We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sorry,thought I had sent this earlier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Matching Tye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Rochette, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sorry,thought I had sent this earlier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here alone 1 night in April before flying from Stansted.Arrived about 4pm.after a drive from Derbyshire.Great welcome and nice cold glass of wine.Was in first room of annex so felt very secure.
Bed and bedding wonderful.Room spotless with fridge and water.Had lovely hot bath with lovely products and slept until my booking in restaurant at 7.30!
Food wonderful,obviously home made and really generous.
Meg,the waitress was an absolute sweetie and couldn't have been more helpful.
Can recommend 100%

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
39
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hello,
We just stayed here for the weekend for a wedding in Ongar, we couldn't have been more loved and helped if we tried, accommodation clean, and lovely, little touches in the rooms go a long way - aircon, fridge goodies, etc. Bar staff were lovely, friendly and willing to help with everything, a great stay ;-)
Thanks so much we cant wait to return
Lisa and Co

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

After having had a very unpleasant experience at a Norfolk pub with B&B attached (see my review of The Crown at Dickleburgh) we were dubious about trying The Fox Inn but we needn't have worried. We had an excellent, peaceful stay in a lovely village, the staff were welcoming and efficient, the food and drink was first class. Our room was clean and well furnished with a good size bathroom. We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly greeting at the bar, shown to the room, had to ask about wifi and breakfast. The room is very clean and spacious same as the bathroom. The bed is very comfortable, the room has it's own air conditioning unit and comes with your continental breakfast In the room you can have a cooked breakfast for an extra 7pounds but do not start until 8:30.
The shower is nice and powerful.
The only things that let it down is the slow wifi, the curtains let in the light and the light has an emergency green light inside which is quite bright at night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and son visited this stunning pub during the may day weekebd where the pub was holding a may day festival.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the pub has a very friendly feel.

We stayed for dinner which was amazing i can highly recommend the cajun spiced chicken - it was lush!

a visit to this village pub is a must ans i will most certainly be returning

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed whilst on business, very good value B&B in lovely quiet village setting.
Rooms available in court yard setting at rear of pub, nice grounds & gardens for outside seating.
Our en suite room was spacious & attractively furnished with good quality pine furniture, the bedding was bright & modern. The ensuite was also large, very clean with a good supply of toiletries, & had a nice strong shower.
There was a fridge with fresh milk & continental breakfast ready for the following morning & nice flat screen TV.
We enjoyed a very pleasant meal in the pub, food was from a wide range of items on the menu, was of good quality and reasonably priced as was the wine.
We decided to have the optional cooked breakfast for which we paid a small supplement , again this was taken in the pub, was plentiful & well prepared.
Will definitely return if same circumstances arise, only 2 small things to mention, our tap fitting was loose & needs to be fixed & a bath mat would have been helpful in the en suite as it had a tiled floor, other than that everything was perfect.
Thank you,

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful!
I have been staying here for several weeks whilst working in the area. There are twelve chalet-style rooms in a courtyard affair behind the pub restaurant. There is plenty of parking, the rooms are clean and well equipped, powerful showers, comfy beds and a fridge to house your continental breakfast.
I have never bothered having the cooked breakfast, but if it is anything like the evening meals, it would be fantastic. There is plenty on the menu, specials board and also fixed price menu too, all cooked to perfection. Staff and locals are friendly.
It's a brilliant location, no traffic noise and you wake up to bird song. There are a few footpaths around if you fancy a walk.
Mobile phone signal on O2 and vodaphone (don't know about others) is fine in the area, but not for internet. There is also wifi at The Fox, although it isn't the fastest, you can get done what you need to.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cwalker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matching Tye
1.7 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
3.7 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: The Fox The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Matching Tye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Matching Tye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Matching Tye
The Fox Inn Matching Tye, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing