We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time out with baby!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halfway House

The Halfway House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rame
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time out with baby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first meal out with our six month old daughter and we were braced for a hellish experience. We were greeted with a friendly, "table for three?" acknowledging our little one and our server was so considerate and helpful, he made the whole experience a pleasure. As a result, madam was happy and giggly throughout enabling hubby and me to enjoy the great food (lovely veggie special for me) while she chomped on some pear in her (immaculately clean) high chair.
Highly recommended for those visiting on holiday, especially if you're travelling with a littlie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaAClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    56
    22
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had the Sunday evening carvery here tonight. Booked the table at this busy eatery in the morning.
Prompt and friendly greeting, service great, food very good. What more do you need for a inexpensive Sunday lunch. It was not my first visit here and certainly not the last. All staff friendly which makes you feel at home. Carry on the good work!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Arrived, as a group, 45 minutes before any food orders could be taken, so agreed with the barman that we would wait and put our order in at 1745, having a few drinks in the meanwhile.

Starters came out OK, but mains took a further hour for most of us. On top of this, when we politely asked the staff where our sauces were, we were told, "You've caught us on a busy night", despite the restaurant being completely empty when we arrived.

Additionally, one of our party had not received his meal after the rest of us. When we asked the same waitress again, we were told, "I can only carry two plates at once, mate".

The food was fair, but there was no need for the staff to be so short with us. Over an hour wait did not go down well either.

Very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank doctuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“DON'T BE PUT OFF BY OUTSIDE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Would benefit from a little updating/cheering up but looks can be deceiving.
We still enjoyed a lovely carvery here. Loads of meat and 'fresh' vegetables too at a reasonable price. Deserts were really fresh and 'yummy. Staff were more than helpful and so pleasant and attentive. Nothing too much trouble.
Bonus: Tooth Picks on the table - WELL DONE

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The Sunday carvery here is a life saver on a hangover - It's so so so delicious! The halfway house is exactly what you'd expect, a roadside family run pub restaurant.. I'm not sure exactly what other people that give this place a hard time were expecting.. They deliver warm friendly welcomes every time, the prices are more than fair and the food is delicious! Good place god family meals and celebrations. Long live the halfway house :D p.s the desserts are fantastic!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halfway House also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing