OK to stay here NO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
32
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at Apple Tree Cottage Feb 2012. A few weeks after we arrived home, my Husband realised that he was missing a new pair of Adidas Samba trainers, a Fred Perry polo shirt and a pair of new jeans. (As we don't go out much this was the first time he had needed them)
He realised he must have left them at the B & B but we could not understand why Lin had not contacted us as she had all our contact details, we paid by pay pal so could have been contacted through that, she also had telephone numbers for me, my Husband and also for my Mum who also stayed there. Anyone who has stayed there knows there is a form in your room requesting your details when you arrive.
Anyway, i rang Lin and explained and at first she said she had only found the clothes within the last couple of days but i was so pleased to be getting them back that i didn't question why she had not contacted us. i explained to her that my Brother (who we had been visiting) would come and pick up the clothes and post them back to us. However when my Brother rang within the hour to arrange to collect them he was told the clothes and trainers had "been taken to the charity shop". This was about £100 worth of our property and i know we were careless to leave it behind but i cannot believe that no one from Apple Tree Cottage even tried to contact us.We arrived at ATC on Friday evening and by 10.30 saturday morning the beds were being changed and yet Lin claims that "The cleaner" had only just cleaned the rooms a few days before i rang which was a few weeks after staying there. Frankly, i am disgusted that given all the ways available to Lin to contact us she didn't bother, in my eyes, that is very poor customer service.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank conandsiansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindwardGal, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Its a shame you left it 5 weeks before you called to ask about your stuff. As we had no idea who it belonged to! We collect items for a Cat Charity and after 4 weeks of being unclaimed we always give everything to that Charity. Its very unusual that guests that want stuff they leave behind would take that long to call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Went to visit a really ill relative. Booked last minute with Lin. She was very helpful and kind.
Our room was spotless and our breakfast was great. Will be going back very soon. Thank You Lin

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a car accident 10 minutes from Apple Tree Cottage. I was cut out of the vehicle. Hence we arrived late.(we did let Lin know). After being discharged from hospital Lin made us all very welcome on our eventual arrive. Service was excellent rooms clean and tidy. Beds where very comfortable as all 3 of us had very bad back pains. Noting was to much trouble for Linn. Would certainly recommend staying here. We are hoping to go back and this time see the sights rather than A&E

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewiska42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindwardGal, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank You for your lovely review and also the Thank You Card you sent me. I hope your are all feeling better now and have no lasting effects of your accident.
Look forward to seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Enjoyed a good stay in Lee-on-Solent last week-end with my wife. Apple Tree Cottage is near the sea-front & a couple of eating spots. Warm, comfortable, fresh breakfast, friendly landlady. Thanks Lin.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martinb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very polite, friendly, helpful and welcoming landlady. Lovely breakfast, clean and comfortable room, and very accommodating! Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We had a very pleasant stay, Lin was a very welcoming host and we really enjoyed staying in her home. My only (and a very tiny) criticism was that our mugs weren't replaced one morning, so my nana couldn't make her early morning cuppa!!! ;-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee-on-the-Solent
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
6.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#2 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Cottage

Property: Apple Tree Cottage
Address: 159 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport > Lee-on-the-Solent
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee-on-the-Solent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay by the beach At Apple Tree Cottage, our small friendly family run seaside B & B you are assured of warm welcome, individual attention, high standards of comfort, cleanliness and a friendly efficient service. Apple Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast is only 50 yds from the seafront and the Lee on the Solent Sailing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apple Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Cottage Lee-On-The-Solent, Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing