We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit pricy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyvern

The Wyvern
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit pricy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have often passed this pub as it is on the way to Lee on the Solent so we decided to try it as an eating venue. The pub was almost empty as it was fairly early on a Thursday evening. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and we're able to sit where we chose. The menu and the specials board had a varying choice of somewhat different meals, not the usual pub standards. We chose the chicken and tarragon pie which was advertised with pea and butternut squash fricassee and hand cut chunky chips. The pie was very tasty but the pastry a little hard. The sauce was delicious with a good amount of tarragon flavour but not enough of it in the pie. The chips were beautifully cooked - crispy and light and fluffy. The fricassee was disappointing as it was merely peas and small chunks of roasted squash mixed together on the plate. It was a very dry meal which could have been improved by serving a small jug of extra sauce on the side. We asked for some gravy which wasn't a problem but it was a beef gravy made from instant granules or powder. We thought it was on the expensive side for a pub meal - £11 for the pie meal. Although the menu was different there wasn't really a lot to tempt us back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern L, Manager at The Wyvern, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for your honest feedback (which we have already actioned) The pie now comes with it's own specially created cream sauce, not gravy; and they are now brimming with filling.
Please make sure you pop in again and try out your new improved dish!! Thanks once again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    40
    24
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub with upscale food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm new to the area and checked out the Wyvern online prior to walking there for lunch. The beautiful photo of the hamburger and chips was exactly as it was when delivered to the table. It was so juicy and full of flavour! I've been back several times in a short period with the last being the other night for 'Posh Night' dinner. The selection was amazing and the dishes I had were DELICIOUS! Definitely outside the norm of typical pub food. I recommend this place for everyone!! Nice selection of beers too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewcrazy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern L, Manager at The Wyvern, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
WOW! Thanks......
Glad you enjoyed; See you again soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport,hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have used this pub on several occasions during the last year, and have always given high praise for the food and good, although slow service.On this occasion, we felt things were not so good. We seemed to be the only people eating at the time, and the service was still rather slow, and the food did seem a little overcooked.
We had our 10 month old grandaughter with us on this occasion, I asked if we could have a couple of veg. on a plate and we would pay a little extra, and we were told NO, we would have to order from the menu.,Customer service was a little lacking we felt.
Dont be put off this pub, generally it is very good, but we left an hour later, and the pub was still very quiet, so maybe we were not the only persons to be a little disappointed, as it has until recently been very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pompeyboy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern L, Manager at The Wyvern, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Sincerest apologies for any confusion on our part with the kids meal deal. The answer should have been YES!
Please don't let it put you off visiting again xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This pub has it all great food, BT and Sky for sports and on the odd occasion a live band. Was down at my brothers for the weekend and spent Saturday night there and the band was really good. Back in on Sunday for the footy and some nosh. Have to say you must try Lees Scotch eggs made with black pudding.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern L, Manager at The Wyvern, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Really great to be told you "have it all!" (must add ....we have great bands on the 1st Saturday of EVERY month!) see you next time; many thanks from The Wyvern xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Brilliant food and service, good selection on the menu.
Would recommend a visit, nice relaxing atmosphere

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyvern L, Manager at The Wyvern, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for recommending us; glad we delivered xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wyvern also viewed

Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 
Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport
 

Been to The Wyvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing