We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly located home from home”

Review of The Palms

Sunny Patio with view to beach and sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Patio with view to beach and sea
Private patio area has plenty of seating Your own private barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sunny Patio with view to beach and sea
Private patio area has plenty of seating
Your own private barbecue
Patio is a real sun trap protected from wind
Comfortable lounge with leather Sofa
Patio doors lead out to the patio - the dining area has a folding table which extends to seat 6
Lounge with plenty of seating
Smart kitchen with views to beach and sea
Open plan Lounge/kitchen with TV/DVD and i pod dock
Fully fitted kitchen with washing machine microwave and integrated fridge/freezer
New Bathroom for 2013
Electric shower
Comfortable double bedroom
Double room
Cosy Bunk Room perfect for children or small adults
view to sea from patio
One of many of Porthtowan's famous and memorable sunsets
Porthtowans Blue Flag beach
Porthtowans beautiful beach - cant help but take great photos!
Cosy Bunk Room
Double bedroom
Kitchen
Comfortable double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyjanec
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly located home from home”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two small boys stayed at The Palms for a week this summer. We loved the flat and the location so much we really didn't want to come home!
The flat was perfect for our small family. Spotlessly clean throughout. Plenty of space in the living area, and lovely to open the patio doors and let the outside in. The kitchen had everything we needed, the oven was very efficient and the washing machine got lots of use. The bedrooms were cosy, with comfy beds and plenty of storage. The bathroom was spotless and the shower really lovely and powerful.
The location really can't be beaten. Neighbours were friendly and we loved the little town of Porthtowan. The beach is very pretty, plenty of space to spread out, even in high summer. And it really does only take about two minutes on foot to get there. The wild swimming pool is really worth finding when the tide is out. Sunsets over the bay are spectacular on a clear evening! There are several places to eat in town all of which are good, and most basics can be purchased in the village store. We loved the cliff walks, and found the beach at Chapelporth was stunning and well worth a visit.
We would highly recommend this place and are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElDaja
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Palms was a superb choice for our weeks holiday in Porthtowan.
Caroline was extremely helpful and very well organised despite making our booking at relatively short notice.
The apartment is less than a minute walk to a beautiful beach and the famous Blue Bar, a well stocked village shop and fish and chip shop.
Everything we could have ever needed was right there in the apartment! Sandwich bags and ice packs for our picnic, windbreak for the beach and buckets and spades (we forgot our own)!
Most important things I want to mention for people staying in the future:
The bed and pillows are very comfortable.
Very clean and tidy throughout.
Deposit was returned promptly.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday accomadation”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our first time in Cornwall, and how lucky we were to find 'The Palms' holiday let, Caroline was so very helpful organising our stay at the accommodation, her site gave a full description of all the amenities within the flat, no need to pack hair dryer, iron etc within our cases, so more room for extra shoes,clothes etc.
A wonderful surprise on arriving, a beautifully clean and well equipped holiday home, with toys for the children, DVD's, books for the holiday maker wanting to just relax on the lovely patio, PLUS a file full of information on the local sites to see.( Ideal when you don't know the area)
it was so lovely getting up in the morning, sitting on the patio with the sea in the back ground, what more could any one want.
The flat was very close to the beach, shops, pub and Blue bar which served excellent meals

I would definitely recommend a stay at 'The Palms' in porthtowen to any holiday makers and will be booking again later on in the year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUSAN D
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“I will definitely return!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely place to stay. The apartment was spotless, modern, comfortable and thoughtfully well equipped. The location is ideal, being so close to a beautiful beach with lovely coastal walks. It is such a relaxing area to stay but with lots to do if you want to venture a little further afar. I can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of cleanliness and decoration
Liked least: too short a stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon2u
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Not sure if I should share this precious little secret in case we can't get booked next time! My wife and I have now spent our third year at The Palms for a relaxing week. The apartment just gets better. Nicely decorated, comfortably furnished, well equipped and a great location. Stay local or wander further afield, the Palms has an ideal location, placed mid-way between Newquay and St Ives, but there are lots of places to visit and things to do in the general area. A surfers paradise, but we just like to sit in the (world renowned) Blue Bar and watch, especially as the sun goes down.
We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of apartment
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurajb65
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment with a sea view”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Palms is a small but perfectly formed apartment in a fantastic location. 2 minutes walk to the beach which is stunning especially at low tide - the rock pools are amazing. Porthtowan is a small unspoilt village, with 2 pubs, a café that is definitely not a greasy spoon and an ice cream parlour. Also has a small convenience store and fish&chips. The Blue Bar, is lovely & lively, great menu, views of the bay and has wifi! The standard of The Palms is very good, nice new fitted kitchen and bathroom. I loved sitting on the patio eating hearing and seeing the sea. Porthtowan is in a great location for visiting a lot of Cornwall. We went as far west as Lands end & east Eden project - both under an hour. Can't recommend this property enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & spotlessly clean
Liked least: No wifi or mobile signal - the owner is thinking of installing wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in April 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing