We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Apple Tree Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Cottage
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed my at Apple tree Cottage with my partner for one night and wish we had have stayed for longer. The "blue" room was very clean and really cutely decorated and surprisingly spacious with lots of tea and coffee available. The information pack in the room was extremely helpful as we didn't know the area at all and also the added bonus of free wifi in the room was a definite plus. The location of Apple Tree Cottage was great and only a short walk along the shore to lots of restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was amazing and very welcome as we had a long drive ahead of us on our check out. Lin is a fantastic hostess, very attentive and super friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this homely, warm and welcoming bed and breakfast. 5 stars

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Chrissy. It was lovely to meet you , hope you enjoy your new home here :) Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    0
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The guest house was well located and we were made to feel welcome and were well looked after during our stay. The room was excellent and the beds very comfortable. the location made it easy for us to get about being near bus stops and eating places, The service was excellent and the breakfasts were more than sufficient and to a high standard. We would certainly come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you Ron for your lovely comments and doing the review . It was a pleasure to meet Jill and you .Hope to see you both again:) Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great three nights down there, Lynne the owner was really welcoming. Room was clean, tidy and had everything we required. Breakfasts were great with a menu you can pre-order from, and was one on the cheapest B&B's I contacted. Location is good, 2 minute stroll to the seafront and beach, pub around 500yards away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spraggyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you , glad you enjoyed your long weekend. Hope to see you again .Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and I have just returned from spending the night at Apple Tree Cottage. Our room had a nautical theme, was very well equipped and clean also. Location wise, it is right by the sea and not too far from local shops/pub. Our host was extremely welcoming and cooks a lovely full english, we would definately return to Apple Tree Cottage!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smythkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you :) Hope to see you in the future . Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and i stayed at appletree cottage for the weekend as he had a powerboat taster day in southampton,We were welcomed by Lin taken to our room which was lovely the veiw from our window was a joy you could see the sea but best of all you could see the Isle of wight and of course it has been the festival and on friday (our first night )you could here the music excellent service ,welcoming and friendlyness was great now for the best bit the breakfast was grrrreat especially the black pudding (thanks for my husbands share )this is a very homely and friendly bed and breakfast and we will be back thank you Lin.

Room Tip: lighthouse room over looks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you Anne, it was a pleasure to meet you, Im glad you enjoyed The Lighthouse Room and the free entertainment from the IOW Festival. Look forward to seeing you again. Lin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Apple Tree Cottage this last weekend (1st June 2013) We only stayed the one night, although we could have happily stayed longer. Lin, the owner, is a lovely lady, and was very helpful. It's pretty easy going there, you have your key, and can come and go as you please. We stayed in the Pebbles room, in twin beds...the bedding was immaculately clean and pressed, and the beds comfortable. A nice touch is the ceiling fan - remote control, and very refreshing, as it was warm when we were there. The lights are all dimmable in the room, which is nice for a relaxing chill out after a busy day. The room is en suite, with the toilet and basin in a small bathroom, and the shower in the room....not a problem for us - rather that than down a corridor! Again, all clean and lovely thick soft towels too. One thing my daughter and I noticed, firstly upon entering the house, and also in our bedroom, was how gorgeous the whole house smelled. It does come from air fresheners, but not overpowering...just nice!
Lin does all the work herself, and I am impressed by the standards she sets. Lovely breakfast to round off our stay too :)
We'll certainly stay there again, if we find ourselves down that way. Good value, and a comfortable stay. Oh...and proper mugs in the bedrooms too...no tiny cups!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you Sue for the lovely review. So nice to see you loved my home:) Really enjoyed meeting you and your daughter hope to see you again soon ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This B & B was very comfortable, could go in & out as you please & the Hostess Lin was extremely helpful & friendly & even took the trouble to take us to some local bungalows that we were interested in. Being disabled, this was very kind of her, as I have trouble walking far.!

Room Tip: We stayed in Beach Room, which wasn,t overlooked by anybody (except Trees) lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin G, Owner at Apple Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you Valerie for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
I hope you find your forever home soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee-on-the-Solent
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gosport
239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Anglesey Hotel
The Anglesey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gosport
235 reviews
4.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Cottage

Property: Apple Tree Cottage
Address: 159 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport > Lee-on-the-Solent
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee-on-the-Solent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay by the beach At Apple Tree Cottage, our small friendly family run seaside B & B you are assured of warm welcome, individual attention, high standards of comfort, cleanliness and a friendly efficient service. Apple Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast is only 50 yds from the seafront and the Lee on the Solent Sailing Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Cottage Lee-On-The-Solent, Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing