We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a cottage...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanivet, Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caluna-gl
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage...”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great place... Very central for exploring Cornwall (it is in the centre of Cornwall - officially!), good wee shop in the village and a great dog-friendly pub (Lanivet Inn).
The cottage was warm and welcoming, with tea, coffee & cake waiting for us when we arrived. Rules for dogs were very civilised (essentially: be responsible) and there was lots of advice available for where dogs could visit - very handy, especially the maps of beaches where they could or could not go.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we go back to Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsLupa
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage 5* with no expense spared!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were greeted by Mrs Thomas who gave us and our very tired but excited pooch an enthusiastic hello. We were then shown round the cottage and given a run down on how things worked. The kitchen was set up with cups, tea, coffee, sugar milk and a scrummy cake which was very welcome after a long journey. There were fresh flowers in the lounge and the cottage was spotless and really lovely. When I asked if there were any rules for our doggy travelling companion she said basically to be responsible (pick up poo keep muddy paws off the furniture, which any responsible dog owner would agree is normal) but mostly to relax and enjoy which was music to our ears. Our pooch loved the good sized garden to run around in and snuggling up in the lounge. There was even a large dog crate to use if we needed! The village is in Central Cornwall and so not in the holiday hot spots but all are within easy reach by car in about 20 mins, which is great because nowhere is too far away. There is a good sized asda about 5 miles away. There is also a fab folder of things to do with info on doggy friendly beaches, walks and activities which we used to plan our time there. We had an amazing time and Mrs Thomas was there to chat or answer questions as necessary, nothing was too much trouble. It really was the most amazing cottage and wonderful holiday, thanks Mrs Thomas and we will be back next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkCatsw...
York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, great introduction to Cornwall”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Vernon's Retreat is in the Village of Lanivet, on the outskirts of Bodmin. If you like all of your amenities quite central and near at hand, this cottage would not be right for you. As a family we like to stay in places that are not obviously touristy, using the accommodation as a base. The cottage is great for that. Mrs Thomas the hostess welcomed us with a firm handshake, along with a gentleman who helps to maintain the cottage and two cakes which ere well received.
In terms of my family's experiences of the cottage we found it to be clean, cosy, spotless and it had a great deal of charm. There were no doggy smells as a previous review had suggested. all of the cutlery,it's pans, cleaning equipment, rubbish bags etc were there. mrs Thomas lives next door but is not intrusive, but is happy to help if needed. A visitor's book, has many positive comments from people who have visited from Europe, primarily and the UK. We have had a brilliant week there. My 6 year old experienced surfing for the first time, we went to the Eden Project and I visited the Tate St Ives along with a wonderful Victorian mansion house Landyhock. I am a member of the National Trust and English Heritage. I missed out of the Hidden Gardens of Heligan but will visit the next time I'm down. Cornwall is beautiful and as a first time visitor I loved the place. Mrs Thomas's cottage played it's part in our outstanding holiday. a word of caution, the steps are steep small children need to be supervised. Adults with mobility difficulties might struggle. Sharp knives are suitably sheathed, and the water is very hot, supervise children at all times. Other than that have a wonderful time in a magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent bed, charming cottage, very cosy all of the things you might need there.
Liked least: Variables but overall good weather despite dire predictions but that's the UK you
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaz F
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vernons retreat”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Lovely cottage, nice owner, good location. BUT the cottage experience spoilt by the overwhelming smell of dog.
As a dog lover and former owner,despite having a dog for the last 13yrs the smell was overpowering. Carpets need cleaning to eliminate odour.
More noticeable after being out of the cottage then returning.
Brought our friends with us and they commented on the doggy odour as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing