We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”
Review of Botany Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lulworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botany Farm House
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here with Carol and Graham. Our room was comfortable and charming and it was wonderful to snuggle up in front of the log burner at the end of the evening. The garden is amazing with many birds and the deer that visited daily. Carol and Graham were so friendly and welcoming. It was like staying with friends and Carol does the best breakfasts ever! We are looking forward to going back.

Claire and Doug Cooper

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely with their own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed last year whilst visiting Camp Bestival and I have been meaning to submit a review.

We booked both rooms and so it felt we had hired a beautiful cottage as there is a separate entrance and lounge area.

The owners are wonderful, warm, friendly and have a fantastic approach, really really made us feel welcome.

Breakfasts are amazing - each morning we opened the breakfast room door to an Alladins cave of amazing delights.

Would recommend a stay here , the whole place is gorgeous and eclectic and such amazing value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pji101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our first visit certainly won't be our last. I was in desperate need of a relaxing break, which was always going to be a challenge as I was travelling with my delightful but Autistic daughter, I couldn't have found a better place. Carol and Graham welcome you in with tea and homemade biscuits and a roaring log fire and that kind of sets the tone for your stay. Their home is absolutely enchanting - I'm not sure if I have felt at home in someone else's house more, than in their cosy lounge. The bedrooms are an absolute delight, you come back to find the lamps lit and the curtains drawn. Carol and Graham were very attentive (without being intrusive, and like Paul H offered to fix my broken headlamp!). The breakfasts were brilliant and their love of cooking and entertaining shines through ( I have added a recipe to my book).
The Farmhouse is in a great spot and the deer in the garden a big bonus (whilst I was packing Carol took Maya out to see if the deer were there to say goodbye, they weren't so she showed her photos on the computer instead). Location wise - you are well placed to visit many different attractions and beauty spots, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the village Tyneham (requestionned for the war in 1943 and frozen in time) are a short drive and a hefty walk away. Monkey World and Bovington Tank museum are little further but worth a visit. We loved Corfe Castle and returned there to go on the Swanage steam train. We finished our visit to an absolute must-do Arne Woods a RSPB reserve that have breath-taking views over to Brownseas Island and it supports a variety of wildlife not just birds, but deer, squirrels and foxes. Next visit we will go to Brownsea Island.
On my return I immediately called friends and family to recommend Botany Farmhouse, which I do unreservedly.
Thank-you for the additional support and kindness you offered.
Katy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We have stayed at Botany Farmhouse numerous times over the last 22 years and can't rate it highly enough. The owners go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay and the food is first class - don't bother eating out, just ask Carol to cook for you! And don't worry about lunch, you won't need it after breakfast!
The bedrooms are delightful and guests have their own separate entrance and lounge, with roaring fire whenever needed.
An ideal location away from the bustle but close enough to explore Purbeck - ideal base for cycling or walking holidays or riding at the local stables.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie504041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from a 'little gem of a B&B'. Our fifth or is it sixth consecutive annual pilgrimage to a unique retreat that just keeps us coming back for more.

Previous reviews are absolutely spot on.

Location great for walks along the range and most of the Dorset.

Atmosphere amazing.
Ambience magical.
Breakfasts varied and fulfilling.
Hosts out of this world, considered as true friends.
Great value for money.
It's a perfect place for a very relaxing time.

Arrived on a Saturday for 6 days.
Weekends a good opportunity to walk the Army Range walks.
Car battery died in car park 3 miles from Botany, Sat p.m., called AA & eta 1 hr 20 min., called Carol (to let her know that we might be late arriving) who suggested that her son, Alexander would come out with jump leads within 15 mins.
He started car then whilst out that evening bought us a new battery from Halfords then proceeded to fit it for us on Sunday morning. All was well with car as a result of this excellent service and you don't get better than that.

Recommend walks along the coast, beach @ Studland, tank viewing area @ Bovington, charity shops & market day in Dorchester, river walk @ Wareham, so much to see & do.

Thanks to Carol & Graham for making us feel so welcomed.

Room Tip: Unique style that appeals to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed over Jubilee weekend whilst at sons wedding at Lulworth Castle, with daughter, son-in-law and 2 lively grandchildren. This B&B is a real treasure with one of the best breakfasts we have eaten, lots of choice, and a vast fruit selection which the kids enjoyed. Welcomed with afternoon tea in the visitors private lounge. Nothing too much trouble and always a smile. Carol feeding the deer in the back garden was a treat. The bedrooms are quirky and oh so comfortable.
Will come back agaim sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Botany farm house is an hide and unconvencional place were you feel to be part of a tale! A little hard to find for two Romans guys used to the crazy metropolitan city life and specially in the night, but the owners directions were very clear! The landscape, the building, the room and the welcome were simply gorgeus; the breakfast surprised me: fresh biological fruits, bacon and eggs, home-made pancake.. everything was so delicious and the proprietors kindness concurred to make my birthday special!
i slept there almost two years ago but will definitly stay in botany farm house if i'll come back to dorset!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nappita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Botany Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botany Farm House

Address: East Lulworth BH20 5QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Lulworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Lulworth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botany Farm House is ancient , hidden away down a country track , surrounded by a rampant garden . There are no neighbours just woods and fields . The interior is as original as possible but still comfortable and we do have modern plumbing and heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Botany Farm House East Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing