We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Apple Tree Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Cottage
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This B & B was very comfortable, could go in & out as you please & the Hostess Lin was extremely helpful & friendly & even took the trouble to take us to some local bungalows that we were interested in. Being disabled, this was very kind of her, as I have trouble walking far.!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beach Room, which wasn,t overlooked by anybody (except Trees) lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you Valerie for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
I hope you find your forever home soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were made very welcome by Lin and was very friendly , we stayed here for two nights in the family room which was a big room and very comfortable. Having to choose your breakfast the night before was nice and was something to look forward to and lin always ask if you needed more of anything.
Although this b & b was non smoking i could not help smell stale cigarette smoke and i could smell smoke during our stay in the evenings i found this a little off putting .
Our room was clean and tidy but in some areas in need of repairs and decor in need of refreshment as it was looking very tired .
I would not let these few points put anyone off its a great b & b and value for money and its location is great 50yrds from a pub that serves a carvey meal and was great and walk the other way 200yrds your on the sea front..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwca6598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Appletree cottage has been my home from home for the last 15 months and I have to say its been fantastic! I couldn't have been made more welcome by Lin, and my rooms have always been clean and well stocked and its just been a great place to stay! All I can add is thank you Lin, for making me so welcome and providing a home from home for me!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you Chris for the great review. It has been a pleasure having you to stay here.
Hope everything goes well for you and hope to see you again in the future
Lin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here for one night, but will not be the last time we use this B&B, Lin made us very welcome and cooked a fab breakfast, nothing was too much trouble, we occupied triple and double room both rooms were nicely decorated and well furnished. This B&B is close to the beach and plenty of local attractions and places to eat, would not hesitate to stay here again, look forward to seeing you soon! This time will try and stay for longer!!

Room Tip: any room is good, some have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainehubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B during a cold weekend in February. Lin is an excellent host and the B&B was warm and cosy. The B&B is close to the beach which is a great place to take a walk and blow the cobwebs away after a busy week at work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank You for leaving a review LIn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I had a one night stay at Appletree Cottage on a business/family trip in the area. Lin made me most welcome on my arrival. The 'Sea Blue' room was warm and very comfortable, allowing me a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Wil not hesitate to visit again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank You for a lovely review. Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed here in the Lighthouse Room (Triple) for the night in order to attend a family party nearby on Saturday evening and had a lovely weekend. Room was lovely and so was breakfast-just what we needed after a night out! Thankyou Lyn

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank You for the kind review . Hope to see you again .You actually stayed in the Beach Room BTW x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee-on-the-Solent
2.0 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
232 reviews
4.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
2.3 mi away
The Anglesey Hotel
The Anglesey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gosport
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.5 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#2 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Cottage

Property: Apple Tree Cottage
Address: 159 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport > Lee-on-the-Solent
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee-on-the-Solent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay by the beach At Apple Tree Cottage, our small friendly family run seaside B & B you are assured of warm welcome, individual attention, high standards of comfort, cleanliness and a friendly efficient service. Apple Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast is only 50 yds from the seafront and the Lee on the Solent Sailing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Cottage Lee-On-The-Solent, Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing