We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really no worth the money.”
Review of Koh Kong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koh Kong Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Koh Kong
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really no worth the money.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

On our way to Cambodia we decided to spend a night there. Nothing special in spite the grandeur that they want to portrait. Rooms are clean but basic and a bit run down. Location is nice because of the beach line but far away from the small city of koh kong and taxi to bring you there ask a lot of money (nearly 20 U$) round trip. A fair price would be less than half. Pool side is beautiful but it seems a ghosts area. Breakfast lousy and uninteresting. The overall feeling sad and very casino oriented. Better to stay in Koh Kong town. We found Asian Hotel much nicer, clean and cheap.

Room Tip: Just book in koh Kong town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Looks nice on the outside. Breakfast, lunch and dinner meals are similar. Lack variety. Beer garden meals are all very hot and spicy, and very poor quality. No tourist promotion. Transport acquisition difficult. Rooms run down

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tuktuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Kong hotels

Oberaudorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a very good time at Koh Kong Resort: we enjoyed the great pool and nice beach. The staff is very friendly. They try to be helpful, but only a few speak english. Dollars and Baht are preferred to the Riel, since the Resort is a Casino. The rooms are great and were the cleanest we had in Cambodia. The food in the resort is very good and not expensive. The only disadvantage is the long way into the village: about 7km. Since the resort is a gambling place, they prefer their guests to stay...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just first time arrived Koh Kong for sight seeing in area for 1 night before ahead to Sihanoukville .
Hotel is with beautiful decoration together with casino and a duty free. It made me fall in love with Koh Kong. Food was good present as buffet in large area of the restaurant. Room is full facility except Wifi which I can find only at lobby not really convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The counter simply refuse to change US$ into Cambodian Riel, even a simple bank note of 1 US$. You can change in Thai Baht but reluctantly! The tax-free shop in the Hotel refuses to change a 100 US$ note into small currency. Clearly Thai owned and Thai managed with a disdain for everything else and with a Thai monopoly for Thai employees... Never anymore. I will look for more friendly service and less inappropriate Thai superiority feeling towards other nationalities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdezeure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed in Koh Kong for two nights/three days. The drive to Phnom Penh is about 5 hours. The hotel is within 300 yards of the Thai Border which is kind cool. The hotel seems to prefer Thai Baht rather than Cambodian Real or dollars. The beach was clean and peaceful. The room and furnishings were very good and the view from the 5th floor balcony was beautiful. The hotel is large with a number of tourist from Thailand. The hotel does not have internet except for at the coffee shop which was difficult if you want to stay connected. The restaurant was large, and reminded me of a big convention hall, with large tables for 10 - 12 people. The food was average, and the breakfast buffet which was part of the room rate was ok. Also very few people spoke English, most spoke only Khmer and some Thai. I would come back for the beach and the opportunity to be in the Cardoman Mountains.

Room Tip: Get a high room over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Rooms very nice, garden view not as described and was disappointed that none of the seaview rooms are twin rooms. Hotel is well presented and a nice hotel nothing to wrong on the looks department. Staff are pleasant and very helpful.

What was striking was the stench of cigarettes when walking in the front door. This is a smoking palace. The gaming machine floor is to the right to the main entrance and this is all smoking. Smoking is allowed in the lobby also. It was so bad I was gagging at the stench. However once out of the lobby it was fine.

Room service menu is limited and over priced for what it is and the food is average. Room service was very unhelpful also, couldnt meet any request to deviate from the "set menu", such as grilled chicken instead of chicken hamburger. Breakfast was included in the room rate (which was expensive for the "garden" view ... consisting of a white wall and dried up grass), just awful selection of breakfast items and all cooked items were cold .... fired eggs were so cold they could have come straight from the freezer, when I asked for hot eggs the chef put my cold eggs back on the hot plate to heat them. Bacon was cold and very hard, sausages very cold also and tasteless. Only went to breakfast once and didnt bother the other days. Only one restaurant to eat at the other options during the day is the coffee shop (mostly cakes) or the small eatery in the gaming area which is fast Asian foods (noodles etc) ... be warned you risk lung cancer just trying to get there.

After 4:00 PM across the street the hotel has the BBQ area open up and this is open air dining. Good selection of food and this is place has great staff and is well run. Food is reasonably priced and worthwhile. Staff were very helpful. Only place I would recommend for this hotel worth eating at is the BBQ.

All said and done this hotel has nice rooms, good staff but it caters mostly for the border traveller interested in gambling which are mostly Thais going on short holidays. There are some sights to see a small beach attached to the hotel and a small village / town about 20 minutes away. Suggest better to head into Koh Kong Village itself to find a hotel and be closer to all the facilities and attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the hotel are very nice, the ocean views are very nice and are all doubles. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Kong
17.2 mi away
Mango Beach Resort
Mango Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.4 mi away
99 Guesthouse
99 Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
17.7 mi away
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
4 Rivers Floating Lodge
#1 of 25 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Koh Kong Bay Hotel
Koh Kong Bay Hotel
#15 of 25 in Koh Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
15.3 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#1 of 17 in Koh Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kong Resort

Property: Koh Kong Resort
Address: Phum Cham Yeam, Khum Paklong Srok Mondoul Seyma, Koh Kong 09000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Koh Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Kong Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Kong Resort in Cambodia. Srok Mondoul Seyma, Koh Kong, Kingdom of Cambodia. Reserve online now and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Kong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kong Hotel Koh Kong
Koh Kong Resort Cambodia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing