We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porthtowan Backpackers
Llanwddyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with a mate on the pretence of learning to surf... I still cant surf!!.. The backpackers is an amazing little place to stay, very welcoming, excellent breakfast and couldnt be more helpful and accommodating.. The hostel itself has a lovely sun deck which has views of the sea and is a 1 minute walk from the very beautiful beach.. a truly amazing place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We marvelously stayed in the hostel for four days and the owner Steve and Jane were so kind. Steve welcomed us as a father and the atmosphere was really friendly. The kitchen is the place where all the backpackers have the opportunity to share their thoughts and listen to Steve who is more than a Cornwall guide. We appreciated the possibility to read the newspaper in the morning. The breakfast was included - yoghurt, bread, butter, jam, cornflakes, milk, coffee. Everything was perfect. The room was nice, we had an en suite on the first floor. The building looks very comfortable because looks more like a home than an hostel. Steve was very helpful. You can see in his eyes the love for the place that he created. Without Steve and Jane the hostel would not be the same, Nicolo and Giulia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyGiuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stetson1942, Owner at Porthtowan Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thanks for you review, we try to make it a homely atmosphere, so that Guests may hopefully be able to relax and enjoy the surroundings. we appreciate any comments either -ve or +ve as we want all Guests to be able to "chill out" and return to this beautiful but rugged part of Cornwall, which has one of the best surfing beaches in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The first thing the 5 of us remember is seeing the absolutely stunning scenery this hostel is located in!. The hostel it's self is mega! Very friendly people relaxed atmosphere and everything on hand! Clean and tidy! Will be using again!.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Porthtowan backpackers just for one night, but if I could I would stay much longer. Steve, the owner was very helpful in showing us around the house and finding out where to borrow surfing kit. The house itself was very clean and it had a rooftop terrace with an amazing view of the sea.
Porthotowan is a tiny town with 1 pub and 1 bar, though, so make sure that you arrive early enough for them to still serve some food. Do not expect crazy party, but you'll get good drinks and music in both bar and pub.
It's a great place for surfing beginners. Waves aren't too rough, so you can even stand up on the board :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Redruth train station well past midnight, and Steve was actually waiting there to pick us up -- almost too friendly! I felt very welcome at the hostel. The kitchen on the ground floor was clean and cheerful, with fun beach themed decorations and plants. We stayed in a room with a bunk bed and private bathroom -- the bed was comfortable and had clean sheets and the bathroom was clean, although the shower didn't have the greatest pressure (due to being eco-friendly, I believe). The smell of fresh coffee woke me up in the morning. The place is very close to the beach, which is hugged between dramatic cliffs and a few miles away from neighboring villages. Great surfer hippie feel to the 'village', which consists of an off license, chippie, and a couple of pubs (perfectly decent food and booze).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmaPoodle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were looking for a low cost, short stay rental with room for 4 female friends and this was ideal.
The hostel offers a lovely informal stay for those on a budget.
We booked the 4 bedroom dorm with ensuite bathroom. The owner, Steve kindly put us into the 6 bed dorm as it was available which gave us a bit more room.
We loved the location about 200 metres from the beach. It also had a small chill out/TV lounge with guitar, use of a kitchen and a sun terrace with a sea view. We even had a very nice continental breakfast for the price.
We thought it was very good value for money in a quiet area with a blue flag beach. It was a great base for exploring the north of Cornwall.
If you are looking for an affordable short stay in Cornwall I would reccommend this hostel.
We would definately stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I will start by noting anyone who gives this place a bad review should arrive in a limo not like the outside and tell Jeeves to drive to the nearest Hilton and don"t spare the horses.
My wife and 2 children spent the weekend here, and i stayed on for a following week by my self in the front room of the hostel, room 2 to be exact, it had 3 bunk beds en suite loo and shower and lots of light in the room, a shared lounge massive flat screen Tv, lots of DVD's plenty of room and a spare bunk in the lounge, for the odd party overflow, the is a kitchen in the back and a sun terrace out back for barbeque's.
the breakfast was supplied but we didn't bother as we were up to early 7ish to go out surfing/body boarding, the also rent suits boards and fins if needed for very inexpensive prices, the owner steve and his lovely wife were one of the most hospitable people i have ever met and were so accomodating, even with the 2 kids wound up by all the fresh air, or was it the candy/ pop diet we feed them on holiday.
the local area has everything you need for a great holiday or a short stop over, for long stays over you may need lots of sun, but there are buses that run to bigger towns.

will be back there for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitz6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Porthtowan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porthtowan Backpackers

Property: Porthtowan Backpackers
Address: Seamyst Beach Road | Porthtowan.truro, Cornwall, Porthtowan TR4 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Porthtowan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Porthtowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porthtowan Backpackers closes its doors on 15th sept 2014, This is due to retirement, and would like to thank all our Guests for staying with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Porthtowan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthtowan Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing