We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Terrace with Fine Tuscan Views.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passaparola Nell'Antico Frantoio

Passaparola Nell'Antico Frantoio
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Montemerano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
280 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely Terrace with Fine Tuscan Views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable family-run restaurant serving local food. Very good-sized portions and the food hot and fresh as could be. Meats a particular speciality.

There is a lovely terrace for outdoor dining, and the views from it are great. Like most people, I suspect, when visiting this part of Italy I imagine myself, before I go, sitting out a warm evening with good food and wine, and with a view consisting of typical tuscan farms, hills and the ever-present cypress trees. Well, Passaparola is exactly the sort of place which fulfils this image in the mind's eye.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    269
    85
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A family run restaurant - husband cooked, wife served - with nice atmosphere and friendly service.
The food was good but not amazing.
I was here back in 2011 and had an absolutely amazing dinner so I was a bit disillusioned this time. It seemed that they tried to "fancy-up" the menu which is unfortunate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice restaurant for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The place it's the key of this restaurant: a nice view, a cosy and rural design. The owners are kind and friendly. If you like wild meat or just a nice pasta, then It's worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giulio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in Montemerano for six nights. We went to this restaurant the first night. They sat us near a window that had a lovely view. We had pastas and desserts. I found the pastas to be very good but the selection was minimal. I wish I had more choices. Most folks were having antipasti and second course of the Tuscan steak. We may not chosen what they are noted for. The desserts were excellent and maybe one of the best I had on the trip. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was the restaurant was lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Osprey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Romantic and refined.. Service could improve.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Definitely a romantic atmosphere in the garden area which I would recommend in the evenings.
The dishes conserve some traditional characteristic combined to a more sought after kick of flavours.
Service could do with a little improvement and more professionality.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ByeByeBlues7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passaparola Nell'Antico Frantoio also viewed

Montemerano, Manciano
Montemerano, Manciano
 
Montemerano, Manciano
Saturnia, Manciano
 

Been to Passaparola Nell'Antico Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing