We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mrs”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Matching Tye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chigwell essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mrs”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Went to fox inn last night as couldnt get booked for 16 adults and 5 children at late notice and was so glad we went there the meals were lovely couldnt complain about anything they all come up together all hot and never had to wait long our waitress was I think lucy she was so good and worked so hard would definitely go back so thank you to all at fox inn for making our night special for my husbands 60th birthday

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal at The Fox Inn! I will make sure that you're lovely comments are passed on to Lucy and our kitchen staff and I hope that you all enjoyed the rest of the birthday celebrations!
We hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards
Liz and all at The Fox Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
40
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had an overnight stay here and were very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms.
The heater was a little confusing to operate however once we got it set up at the right temperature , it did the job.
Breakfast the next morning (charged separately) was extremely good value and my Gluten free request was dealt with very satisfactorily.
The staff were pleasant and friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi there,
Many thanks for sharing your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Liz Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, nice atmosphere, very olde world. Lots of choice on menu. Steak was one of the worst I've ever had, I asked for med-rare and it was over cooked, dry and fatty. Apparently he chilli was good, and the lasagne looked nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your review of your recent meal. I'm sorry to learn that your steak was not to your liking. We take all feedback (good and bad) seriously as it's the only way we can improve and I'll pass your comments on to the kitchen. However both my husband and I asked your group if everything was ok with your meals and we were told everything was fine. If you had mentioned then that you weren't happy I would have gladly asked the kitchen to replace your steak for you.
I appreciate your comments regarding the pleasant setting and atmosphere, it's just a shame we didn't have the opportunity to rectify the issue with your meal on the night.
Kind regards
Liz Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

stayed here as I had an early start into London the following morning, I was meet by friendly staff and shown to my room which by the way are chalet style and away from the pub so no bar noise. The room was first class as was the bathroom.After a quick change I went into the bar for some food and ordered Cajun chicken, chips and salad, the portions were big and the food was spot on .Great place to stay and hope to return if in this neck of the woods again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay - the Cajun chicken is one of our most popular meals so I'm pleased you enjoyed it!
We look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area,
Kind regards
Liz and everyone at The Fox Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Had our lunch at the 'Fox' this week. What a great meal for £7.50p per head. I had " Liver and Bacon". What a large portion was served up and piping hot. I had Ice cream to follow finishing off with a Coffee. All for £7.50p. Brilliant! I would advise a phone call to book a table as it gets very busy at times. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotoJohn332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing your lunch at The Fox Inn and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Our lunchtime offer is very popular and booking is definitely recommended, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Liz Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a traditional 18th Century village pub, has a character beamed restaurant with a very friendly atmosphere and always has a good selection of food on it's menu.
It's been a year since we've dined here previously and although we always received excellent service and good food, previously some of the meals seemed to have had smaller portions.
On Saturday night we revisited The Fox Inn with a couple of friends and i must say that we all had huge portions of food from the three different main meals that we chose from with three splendid soup starters and a pate starter. We were all so full that none of us could manage a pudding.
As before the menu can be varied according to taste and the service was excellent throughout the night.
This is and always has been a warm & friendly pub for family & friends and would highly recommend anyone to eat or drink here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi there,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent meal at The Fox Inn. I'm pleased to read that you felt the portions were of a good size and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your meal.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can try some of our delicious desserts!
Kind regards
Liz and all at The Fox Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I went to a surprise 80th birthday meal on Saturday at the Fox Inn Matching Tye and all i can say is the food was excellent at this small quaint village pub.
the staff were friendly,the food was first class and the portions were massive.what more do you want.
i paid the bill in the end and for 10 people having 3 courses it came to £170. ive paid that for 4 people before in London and the food was no where near as good.

we didnt stay at the hotel but if im ever in the area again i will defo stay here.

top marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi,
We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your review on here, hopefully we'll see you again soon where I'd be happy to show you around our accommodation for future reference!
Kind regards
Liz Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matching Tye
1.7 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
3.7 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: The Fox The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Matching Tye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Matching Tye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Matching Tye
The Fox Inn Matching Tye, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing