We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rame Barton
Nearby Hotels
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Invicta Hotel(Plymouth)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
210
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattending a weddingpolhawn fortkaren's breakfastscawsand and kingsandwarm welcomespent a long weekendbeautiful housefresh fruitwonderful weekendtwo nightsbreakfast was amazingenglish breakfastnearby fortfull englishnight's sleepminute drivestunning location
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Rame Barton in the Cawsand room for two nights to attend at wedding. The room was lovely, clean crisp sheets, beautiful views from the window and the gardens and surroundings were amazing. Karen and her husband were lovely! The breakfast was amazing too...full english, warm croissants with homemade jams, cereal and fresh fruit...nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the one bed roomed apartment with our 13 month old little girl. The apartment was large enough for all of us with a cot provided in the bedroom too! The apartment was beautifully clean and serviced throughout our stay. The owners were lovely and we enjoyed a complementary cream tea when we arrived!

We were visiting the near by fort for a wedding so we were ideally located. We also visited many of the beaches near by.

We had a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend Rame Barton.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sas8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

You book somewhere.....and you are not sure what to expect. You hope for good facilities....and you don't aim too high with your expectations. Rame Barton exceeded our expectations in every respect. We were a family of 7 attending a wedding at Polhawn Fort, and the two apartments with 3 bedrooms and the luxurious B&B room suited us perfectly. What made it the very special place it is though, was the way Karen and Paul Cardew made us feel they were so happy to have us in their home. We felt we really were staying in a home, not just spare rooms tacked on, and their very kind attention was always sensitive and extremely friendly. As so many others have mentioned, we appreciated the superb breakfasts, fresh egggs, delicious cream teas served by delightful helpers (and wicked cakes baked by Karen !), comfy bed linen, and wonderful coastal walks, but what made it extra special for Bella, aged 6, was the 3 hours over 3 days she spent with Paul 'throwing' and painting a pot in his studio....and its very good! So, instead of racing on into Cornwall past Plymouth, just turn left across the Tamar, aim for Rame church spire on the horizon, and you will come to the white Georgian facade of Rame Barton. In addition to the coastal walks, the wonderful sweep of Whitsand Bay, and the delightful adjoining villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, a visit to Mt Edgcumb is a must - a very child-friendly and interesting house, with the most beautiful and well kept gardens sweeping down to Plymouth Sound. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Called in here by chance and enjoyed a perfect Cornish cream tea on the lawn, in the sun, in August. How good is that?? The place was very busy and the hard working staff still cheerfully going about their business with smiles and interest in their customers at 4pm. Very commendable. We each had 2 delicious fresh, warm (from the oven, not microwaved) scones, beautiful fresh strawberry jam and what seemed like a bucket of thick, golden, clotted cream – so much in fact, that we couldn't get through it all, which is a first. Alongside this was an enormous pot of our chosen Lapsang Souchong tea which again we couldn't get through. All this for £5.95 each. Terrific value and a lovely experience. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jules s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Rame Barton for friends' Golden Wedding celebrations in nearby Kingsand, and we could not have chosen better!
Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Rame Barton is an area of outstanding taste and quality. The house and gardens are full of treasures and delights – as indeed are the hosts Karen & Paul!
We enjoyed the welcoming Cream Tea on the terrace, and later that evening Paul kindly offered to drive us into Kingsand to meet our friends at the Rising Sun – an excellent pub, popular with the locals and it serves a very good meal, especially seafood!
Breakfast at Rame Barton is outstanding – eggs (fresh from the chickens roaming the garden) and all the extras for the 'full English', and with cereals, yoghurt, fruit, croissants and toast with home-made preserves you really are set up for the day!
The room was light and airy with lovely views, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was well supplied with good toiletries.
We enjoyed Paul's Studio and my wife was delighted with the purchases she made.
Our stay was most enjoyable and relaxing – we look forward to visiting Rame Barton again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews