We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo!”
Review of Villa Acquaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Acquaviva
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Montemerano
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This is a wonderful country inn located in The Maremma, one of the most gorgeous areas on Earth. The owner Fabrizio and his staff treat each guest with dignity and respect. They knocked themselves out in making our restaurant reservations, winery appointments, and planning the daily itineraries.
They also provided a magnificent tasting of their own wines, and this was done in classy style at their enoteca.
This Villa is worth a detour in order to spend relaxing time in a beautiful and historic area with minimal tourist intrusion.
Just a marvelous experience and relaxing stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granduca79, Proprietario at Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Customer,
is always a pleasure to receive a positive comment about Villa Acquaviva.

it's nice to know that staying in our relay was exciting and relaxing.

I'm glad to know that even liked our wines, and the tasting in the Enoteca.

Come back and visit us, now we have a new winery to visit and where to make an other tasting

thanks again

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    47
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
18
110
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

This was our second stay at acquaviva and we enjoyed it again enormously: vast bucolic ground, excellent pool, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
if you come on a weekend there's double fun gazing at blitzy italian personages who populate the place.
passaparola is an extraordinary restaurant-with-enoteca in the village in montemerano. we haven't tried da caino (with 2 michelin rosettes) a few streets further because i was not dressed for the occasion, but it's on my todo list for the next stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granduca79, Proprietario at Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Customer,
thanks for the wonderful comments about Villa Acquaviva.

Come back and visit us to see if we have improved our services

thanks again

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I liked my stay in Villa Acquaviva so much, I returned two weeks later to spend another weekend. The vinery grounds are vast and beautiful; it's just so relaxing to stay in what feels like a guesthouse at a country estate instead of a commercial hotel...

I slept like a baby with my window open and fresh air pouring in. What better way to wake up than listening to the birds singing, take a nature walk (the grounds are HUGE!), enjoy fresh breakfast, and then off you go to explore the nearby countryside.

Location is perfect if you want to be close to Saturnia. It was a 10 minute drive.

How does Villa Acquaviva compare to 4 and 5 star spa hotel properties in Tuscany? It's 3 stars in size of the room (tiny), but the grounds and ambience more than make up for it (5 stars). Also, the price is much cheaper, and location is great. Villa Acquaviva is a very good value.

I liked:

Beauty, nature, and "relaxation" factor.
Morning and evening walks.
Breakfast (awesome cottage cheese, yummy home made jams and cakes, fruits, good coffee).
Location.
Swimming pool looked inviting, although I had no time to try it because I went to Saturnia thermal pools instead.
Dinner - I ate at Acquaviva once, and the lamb was very good.

What I think could be improved:

1) PILLOWS! The hardest pillows I've ever encountered. A softer pillow was needed.

2) Breakfast: I loved it... However, for longer stays more variety (some eggs, for example) would be nice.

3) Dinner: Meat was great, but add more vegetable choices.

OVERALL: Recommended, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granduca79, Proprietario at Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Customer,
thank you for the wonderful review and for the kind words used to describe Villa Acquaviva and our work.

I would like to invite you to come back to see that your suggestions were useful and now our breakfast was enriched with eggs (the different ways of cooking), we have alternative pillows available to customers at the restaurant has, every evening, different vegetables and kind of salad.

thanks again for appreciating our work and to help us to improve our quality

see you soon

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the property to spend New Years in Tuscany with another couple. We were shocked by some of the other reviews stating that AC didn't work and intrusive owners. Each unit had their own heating and AC controls and even though we of course don't know the whole situation, we found the staff and owners to be fantastic. The restaurant was closed for the winter, so we didn't have an opportunity to dine at the Relais. There was a mini-fridge in the room which was nice.
We travel extensively in Italy and stay at many properties and this was one of the best for an agriturismo/hotel. The breakfast in the morning had fresh cakes and jams and other cold foods. We found the place very, very clean and secure as you needed to enter a gate with key card in order to drive into the estate.
They have excellent wine and olive oil, which we purchased to take home to the US. We ventured out to many of the small towns surrounding the area and we can definitely recommend 2 restaurants in particular-la solina and i due cippi da michele, the first on the way to Saturnia and the latter in the main square of Saturnia. The property is about 3 miles to the Saturnia Terme and 6 miles to Saturnia. We would stay at this property again in a heartbeat. Our pictures show the two different rooms we had, a deluxe and superior. I would also say the rooms that we had are better than what the pictures show on their web site.

  • Liked — Clean, good location, nice views of country
  • Disliked — main restaurant closed in winter
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUROPEEXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

The grounds and pool of the hotel were beautiful but the hotel owners have a system to adjust the air conditioning in your room and when we returned to our room after dinner it was hot and no way to get it adjusted back to being cool. We paid extra to get a suite and ended up with two hot rooms. I will not return unless I have a guarantee that they will not cut off the A/C.

  • Liked — grounds and pool
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granduca79, proprietario at Villa Acquaviva, responded to this review, 11 November 2008
Let me first of all apologise for the inconvenience.
As explained when you came to us with your complaint, AC automatically turns off when windows are open and remains off until they are closed again. This is because we decided to implement an energy saving policy.
As for the room, I believe you were offered two rooms: deluxe, with Jacuzzi, and a larger suite in the “rustici”. You were warned that unfortunately the deluxe room, although was your preferred choice, was warm, whereas the suite was cooler. You chose nonetheless the deluxe and shortly after wanted to swap with the suite, which obviously though required a price difference to be paid.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the positive comments on our structure and we hope you will be our guest again. It will be our pleasure to offer you a dinner in our restaurant “La Limonaia”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Although this hotel was billed as a lovely relaxing place to unwind, certain things made this rather difficult. The husband and wife owners' dour and watchful presence, both at mealtimes and within the grounds of their hotel, such as round the pool left us feeling somewhat on edge. We felt like the house guests of some fussy owners rather than welcome paying guests at a hotel.

The food in the pleasantly built restaurant was particularly poor and of an amateur quality, especially when compared with the splendid local restaurants. We didn't have a decent bowl of pasta the whole time of our week's pre-booked stay. Instead we received a stodgy, tasteless mess regardless of what type of pasta (picci, tagliatelle, papardelle etc) was attempted to be cooked. What should have been examples of typical Tuscan dishes such as lamb or meat turned out to be simply gristle or bony and insufficient cuts of poor quality meat. The owners insisted on eating in the restaurant at the same time next to our and other guest's tables and it was extraordinary how much better their food was (and in the case of the meat in larger quantities) than the regular guests!!

There is no room service, nor any pool service, so (apart from a 300 meter return walk in 30~ heat from the pool to raid the drinks in the mini-bar in our bedroom) there was nothing to eat or drink at all during the day, should one want to simply relax by the pool.

Finally, we were 'hit' with some shocking hidden charges when we checked out. These included 7 euros for washing a towel we took to the beach, a further charge for our making and taking cups of tea on a tray to the bedroom at breakfast instead of drinking it in the dining room (which would have been free had we drunk it there). Those watchful vigilant eyes of the owners really were everywhere.

Tuscany is full of the warmest hospitality. But not, I'm afraid, at the hotel Acquaviva-which is a shame since it is in a lovely part of Southern Tuscany and in a delightful setting. However until the owners correct the poor food, change their petty charging system, keep out of the way of guests at mealtimes and expand and improve their service we would not recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JDKFCUOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montemerano
0.1 mi away
Relais Ciavatta
Relais Ciavatta
#3 of 4 in Montemerano
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bio Agriturismo Podere Santa Croce
4.0 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
1.1 mi away
Hotel Poggio Bertino
Hotel Poggio Bertino
#2 of 4 in Montemerano
163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bagno Santo Hotel
Bagno Santo Hotel
#5 of 5 in Saturnia
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Acquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acquaviva

Property: Villa Acquaviva
Address: Strada Scansanese, 58014 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Montemerano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Montemerano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Acquaviva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian romantic, country hotel standing in the Tuscan Maremma, close to the Saturnia Spa at Manciano, the Villa Acquaviva luxury hotel is the ideal place for those looking for wellbeing and relaxation. Bedrooms and suites, with hydromassage or with terrace in order to benefit from all the advantages of a comfortable and tranquil stay. Acquaviva Farm’s Wine Cellar is an integral part of the hotel’s elegance and charm: it offers a choice of excellent wine to taste in the wine cellar or in the country hotel’s restaurant. The country hotel’s restaurant, La Limonaia, offers a sophisticated and refined service in the name of wellbeing: Tuscan dishes, typical produce of the Tuscan Maremma, wine and olive oil coming from this eco-friendly, country hotel. An enchanting country hotel, a romantic and regenerating retreat is waiting for you in the delightful Tuscan Maremma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Acquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Manciano
Villa Acquaviva Montemerano, Italy - Manciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing