We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”
Review of Rame Barton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rame Barton
Ranked #1 of 1 Rame B&B and Inns
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Rame Barton in the Cawsand room for two nights to attend at wedding. The room was lovely, clean crisp sheets, beautiful views from the window and the gardens and surroundings were amazing. Karen and her husband were lovely! The breakfast was amazing too...full english, warm croissants with homemade jams, cereal and fresh fruit...nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
111
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the one bed roomed apartment with our 13 month old little girl. The apartment was large enough for all of us with a cot provided in the bedroom too! The apartment was beautifully clean and serviced throughout our stay. The owners were lovely and we enjoyed a complementary cream tea when we arrived!

We were visiting the near by fort for a wedding so we were ideally located. We also visited many of the beaches near by.

We had a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend Rame Barton.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sas8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

You book somewhere.....and you are not sure what to expect. You hope for good facilities....and you don't aim too high with your expectations. Rame Barton exceeded our expectations in every respect. We were a family of 7 attending a wedding at Polhawn Fort, and the two apartments with 3 bedrooms and the luxurious B&B room suited us perfectly. What made it the very special place it is though, was the way Karen and Paul Cardew made us feel they were so happy to have us in their home. We felt we really were staying in a home, not just spare rooms tacked on, and their very kind attention was always sensitive and extremely friendly. As so many others have mentioned, we appreciated the superb breakfasts, fresh egggs, delicious cream teas served by delightful helpers (and wicked cakes baked by Karen !), comfy bed linen, and wonderful coastal walks, but what made it extra special for Bella, aged 6, was the 3 hours over 3 days she spent with Paul 'throwing' and painting a pot in his studio....and its very good! So, instead of racing on into Cornwall past Plymouth, just turn left across the Tamar, aim for Rame church spire on the horizon, and you will come to the white Georgian facade of Rame Barton. In addition to the coastal walks, the wonderful sweep of Whitsand Bay, and the delightful adjoining villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, a visit to Mt Edgcumb is a must - a very child-friendly and interesting house, with the most beautiful and well kept gardens sweeping down to Plymouth Sound. Enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Called in here by chance and enjoyed a perfect Cornish cream tea on the lawn, in the sun, in August. How good is that?? The place was very busy and the hard working staff still cheerfully going about their business with smiles and interest in their customers at 4pm. Very commendable. We each had 2 delicious fresh, warm (from the oven, not microwaved) scones, beautiful fresh strawberry jam and what seemed like a bucket of thick, golden, clotted cream – so much in fact, that we couldn't get through it all, which is a first. Alongside this was an enormous pot of our chosen Lapsang Souchong tea which again we couldn't get through. All this for £5.95 each. Terrific value and a lovely experience. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Rame Barton for friends' Golden Wedding celebrations in nearby Kingsand, and we could not have chosen better!
Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Rame Barton is an area of outstanding taste and quality. The house and gardens are full of treasures and delights – as indeed are the hosts Karen & Paul!
We enjoyed the welcoming Cream Tea on the terrace, and later that evening Paul kindly offered to drive us into Kingsand to meet our friends at the Rising Sun – an excellent pub, popular with the locals and it serves a very good meal, especially seafood!
Breakfast at Rame Barton is outstanding – eggs (fresh from the chickens roaming the garden) and all the extras for the 'full English', and with cereals, yoghurt, fruit, croissants and toast with home-made preserves you really are set up for the day!
The room was light and airy with lovely views, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was well supplied with good toiletries.
We enjoyed Paul's Studio and my wife was delighted with the purchases she made.
Our stay was most enjoyable and relaxing – we look forward to visiting Rame Barton again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I lived in Cornwall for 25 years, I owned one of the best hotels in the South West, AA 2 red stars and 3 rosettes, which put us in their top 200 for 2 decades. So I do know good a good B&B. Rame Barton is excellent. A warm welcome, other rooms were full so I was given Karen's self catering accommodation, a double, twin bedded room, sitting room with 2 comfy sofas and table for meals, well equipped kitchen and a very good bathroom with superb shower. I stayed 3 nights and was charged only at the rate of a double bedded room ! And my 2 Staffies came free. But then they are very well behaved and got on famously with ' Snatch ' Karen and Paul's Jack Russel. Breakfast was what ever I wanted : fresh fruit, cereals; bacon, perfect scrambled eggs, good butchers sausage and mushrooms; toast, croissant, home made preserves and as much coffee as I wanted. A great start to each day. Rame Barton is surrounded by well kept lawns and enjos lovely views. I expect to be visiting Cornwall again and I will certainly stay there again.
Nick Wainford
Ludlow

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having just spent a long weekend in glorious Cornwall, we had to write to say what a fantastic place this is to stay. Excellent accommodation and the owners Karen and Paul could not make you more welcome if they tried. The breakfast was the best.. We cant wait to go again

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the front of the house, what views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickhancock_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rame
5.0 mi away
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Whitsand Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portwrinkle
595 reviews
12.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
8.9 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Little Fox Hotel
Little Fox Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crafthole
233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#6 of 10 in Torpoint
67 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Devon & Cornwall
The Devon & Cornwall
#3 of 4 in Millbrook
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rame Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rame Barton

Property: Rame Barton
Address: Rame PL10 1LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rame
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rame Barton 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house built in 1715, tastefully decorated, wonderful peaceful situation, near beaches and villages. Sea and countryside views. Plenty of free parking. Incredible hospitality with fabulous breakfasts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rame Barton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rame Barton Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing