We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Tinney Farm Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We are just coming to the end of a terrific week at St Tinney Farm. I think it is fair to say that this is one of the best places we have ever stayed in the UK.

We arrived after a very long journey (nearly ten hours from North West England) and were 'late' in that reception was closed. We phoned when we knew how delayed we were going to be and were told where we could get our keys from.

We had opted for a valley cottage, and it was just great. Very well equipped kitchen (including a dishwasher and tablets), comfortable living room with a huge TV - we have a very old set at home so this really was a novelty for us! - ipod dock, DVD player and Freesat box, two good bedrooms, lovely new bathroom and additional toilet. Outside we could enjoy the stunning views as we ate outside at the picnic table at our front door. Electricity/gas, although we've had to pay, hasn't proved too expensive at all.

Although we spent a fair bit of time here in the pool (heated and incredibly clean) and at the playground which our children loved, St Tinney has been an excellent base for exploring northern Cornwall. We enjoyed spending time at a variety of beaches (Crackington Haven: good for rock pooling; Widmouth; Sandymouth: glorious. It's National Trust but parking is only £3), pottering around Boscastle and in particular cycling the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow. We also visited Bude on a rainy day and went to Splash indoor pool. Expensive but good fun.

We've had such a good holiday here and our children just do not want to go home. I am quite sure we will be back one day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leftthecatathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. It was great to meet such lovely people- I know that you really utilised and enjoyed the facilities thank you for mentioning them all! We do hope to see you again. Kindest regards Simone x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The campsite owners and staff were very friendly. The facilities were kept in good order and very clean. How nice it was to take a warm shower and also to have the shower block properly heated. Good size camping plots too and fabulous fishing lakes that kept my son occupied for hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSivyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and I enjoyed speaking to you about your fishing and trips out and about. We hope to see you both again Kindest regards Simone x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wouldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Well we were welcomed by the friendly owners who walked us to our lodge and showed us around.

The lodge was extremely clean and very cosy the beds were made up and very comfortable and the furniture and appliances were of high quality and towels supplied! Even bin bags, tea towels,foil for the oven, washing up liquid, cleaning spray, broom, Hoover, iron and ironing board was available which for a family with 3 boys under 8 was very useful!

32 acres of unspoilt countryside to walk around which even with a little bit of rain was lovely to do and the boys thoroughly enjoyed the nature trail and seeing the pigs! The view from our lodge in the morning well all day was amazing especially on a day with the sun shining!

Unfortunately because of the time of year the farm pub was not open but it looked very inviting!

Electricity and gas was paid for separately using a card which cost £3 for each card. For us in the winter we spent about £30 for the week which was just right for us as a family of 5 and actually seeing what we were using has made us realise what we use back home!!!

We weren't very far from the nearby beaches Widemouth Bude and Crackinton Haven and the fishing village Boscastle and the historic Tintagel. Supermarkets in launceston and Bude.

The owners provide a list of places to visit with descriptions of each and distance, places to eat out etc which was very useful as we were able to visit a couple of places we had not thought of seeing before.

Overall a fantastic holiday we were all very sad to leave and will be hoping to return again!

Many thanks to the owners of Tinney Farm!

Leanne, Neil and our boys

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morrelltribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to meet your gorgeous family and we are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday. You are such a supermum! I know what its like with 3! Hope to see you all again. x Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We picked Otterham / St Tinney because of it's good reviews and the fact that there was accommodation next to fishing lakes.

There are many amazing walks and beaches near Otterham.
We stayed from Monday - Friday and did the following day trips.
Day 2 Boscastle / Tintagel
Day 3 Bude
Day 4 Port Issac / Padstow / Rock

Quite a lot of hills etc, but my other half and I are mid 20's and quite fit, so bring a pair of wellies and you will be rewarded by some amazing coastlines, picturesque views.


The accommodation itself was brilliant, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger lodge because our original lodge was being refurbished. I later found out there was a refurb every year or so which was brilliant, rest assured that all appliances, space and furniture are of good quality and clean.
The staff were very helpful in advising where to visit and what routes to take to make the most of seeing the Cornish coastline.

Primarily we stayed at St Tinney because there were fishing lakes.
This being the first time either of us had tried float fishing using a waggler rod we were optimistic.
However, we were pleasantly surprised, when after 4 days of fishing we had easily caught over 60-70 fish on 2 lakes. I would advise going on Kingfisher lake as this is stocked well with all sorts of Carp and will provide great entertainment as we spent 2 days there.

Overall a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Lodges have the best view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamRayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for such a fab review and using us as a base for your first fishing holiday. You seemed very natural. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and hope that you will return. Kindest regards Simone x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A great stay in a beautiful location. Pub on site which is always a bonus! Good home cooked meals served in the pub. Games for children provided. Comfortable, friendly and a relaxed atmosphere. Thank you St Tinney.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joeyatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the tranquil friendly feel of St Tinney. Thanks for writing such a great review and it would be lovely to see you again. Kindest regards Simone x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from a week at this beautiful maintained family run farm, stayed in valley lodge which was beyond expectation with everything and more available to ensue your stay is most comfortable.
My partner fished 3 of the 5 lakes and was extremely pleased with his catches and the variety of fish stocked in the lakes. The nature trail was very enjoyable and a must for all who visit.
The on site pub was very pleasant and food was delicious and reasonably priced.
We visited the local beaches the Crakington Haven is the closet at 3 miles a very pretty village mainly pebble beach but well worth a visit ,plenty of sandy beaches close by.
This farm is ideally situated to visit all areas and at the same time remain a tranquil base in which to stay , the owners are all very friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you Amanda for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the tranquillity and that we exceeded your expectations. It means so much to know that customers have enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you again. Kindest regards Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

St. Tinneys has a lovely tranquil feel to it quite unlike most caravan sites.

The accommodation is first class - spotlessly clean and well maintained, and there is a tremendous amount of space between each of the caravans and lodges, with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your holiday.

The family owners make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive and clearly have a great passion for the business, and desire to make your stay as happy as possible. We had a very minor issue with our caravan which was dealt with extremely quickly and effectively.

Our two young daughters enjoyed the on-site adventure playground, as well as the chance to play in the open spaces around the site and explore the various wildlife. We enjoyed the hospitality of the on-site country pub. The swimming pool was clean and (even in early September) pleasingly warm.

We would highly recommend St. Tinneys to those in search of a family holiday experience a cut above the standard offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surrey_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simoneotterham, Owner at St. Tinney Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Passionate we are- holidays are such precious memories as families. It was brilliant to meet you all and we are pleased that the girls enjoyed the open space. Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Hope to see you again. Kindest regards Simone x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterham
4.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Waterside Cornwall
Waterside Cornwall
#2 of 5 in Lanivet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.3 mi away
YHA Boscastle
YHA Boscastle
#2 of 6 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
20.7 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Tinney Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Tinney Farm Holidays

Property: St. Tinney Farm Holidays
Address: St. Tinney Farm, Otterham, Boscastle PL32 9TA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle > Otterham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Otterham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Tinney Farm Holidays 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Tinney Farm is a small family run holiday park located in the tiny peaceful hamlet of Otterham in rural Cornwall. We offer four star self catering lodge accommodation and camping facilities on beautiful 34 acre farm, with superb coarse fishing facilities on five lakes, children's play area and nature trails. Close to the sea and beaches, the dramatic North Cornish coast and picturesque fishing villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and PitchUp so you can book your St. Tinney Farm Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Tinney Farm Holidays Cornwall/Otterham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing