We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best visit ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosehill Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porthtowan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosehill Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best visit ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Rosehill Lodges is one of the few places that delivers what it promises! We have stayed here for many years - and keep coming back because of the wonderful customer service and very clean lodges. It feels like you have come to stay at a new build every time! The site is very small and ensures lovely peace and quiet. The owners are keen to keep up ecological standards but this does not impinge on luxury! Surrounded by trees and greenery - each lodge has its own hot tub - and being under glass it is perfect for the changing weather conditions ( not needed this time as we have had 7 days of glorious weather!) - The lodges are perfectly placed in Porthtowan - so you can get to most of Cornwall and its wonderful beaches really easily! The Blue Bar is a great place to watch the sunset and is a five minute walk down the road - I have yet to try the tidal pool on Porthtowan beach - but will do so at our next visit! Can't recommend this place enough - and I am very picky! Have slept solidly every night since we have been here too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper11134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Once again i am happy to thank you for another great review. We enjoy a huge amount of repeat business. It currently runs at around 25%. This is very reassuring. We only have ten lodges but it means that if we are full then at least 2-3 lodges have guests who have stayed with us before. Sorry you did not get swim in the tidal pool down at the beach. It is an amazing experience and the pool featured a few years ago in Robson Greens "extreme swimming" series on the tv. Anyway, Blue bar and sunsets over the beach, wow, sounds like you had another fantastic holiday. All the best and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for a week in May as part of our 25th wedding anniversary I would describe the site, facilities and the staff to be first class. it really is a wonderful relaxing environment with the eco lodges smack bang in the middle of woods and wildlife. A private Hot Tub and log burner were the icing on the cake! We have no complaints whatsoever and would without hesitation stay again. The only thing we would flag up is that with the loges eco credentials, it would have been just perfect had the tap water not been tap water but was in fact spring water, however, please be advised that this is not a criticism but more an observation geared to what we would have preferred ourselves.

We would highly recommend Rosehill Lodges to anyone seeking relaxation in a beautiful environment and in addition requiring a location that allows easy access to further explore wonderful Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
"Great place to unwind". Thats what a holiday or a short break is all about. Thank you very much for your review we and are pleased you found eveything just great for your 25th Anniversary. We are certainly fortunate with our environment. As you mention the trees and wildlife that surround the lodges are pretty amazing. Pleased you liked the log burner and the hot tub being the "icing on the cake". Thank you for recommending us to people seeking "relaxation in a peaceful environment". I think it must be time for a snooze. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rosehill. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the beginning of May so is obviously cheaper than peak season. In our opinion the stay was worth every penny and loved the stay. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and there if needed. They respect your privacy, clean the hot tub once a day but advise when they should come. Keeping the water in tip top quality.
The lodges themselves are stunning! Full of innovative Eco features which is great. Fixtures and fittings are beautiful and top quality. The log burner is brilliant and relaxing. We was in the hot tub for 6 out of the 7 nights.
I could go on and on.........
Thank you to the staff for a wonderful break, see you again soon!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bamforma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review. Another great endorsement from a senior reviewer. This is really appreciated and i will, as i do with all reviews pass this on to our wonderful staff. Yes, its really important to ensure the Hot Tubs are kept in tip top condition. Just to mention to anyone reading this review. We change the water in the hot tub in between every guest arrival. So even if someone has only stayed for a 3 day short break, the water gets changed prior to the next guest. This does mean that on your arrival day the water may not have managed to heat up to the 35 deg C that we set it to on day one.Really pleased that you intend to return. You will be very welcome. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had a perfect short break at Rosehill, excellent customer service and 5* accomodation, beautiful cabin in a beautiful location, close to the beach and local bar. Everything was high quality and the owners clearly take a lot of pride in the cabins and have thought of lots of little details and extras that were really appreciated. We had the best weekend ever and made happy memories, we will defintely recommend Rosehill and will be looking to stay again. Emily P

Room Tip: All the cabins are equally luxurious and high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
"Perfect in every way". Wow! Thank you so much for your endorsement and for recommending us. This is so appreciated. Customer service is really important and key to ensuring our guests have a wonderfull time on holiday. Its the little attention to detail things that can make all the difference. Pleased you found everything great and this has left you with some really happy memories. We look forward to seeing you again. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home after a lovely week at Rosehill. We were shown round the lodge on arrival by John which was very useful. They are fully equipped and located in what we consider to be an ideal location just minutes from the sea. Perfect

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank madgreek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Big thanks for your five star review. Really pleased you had a fantastic time. The photos you took look brilliant and says it all. Looks like you are having fun in the hot tub. Glad you found the initial show around useful. We have found that our guests really appreciate a quick intro as to the workings of the lodge. Thank you again for giving us such a brilliant "perfect" endorsement and we look forward to seeing you all again. Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in our comfortable & extremely well equipped lodge. We were a group of 5 ladies & because you can have single or double beds in all the rooms it was perfect for us. Spotlessly clean, quality bed linen, loads of crockery supplied & they even have sharp knives for cooking (or slicing lemon for a G&T). We loved the hot tub & used it every day! They were even kind enough to supply champagne flutes especially for us. The log burner is lovely with loads of wood supplied. We loved it & will return. Thank you Rosehill.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Many thanks for your "fabulous" review. Being a senior contributor to Trip Advisor your great comments are really appreciated. You mentioned the flexibility on bed configurations. We are happy to make the beds as either super king size doubles or singles to suit our guests personal requirements. Thank you for mentioning the quality of the linen. Maintaining this quality ensures that we constantly, year on year for the past 9 years, are awarded the Gold Award to go with our Five Stars. Receiving this recognition from our guests is very important to us. Really pleased you loved the hot tub and the free logs for the log burner, not to mention the sharp knives for cutting the lemon for the G+T,s.Thank you very much for your recommendation and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Rosehill. Best wishes from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My 85 yr old disabled Mum was having a new bathroom fitted and we decided to go away for a week whilst the work was being carried out.I carried out extensive research to find somewhere appropriate for my Mum's needs - she has very limited mobility and found Rosehill Lodges! Absolutely wonderful! Everything we could have hoped for and more! Mobility aids were kindly provided for Mum in her luxury bathroom, plenty of room to move around, privacy in a beautiful location and an utterly relaxing time for us all!

I am desperate to return, this time with my husband for a romantic break particularly in the magnificent hot tubs! Would I recommend Rosehill? You bet!
Perfect! Even for those who are not so able bodied

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastallodges, Owner at Rosehill Lodges, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a great review. So pleased your Mum enjoyed herself and found the disability aids useful. Relaxation is what its all about and holidays are the time to unwind and re-charge the batteries. Really pleased that you are thinking of a return visit for a romantic break, you will be most welcome. Hope when you returned home that you found your Mum,s bathroom had all been fitted out and complete and looking lovely. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Wishes from all the team at Rosehill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthtowan
11.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
10.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
10.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
9 Beach Road B&B
9 Beach Road B&B
#1 of 2 in Porthtowan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.4 mi away
Leycroft Valley Holidays
Leycroft Valley Holidays
#1 of 8 in Perranporth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill Lodges

Property: Rosehill Lodges
Address: Porthtowan TR4 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Porthtowan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Porthtowan
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosehill Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance space and room to breathe. Five Star Graded, luxury lodges in a superb coastal village location. Set in a small wooded valley, Rosehill really is your exclusive beach retreat. The coastal village of Porthtowan with its Blue Flag sandy beach and pubs are just a short five minute walk from your Lodge. Whether for a short break or your main holiday we believe we offer the perfect choice for your luxury holiday in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosehill Hotel Porthtowan
Rosehill Lodges Porthtowan, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing