We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lee-on-the-Solent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Wind Guest House
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just stayed here for my sisters birthday party on the Warrior - Val and Richard looked after us very well - lovely home cooked breakfast with lots of choice cereal etc..well recommend - Barbara , Joanne and Natalia and Eileen my friend were very happy with our stay ......excellent location and would stay again in the future hopefully ........

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblybabs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have reviewed this marvellous little establishment in the past but each time I stay I am reminded to share it with other like-minded people. Richard & Val are the most accommodating proprietors that you could meet and their B & B service never falters. Its location is within easy reach of all amenities and even during the recent spell of gloomy weather, arriving there,after a testing drive livens the spirits.
Great location for visitors to the area, no matter what the purpose of the visit is.

Room Tip: Even views of the sea from the upper, south facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvinlifetilwedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just got back from west wind stayed there whilst visiting family in the area for pre Xmas gathering.
Fantastic place homely, comfortable beds, warm , welcoming excellent location. Would highly recommend and will be staying again on future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotlipstaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Placed on the sea front this very welcoming accomdation is impossible to fault. The hosts are perfect in every aspect and your made to feel like nothing Is a problem.
the cooked breakfast is to die for.
if you need accommodation in the vicinity you will not find a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookeytookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have been regular users of the West Wind over the past 2 years and have always found our stay a thoroughly pleasurable one. In an age where you do not always get what you pay for; you certainly do here.
My experience of using B & B's over many years, with varying levels of satisfaction, has given me an appreciative eye for what is real service and value. This is one of the few establishments that consistently delivers and first on my list when visiting this area.
Val & Richard should be proud of their product and the service they and their staff provide and I challenge any guest to find better value. It may not have all the most modern of gizmo's and be the most spacious but all guests get the personal touch from a knowledgeable and most friendly of hosts.

Room Tip: Room 4 has glorious if restricted views over the Solent towards Fawley and benefits from all day sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvinlifetilwedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great stay while visiting family in the area for 2 nights. Val made us more than welcome. Rooms are very comfortable and tea tray was full of goodies. Shower was slightly small but breakfast was plentiful and lots of choices,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I live locally and needed to find a B& B for a visitor when my home was full of people for a family funeral.She was extremely happy with every aspect of her stay at West Winds and I will certainly recommend it to others . It is situated only a few steps from the seafront. There are two pubs nearby, the Ship and the Inn by the Sea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee-on-the-Solent
0.4 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#2 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milvil Corner Bed and Breakfast
Milvil Corner Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waters Edge
The Waters Edge
#1 of 1 in Lee-on-the-Solent
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Windbrake House
Windbrake House
#2 of 20 in Gosport
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Number Five Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Gosport
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Guest House

Address: 197 Portsmouth Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Gosport PO13 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport > Lee-on-the-Solent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee-on-the-Solent
Price Range: £40 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Wind Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet position just 50 metres from the beach, with views to the Isle of Wight. Ideal for exploring the coast and countryside of Hampshireincluding Southampton, Portsmouth, Winchester and Chichester. All rooms tastefully decorated to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Wind Guest House Lee-On-The-Solent, Gosport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing