We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mortreth

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

969kate
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our second stay at Mortreth Cottage! The cottage is 5 minutes from the beach and is very well-equipped, warm, clean & cosy. There are outside sitting areas at the front & back, so you can sit in the sun. Everything you need in the kitchen & loads of books, videos and games. And there's wifi - important for Cornwall! Beautiful walks from the cottage, great surfing beach, two pubs and a village shop. Perfect!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Stonehouse
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Family Holiday!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Mortreth Cottage over the school half term week. Mark Foster's friendly and efficient way in handling the booking, keeping us posted at all times and sending directions set the scene for a great holiday. We took our Daughter and Grandaughter (aged 15) as well as our Son and his Girlfriend (both in their twenties) and all agreed that it was an excellent week in Cornwall.
The cottage is really well equipped, clean and spacious with excellent bedrooms so that we all felt that we had our own space and great living space for eating, playing the numerous games that were there and watching TV/DVD's from time to time. The view from the balcony over the sea is lovely with the sitting area at the front being great for a sunny morning breakfast.
Porthtowan and the surrounding area is lovely with easy access to the South West Coastal Path for great walks in "Poldark Country". We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed exploring a little further afield to the Eden Project which is unmissable!
Mortreth is a very short stroll from the beach, the local shop, the Unicorn Inn and the Blue Bar. Supermarkets are a short car ride away.
We found on site parking for out two cars to be very helpful.
Since we have been back, everyone has said how much they enjoyed our stay and are missing being in Cornwall!
I have rated the property as suitable for people with disabilities. The ground floor bedrooms, living room and bathroom would certainly be helful in this respect. My one concern is that there are a few steps down to the cottage from the parking area. However the parking is onsite

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was an away from it all break for all the family
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A holiday home with everything you need in a good location.”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week in Mortreth Cottage. The cottage is in a quiet residential position close to the beach. It has everything provided for an enjoyable holiday. It has the sun all day, starting at the front of the property in the mornings and moving around to the back balcony in the afternoons. It is also very conveniently positioned for visiting anywhere in Cornwall. Although there are steps to negotiate to get to the property our disabled son managed,with a little support ,to get up and down them. We hope to stay there again next year.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lyn432015
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a great stay, the cottage has everything you need and the village is lovely. Based central for all the sights in Cornwall. Ideal for surfing and walikng, had a great stay. Group age ranged from 43 to 94 and we all enjoyed it.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in mortreth for a week. We were a walking group, doing sections of the nearby South West Coast path. The cottage was a perfect location for that. We could walk to the path, as well as driving to other sections that we wanted to do.

Before we got to the cottage, Mark, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. The booking process was easy, and any question I asked he responded to quickly, and was really helpful with additional information.

The cottage looks small from the outside, but is quite spacious. Two of the bedrooms are on the ground floor, with a larger en suite upstairs. The twin room might be more suitable for kids, as our two adults found it a little small for them, with limited storage in that room.
I would say it is an ideal base for walkers, a family or surfers. There is a useful outside laundry room, which was great for storing muddy boots, drying raincoats etc. There are two lovely outside areas. Unfortunately our weather wasn't warm enough for sitting outside. We did see some beautiful sunsets, however. Porthowan is a lovely, small cove. A good beach bar is within easy walking distance, as is the beach. We actually ate in quite a few nights and the kitchen was well equipped for that.
All in all, I would highly recommend the cottage.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful sunsets.
Liked least: My two friends in the twin room thought the room was more suitable for kids.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a week in Mortreth with husband and (for a couple of days) friends who live in Cornwall and spent some time with us. Loved everything about it - the cottage, the location, facilities, accessibility - even the weather was perfect 6 days out of 7! Mark has been very helpful before and after our stay. Husband has recently been in hospital and we both needed a good rest - Mortreth provided it. Cottage was well equipped, with lots of books, DVDs etc., etc. It was also very close to the beach and had a lovely view from the balcony of the sea and some spectacular sunsets! Parking was easy (with a choice of spaces behind and in front of the cottage). Bathrooms were lovely and there were two loos! Mobile signal was poor, but there was a landline for emergency and incoming calls, which provided peace of mind, as well as very good free WiFi. We particularly liked the late check-in and checkout times (many people travelling to Cornwall wouldn't arrive till late in the day anyway and 2.30 was so much more "civilised" than scurrying around to be out by 10!). Loved the little garden and sunshine at the front in the morning and back later in the day (when we could watch the sun go down from the balcony). Also particularly enjoyed visiting St Agnes! Wheelchair users might struggle, but older people and those with limited mobility (i.e. my husband) are well catered for. Likewise, children would enjoy (and are well catered for) - the balcony is well enclosed. Plenty of room, even when there were 4 of us. Only wish it wasn't so far away but are hoping to return next year - "ticked all the boxes" for us! Thank you Mark!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, decor, etc., early checkout
Liked least: Chip shop closed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.