We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay - didn't feel like 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retallack Resort and Spa
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The resort is in the middle of nowhere - but with easy access to most attractions in Cornwall. The site is very large and grassy with various chalets that people stay in for holidays or can buy. It all looks very new - and could use a few more trees and bushes. We stayed in the surf suites. They are small apartments in blocks of 3 or 4 long and 2 high. They all overlook a lake with ducks which is very cute.
Inside the suites are very modern and nice with good kitchen facilities and lovely spa style bathrooms. However they have glass sliding doors straight out to the kitchen so not amazing for privacy but didn't bother us. They have every facility 2 people could need. The bed was extremely comfortable!

However when we arrived I checked the sheets and there was a blood stain on the mattress protector and a blood spot on the sheet. They had been washed but the stain had not come out. You could actually see the stain through the sheet. I rang reception and they were very nice and sent someone straight away. However they sent a maintenance man as housekeeping had apparently gone home. We helped him strip the bed and when he returned with new sheets he said he could fix our boiler but couldn't make a bed so we had to do it ourselves. We stayed for 3 nights and noone ever came to remake it for us or check we were happy.

We had dinner in the green room one evening. It was very nice but incredibly hot (we did stay during a heatwave) however some air conditioning would be nice. The meal was very good however my mussels were sandy. I can't really hold this against them though as I didn't complain and I am sure that if I did they would have tried very hard to make it up to me.

Overall we were very happy with our stay but the service we received just didn't feel very luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laura9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for your review and I am sorry that we didn't have housekeeping available on the evening of your arrival - we should have dealt with this more professionally for you and not had maintenance involved at all. Please accept our apologies again as I am aware that our head of house keeping did manage to apologise with you in person during your stay. We do hope that you will visit us again and enjoy our usual high standards. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Retallack Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 7 The lodge was great the restaurant was surprisingly very good. Perfect for families. Great location. Good value for money. The only downside was the poor fishing lake , for £10 per day I expected some fish

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryP907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for your review and we are delighted that you had such a good holiday and enjoyed your lodge and felt the restaurant was very good. We are sorry that you didn't catch any fish but can assure you that it is very well stocked! We do hope that you will visit again soon. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from a weeks break at the resort. Our party consisted of 6 adults and 6 children. We booked 1 of the large 6 bed units. I had read a number of reviews before we left,these had been wide and varied. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement, the size and quality of the accommodation was superb. We were greeted on arrival by a young girl who was superb very pleasant, I only wish i had got her name, If the management read this she had long straight blonde hair. The lodge was also well equipped and had all mod cons that you could need. The provision of 2 lounges was great it allowed the kids to watch their TV!! The hot tub was great and was well used by all. Many previous reviews had issues with the broadband speed (a basic service is supplied but you can upgrade to a higher speed if needed) the basic was sufficient for me to check my email on a daily basis, and surf the web, my only gripe is that you have to re connect each day, which can be slow. There were a few negatives as there will always be, within the welcome pack it states that if you use the BBQ and leave it dirty there will be a charge to clean it. The BBQ at our lodge was filthy thick with grease and dirt and hadn't been cleaned from its last use as there was remnants of the previous BBQ. Finally the Green Room very expensive and although the food was nice I wouldn't say exceptional it doesn't really have an identity and is very relaxed on one hand yet tries to be formal on the other. As you would expect in Cornwall was dominated by fish but it would have been good to eat a good steak. We ate twice in here once at lunch and once in the evening and to be honest there re lots of great pubs etc in the area that serve great food. Would we return? you bet we would

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjk1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guests
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review following your holiday spent in a 6 bedroom lodge - We are delighted that you were greeted for check in so well and that you were pleasantly surprised with your lodge and enjoyed all it had to offer. I am sorry your bbq wasn't clean on arrival and only wish you had let us know so that we could have dealt with this issue for you immediately. Thankyou very much and we do hope to welcome you all back again soon. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my daughter in a 1 bedroom lakeside apartment. It was spacious and stylishly furnished. We had the ground floor and that's definitely the better option as these have a nice sized terrace out to the lake. The 1st floor have a much smaller balcony.
The bed was huge and incredibly comfy with a fabulously soft feather duvet. It's a nice added extra to have a tv in the bedroom as well as the lounge. The kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, microwave and a washer/dryer. The bathroom was lovely too with nice complimentary toiletries and a superb shower.
We made good use of the pool, sauna & steam room. It would make it a more luxurious experience if there was a Jacuzzi too. The changing rooms were smart and clean with the same great showers as the apartment. No changing cubicles which I'd have preferred.
I think the spa treatments are a little overpriced and the therapists we saw weren't of the highest quality which was disappointing.
Overall this is a well run, stylish, high end holiday park. My only real gripe being the extremely steep uphill walk from our lakeside apartment to the main facilities.

Room Tip: If staying in 1 bedroom Fistral apartment chose ground floor as these have a large terrace overlook...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mamazo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review following your holiday staying in one of the Fistral Suites overlooking the lake. We are delighted that you found your suite to be very luxurious and enjoyed the facilities at Retallack resort. I am sorry you didn't find your treatment to be up to our usual high standard and we will of course liase with our therapists with regard this. There is a walkway to the facilities from the surf suites that has a very small incline and I am sorry this way wasn't shown to you. We do hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from a lovely family holiday at Retallack. Our lodge was spacious and comfortable, and had everything we required (toddler needs were well met - stair gates, washing machine etc.). The dog enjoyed his daily walks around the lakes and woodland trail. Flowrider was definitely an added attraction; the instructor took care of our five-year old who now thinks he can surf! The pool is also good. Two of our party enjoyed an evening meal at The Green Room (they said it was delicious) but the kitchen seemed unable to cope on Friday lunchtime when deserts took ages to arrive and were disappointing (apologies and discount given). The resort is conveniently situated for a short drive to Padstow, Daymer beach! Watergate Bay etc. and we would definitely recommend Retallack and hope to return in the future. There are plans to develop the resort further and hopefully these will include a little shop that sells basics.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Janette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guests
Thankyou very much for taking the time to review Retallack Resort following your holiday and we are delighted you had a wonderful time and that your lodge offered everything you required for a holiday away with a toddler. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Fantastic resort with great facilities - we used the pool, tennis courts and bar throughout our stay and all were of top quality. The apartment itself was really spacious for two people, we loved the view of the lake from our balcony and the resort is well secluded meaning it was nice and peaceful. The only reasons we didnt give the 5 star rating were a couple of things relating to the apartment - the toilet seat was loose and the bathroom door was quite difficult to slide closed. The bathroom sink had loose tap fittings. One thing to be aware of that the website didnt mention was that they take a one hundred and fifty pound deposit on arrival to cover any potential damage. We would definitely recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fairycake1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest Thankyou very much for your review and we are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday staying in your Fistral Suite overlooking the lakes and that you found it to be very spacious and peaceful. We will look into the bathroom fittings to make sure they tightened up and the door made easier to close . We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend, myself and my two dogs just spent a four night break at a 2 bedroom lodge. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and dealt with promptly. Lodge clean and fresh. Plenty of room so we did not get under each other's feet. Lovely to be able to walk the dogs around the grounds, very peaceful and felt safe. Were treated to a facial which was lovely, beauty rooms very tranquil, girls very professional. Very enjoyable time had by all, would like to come back with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou very much for taking the time to review your holiday spent at Retallack Resort and we are delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed the holiday and felt very welcome and safe on resort. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Columb Major
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
10.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retallack Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retallack Resort and Spa

Address: Winnards Perch, St Columb Major TR9 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Columb Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in St Columb Major
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Retallack Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque fishing village of Padstow, the idyllic shopping town of Wadebridge, and the British Surfing capital of Newquay, we provide the ideal location for any holiday agenda. Offering both Short Breaks and Weekly stays in our luxury 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedroom Self-catering Lodges both family holidays and romantic getaways are just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Retallack Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retallack Hotel St Columb Major
Retallack Hotel Cornwall
Retallack Resort And Spa Cornwall/St Columb Major

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing