We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Practically perfect in every way !!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wheal Bush Annex

The Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Property
The spacious modern interior Relaxing bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Property
The spacious modern interior
Relaxing bedroom
Enjoy an evening drink in the sun on the raised terrace
bedroom
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Spacious accommodation
Lovely living room looking out onto the garden
Private entrance
A glorious property all year round
Large secluded garden
Porthtowan beach
The Eden Project is within a 30 minute Drive
One of the historic engine Houses near Chapel Porth
View from Chapel Porth towards St Ives
Alfresco dining at the nearby Blue Bar
Bluebells in May in the woods next to the property
Porthtowan beach view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porthtowan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris H
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way !!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Well what can we say about this place? Simple really. It is gorgeous, it is set in a rural environment surrounded by fields and lovely countryside, what more do you need on your doorstep. The accommodation is superb, it has everything you need for a perfect Cornish retreat, and the home made scones on arrival were a very nice welcoming.

There is a great walk through the woods, which Doug our spaniel loved, and his new best friend Dave the whippet often tagged along, you will meet and you will love him. The hosts Mark & Karen are fantastic, they will point you in the right direction for everything, and all there is to see is just a short drive away.

In a nutshell this is a superb getaway for couples, the added advantage is you can bring your pooch. Book it and try it, you will not be disappointed...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable property and privacy
Liked least: TV reception not very good but could have been weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage was very well decorated and very clean.
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mattsmeed
2 reviews
“A great holiday retreat to explore Cornwall with home comforts.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had such a fantastic holiday at Wheal Bush Annexe. The cottage was in a perfect locaton for exploring all of Cornwall. We travelled only short distances to get to some beautiful places and we were lucky enough to have such good weather. The cottage was very easily found and the clotted cream tea on arrival was delicious and definitely well needed!! There was plenty of useful information in the cottage to help us find exactly what we needed depending on what we wanted to do that week. Both you and Mark were very friendly and we felt very at ease to come and ask any questions that we had and to ask for advise about beaches!!! The cottage was lovely, we had everything we could want to cook some good meals and the view onto the garden made us feel like we were completely away from it all. A perfect place to enjoy some good food, wine and of course the Olympics on TV!! It was very comfortable and we would definitely recommend this holiday cottage to anyone wanting a counrty retreat to relax and see all that Cornwall has to offer. Many thanks again for a wonderful holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts and the peaceful location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
Reviewed 15 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify - the bed in the property is a standard 4 ft 6 double however we had a look at the mattress in the property and thought that it looked a bit tierd so we have bought a new pocket sprung matress today !! We hope that when you come to stay again you find it better and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thanks again & we all look forward to seeing you ( especially Dave!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;