We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
134
59
17
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
59
17
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crocodile club desert springs golf course play golf few times round of golf golf trip main restaurant worth a visit desert drive narrow fairways family holiday minute drive great golf golfing break fantastic condition tee times
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived on a hot sunny afternoon to find a lovely clubhouse and a superb looking course. We were seen straight away at reception where two girls took us through all the ins and outs of the resort. Taken to “the lodge” for our accommodation which was far superior to what we were expecting. A lovely apartment on the ground floor spotlessly clean with a nice fully equipped kitchen. I’m a chef and like to cook on holiday with locally sourced products and the kitchen was set up with everything I needed.
We ate in the clubhouse the first evening after having drinks on the patio. The barman made me a fabulous gin and tonic whilst giving me a lesson in how to pour the tonic to maintain the fizz. Loved it!!! Food was fab and we went to bed very chilled out and relaxed.
Both my husband and I are single figure handicappers and found the course in great nick with a good degree of difficulty. Well maintained greens and lovely little touches like signage and sculptures dotted around.
Don’t even think twice. Just go ahead and book this resort for your holiday. We certainly can’t wait to go back.
Ps there’s loads to explore in the area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Iben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Stayed at Desert Springs in June 2018 in a villa on Desert Drive. Superb location with lovely views over the golf course. Whether you play golf or not does not matter, its a great place to stay. As usual the organization was excellent, and the villa well prepared on arrival. Local beaches are a 10 minute drive, but worth driving along the coast to San Juan which has a beautiful beach. Also worth a visit is Mojacar Pueblo, a traditional white village with great views.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

I visited Desert Springs with a photography party of 3 photographers and 2 models. We found the villa in exceptional order and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need to prepare meals with local produce bought in the local supermarket. The villa, pool, roof terrace and grounds were beautiful and ideal for us photographers to capture stunning images. We visited the Crocodile club on one evening which had a live band playing. We all enjoyed the bars cocktails on the terrace whilst listening to the band.
The staff were all amazing helping us to get settled in on arrival and recommend a few good local restaurants in the town. They spoke very good English which helped with our ropey Spanish. Highly recommended for any trip whether your a golfer or not.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieR1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

10 of us came over on 20/06/2018 for 5 nights. We have done spanish golf trip 7 times in the last 11 years. We have stayed at desert springs a few times but actually stayed at valle de este this year. However we always play at least one round at desert springs and this year was no exception. There was 2 new guys that came this year and as usual I was waxing lyrical to them about desert springs, but unfortunately I was made to look the fool because the course was in a sorry old state. The vast majority of the fairways where either bald or more often than not brown and cracked. We will undoubtedly do another Spanish golf trip in 2 years but it saddens me to say that we will have to seriously consider wether to play desert springs again :-(

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank WesGower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoultSylvan, Public Relations Manager at The Desert Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We must apologise but for reasons outside of our control, we suffered an unexpected severe water shortage from the 14th June which resulted in reduced irrigation to the extent that, for a period of 48hrs on the 19th & 20th June, we could not irrigate the fairways at all.

During this period of water shortage, all the tee and green surfaces were protected by individual hand watering, to ensure that although the fairways were not up to their usual standards, that the tees and greens were.

The fairways on The Indiana course are rye grass, all but uniquely in Southern Spain. The low tolerance of the rye grass to heat in the absence of irrigation resulted in some fairways quickly becoming hard and sun damaged.

Although rye is a normally considered a cool season grass, with the necessary irrigation and course maintenance, it provides exceptionally verdant green and immaculate fairways year-round; both in the summer and especially in the winter when the more usual Bermuda grass becomes dormant, turning white and brittle.

I am pleased to be able to report that the water shortage was rapidly overcome, and the period of extreme dryness only lasted for three to four days. The fairways fully recovered very quickly.

We acknowledge that this does not reduce the disappointment of those experiencing these exceptional conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Another Family holiday at Desert Springs enjoyed by all
6 Adults and three Children aged 6, 4 & 3
We had a four bedroom Villa, overlooking the 2nd tee off and the 1st Green, which was equipped to a high standard. We all enjoyed the Pool and lounging in the garden Area.
We played golf a few times (and I lost several balls!) on the very challenging but enjoyable course
The Staff at DS are very helpful and Friendly and I would recommend the Clubhouse and Crocodile Club
This is a great place for a peaceful relaxing holiday and only a 15 minutes drive from the beach
We plan to return next year

Room Tip: Several Accommodation options
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BManSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodge_1, The Lodge Department at The Desert Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear BManSwindon,

Many thanks for yout comment and having chosen Desert Springs Resort & Golf Club as the destination for your Holiday.

We sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay with us.

If you have any questions or if you need any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact me personally, rng@almanzora.com

We very much look forward to welcoming you back once again to Desert Springs nex year.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews