We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retallack Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Retallack Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Retallack Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, I found the place relaxing and comforting, I visited late July time which was the right time to come. The main advantage of the resort was the fantastic flow rider which I thoroughly enjoyed. The lodge itself had extremely comfortable beds and was clean, tidy and comfortable, despite the noisy floor boards. The location of the resort was fantastic as it was a short drive away from many attractions such as the Eden project and locations such as Padstow. One disadvantage was the 'Green Room' restaurant, unfortunately I didn't eat here as the menu didn't seem very appealing to me, I think as the resort has many families, the restaurant should offer a larger range of meals that younger people would enjoy. Overall I would say that Retallack resort was very good, it was a relaxing break.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank F10e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest. Thankyou very much for your review and we are delighted you found your lodge to be very clean and comfortable and that the resort was very well located for exploring North Cornwall. You obviously had a great time on the Flow rider ! I am sorry you didn't choose to dine at the Green Room during your stay - the Restaurant does a good choice of meals and lighter meals depending on whether it is lunch or dinner and offers a wonderful children's menu. Since your visit Retallack has opened a Pizza Oven offering pizza takeaways or pizzas that can be enjoyed in the lounge or overlooking the Flowrider. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    302
    119
    43
    36
See reviews for
492
201
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Accommodation is of a very high standard, we'll maintained and fitted out. Service of the properties could be better at spotting broken light bulbs and I'll fitting bath plugs etc.

Central services are less impressive and even less well serviced. Staff lack experience and empathy though may show enthusiasm.

A good location for north Cornwall sightseeing..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelmoongazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest . Thankyou for your review and we are delighted you found your lodge to be of a very good standard and well equipped though we are sorry that we had missed a bulb not working and that you had an ill fitting plug - we have asked housekeeping to keep a better eye on these and only wished we had known so that we could have dealt with this for you. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived home yesterday after a wonderful week with the hubby, 15 year old son and 12 year old daughter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom "Fistral" property. It was immaculately clean and had all the bits and pieces we needed. The pint of milk and the ginger biscuits were a really nice touch and really appreciated! It was wonderful having the 2 ensuite bathrooms and the beds were wonderfully comfortable..... Normally I can't wait to get home to my own bed, but not this time!! The hot tub was glorious and we spent a lot of time in there watching the ducks swimming past!
We didn't use the flow rider, but it looked fun! We used the swimming pool on a number of occasions, usually first thing in the morning when it was quieter. The steam room and sauna were really relaxing. On the last day we had a go on the pitch and putt which was a giggle!
We ate once in the bar-stone baked pizzas which were yummy!
We didn't have much contact with the staff, but the check in lady was lovely and everyone else seemed really friendly and polite!
I definately think we will return! This is the first year in ages we haven't been abroad due to my daughter developing a phobia of flying, so it was important we had a bit of luxury to compensate!! The area has lots to do, lovely beaches and activities..... obviously you can't guarantee the weather, but who cares? Cornwall is wonderful and so is Retallack!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Fistral" 2 bedroom house. This was situated overhanging the lake and was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz8steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guests. Thankyou very much for your wonderful review following your holiday at Retallack Resort with your family. You obviously had a very special time and enjoyed all that Retallack has to offer and we are delighted you found your lodge to be so clean and luxurious. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

First time visit to the ratallack resort, overall the theme is great but the cleanliness of the lodge was disappointing, there were excessive cobb webs in the stair way velux and many of the corners of the walls and windows, the downstairs wash room had mould/mildew in the shower area. The corners of rooms were dusty and dirty in some corners where furniture were situated. Curtains were not hung on the rails properly, upstairs sink poor drainage. The cleaners need to slow down and take more time to detail, corners etc. a few minutes more spent and I would of never felt the need to write this review.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Guest - thankyou very much for your review and though we expect a very high standard of cleaning it is apparent that your lodge was not upto our high standards. We of course wish you had let us know on check in so that we could have rectified this and been able to apologise in person to you. I do hope you will return and hope that we can show you our usual high standards. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just got home after a week away with 3 under 5s and the grandparents. I didn't even know whereabouts in Cornwall we were going to as my wife and her mother booked it and I was just an innocent passenger on a mystery tour. On arrival I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a fantastic week and wanted to stay longer. The facilities were great and the staff exceptionally helpful. The food on site was consistently excellent whether we ate snacks, tapas, curry or went for the fine dining. But book the restaurant well in advance to avoid disappointment . My 4 & 5 year olds loved the kids club. Niggles? And they are just niggles as we're already planning to come back soon. The accommodation equipment could do with being checked more thoroughly between guest parties as the dishwasher was poor so we had to hand wash a lot of crockery, the washing machine didn't work, the kitchen knives blunt and we couldn't get the TVs to work except one DVD player. But none of this mattered and I only hope my comments help make a superb holiday destination faultless. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NineLivesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for your review following your holiday and we are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised upon arrival and that you found your lodge, staff, restaurant and other facilities to be excellent. We of course wish you had let us know about your dishwasher and tv not working properly so that we could have fixed them for you and of course will now try to locate the lodge and make the necessary checks on these to ensure they are working efficiently. We are so pleased that you cant wait to come back and we will look forward to welcoming you. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Another brilliant holiday - we have found Retallack to be a perfect spot whenever we stay in Cornwall- convenient for whatever we choose to do and if we decide to 'stay in' then what more perfect a place, than a gorgeous and comfortable timber lodge! The lodges we have stayed in have always been well-equipped, clean, hugely comfy (day and night!) and stylishly decorated - we have stayed in different areas of the resort and enjoyed them all - this time we were in a beautiful Lodge at the top of the resort. We try to have a few days (or part-days) where we stay on site, as we really enjoy a session on the FlowRider, playing tennis or a game of pitch and putt, having a swim and just relaxing 'at home'! - We finally got organised this trip and made good use of the fishing lake - it's so peaceful - plenty of tench, bream, roach and we even caught a couple of pike - a quick photo and then released. One fish after another! A great introduction to fishing for my son. Also treated ourselves to a hot tub this time - which was very much enjoyed (a must for next time!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AS54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thankyou for your review and we are so pleased to hear that you have stayed with us many of times and that you always have a wonderful lodge and a fantastic holiday. We are delighted to hear that this time you tried the fishing lakes and that you caught many different fish too! Thankyou very much and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Retallack was a real gamble for us. We had six children all of different ages, we had never met anyone who had been there before and we only had Trip Advisor and the web site to go by for info. On the up side the accommodation was very comfortable, the view of the lake lovely, with a constant stream of ducks, swans and geese passing by. The children fished most days from the balcony. There were two large televisions and other smaller ones in the bedrooms, making it an ideal place to visit, should there be bad weather. The staff were extremely helpful and kind. I would also highly recommend the tasting menu at The Green Room on Thursday nights - one of the best meals I have had in recent times. The hot tub was a massive success and created many happy times especially in the early evening. The location was amazing too, very close to Padstow and Wadebridge and endless beaches. Small, minor things to mention. The dish washer was appalling and I spent my entire life rewashing all the plates. The knives needed sharpening and were all blunt, there is no cleaning service for the entire week, which was not a problem but for those used to five star, this may come as a shock. But these are small points and overall this was a highly satisfactory place to stay, comfortable and pleasant, with an excellent staff, always on hand to help.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the lake apartment - Fistral - hot tub and fishing with lovely lake full or wildlif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyJason2010, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thankyou very much for your review and we are so pleased to hear that Retallack resort worked out very well for your family's requirements and that you very much enjoyed the tasting menu in The Green Room Restaurant. I am sorry that your knives were blunt and that the dishwasher was not working effectively and we will make sure that these issues are dealt with by maintenance and of course had you let us know during your stay we would have done this for you immediately. We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Columb Major
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
9.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retallack Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retallack Resort and Spa

Property: Retallack Resort and Spa
Address: Winnards Perch, St Columb Major TR9 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Columb Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in St Columb Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Retallack Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the picturesque fishing village of Padstow, the idyllic shopping town of Wadebridge, and the British Surfing capital of Newquay, we provide the ideal location for any holiday agenda. Offering both Short Breaks and Weekly stays in our luxury 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 bedroom Self-catering Lodges both family holidays and romantic getaways are just a click away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retallack Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retallack Hotel St Columb Major
Retallack Hotel Cornwall
Retallack Resort And Spa Cornwall/St Columb Major

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing