We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”
Review of Botany Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lulworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botany Farm House
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Welcoming hosts, pretty surroundings and fantastic food. Really made for a fantastic stay. Carol and Graham gave us loads of helpful tips about the local area. Good location, a short drive from Lulworth Cove.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suki_B909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Botany Farm House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

You couldn't meet a more friendly couple than your hosts, Carol and Graham. Their characterful cottage is surrounded by a pretty garden, and the surrounding region has lots of interest. Visits to the coast and inland beauty spots are a must.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurferDaventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a wonderful place and Carol and Graham were so welcoming. An idyllic setting in a garden overflowing with flowers. It was so fabulous to see the deer come right up to the house to be fed by Carol. Lovely comfy bedroom - fabulous bed- and an out of the world breakfast for a vegetarian and a vegan!! What a refreshing change!!
Fabulous furnishings and lovely cosy lounge with the log burner. Fabulous to have the use of a fridge by the front door as well.
It was so great that our dog was also made so welcome.
A really unique and very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirijedburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our second visit to Botany Farmhouse, this time with son, daughter-in-law and grandson. We all had a great stay, lovely comfy beds and a breakfast to die for. If you like homely and cosy this is the place for you. Very peaceful garden and if you're lucky you may get a glimpse of a deer. You have your own front door and a lovely cool (in summer) lounge with sofas and chairs and when it is cooler Carol lights the log burner. Wonderful hospitality!! We shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here with Carol and Graham. Our room was comfortable and charming and it was wonderful to snuggle up in front of the log burner at the end of the evening. The garden is amazing with many birds and the deer that visited daily. Carol and Graham were so friendly and welcoming. It was like staying with friends and Carol does the best breakfasts ever! We are looking forward to going back.

Claire and Doug Cooper

Room Tip: Both rooms were lovely with their own character
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed last year whilst visiting Camp Bestival and I have been meaning to submit a review.

We booked both rooms and so it felt we had hired a beautiful cottage as there is a separate entrance and lounge area.

The owners are wonderful, warm, friendly and have a fantastic approach, really really made us feel welcome.

Breakfasts are amazing - each morning we opened the breakfast room door to an Alladins cave of amazing delights.

Would recommend a stay here , the whole place is gorgeous and eclectic and such amazing value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pji101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our first visit certainly won't be our last. I was in desperate need of a relaxing break, which was always going to be a challenge as I was travelling with my delightful but Autistic daughter, I couldn't have found a better place. Carol and Graham welcome you in with tea and homemade biscuits and a roaring log fire and that kind of sets the tone for your stay. Their home is absolutely enchanting - I'm not sure if I have felt at home in someone else's house more, than in their cosy lounge. The bedrooms are an absolute delight, you come back to find the lamps lit and the curtains drawn. Carol and Graham were very attentive (without being intrusive, and like Paul H offered to fix my broken headlamp!). The breakfasts were brilliant and their love of cooking and entertaining shines through ( I have added a recipe to my book).
The Farmhouse is in a great spot and the deer in the garden a big bonus (whilst I was packing Carol took Maya out to see if the deer were there to say goodbye, they weren't so she showed her photos on the computer instead). Location wise - you are well placed to visit many different attractions and beauty spots, Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door and the village Tyneham (requestionned for the war in 1943 and frozen in time) are a short drive and a hefty walk away. Monkey World and Bovington Tank museum are little further but worth a visit. We loved Corfe Castle and returned there to go on the Swanage steam train. We finished our visit to an absolute must-do Arne Woods a RSPB reserve that have breath-taking views over to Brownseas Island and it supports a variety of wildlife not just birds, but deer, squirrels and foxes. Next visit we will go to Brownsea Island.
On my return I immediately called friends and family to recommend Botany Farmhouse, which I do unreservedly.
Thank-you for the additional support and kindness you offered.
Katy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatyMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Botany Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botany Farm House

Address: East Lulworth BH20 5QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Lulworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Lulworth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botany Farm House is ancient , hidden away down a country track , surrounded by a rampant garden . There are no neighbours just woods and fields . The interior is as original as possible but still comfortable and we do have modern plumbing and heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Botany Farm House East Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing