We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Best Ever”
villa from water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa from water
Roof top deck Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
15 reviews
villa from water
Roof top deck
Pool
Our Barrel
penthouse
Penthouse Suite Deck
canal view
pool
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Penthouse master Suite
view from master bdrm in Penthouse
large sliders penthouse on to deck
kitchen
Penthouse bbq/kitchen
Penthouse Suite kitchen
view from second bedroom /penthouse
Penthouse Suite Bath Room
Pelicans on our Ponga
pool
Penthouse Deck
pool and terrace
pool
nearby dolfins
kichen
master bedroom
sunset on the beach
Sunset in Barra
Villa from Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
valdanmal...
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa SantaBarbara in January 2013 for 2 weeks and it was absolutely fantastic!! It was exactly as promised and better. Barry and Barb are the best hosts you could ask for - they are so friendly, welcoming, hospitable, patient and helpful. The suites are all as pictured, they are comfy and clean, have all of the amenities of home and as promised are cleaned while you are there. Outdoor kitchen & bbq's, no need to cook indoors - but you can if you like as the kitchens in the Penthouse and Premiere suite are great. The pool is clean, warm and so inviting when you get back from a day away! The Villa is situated just a short walk from town, and a $5 cab from Melaque where you will find the most beautiful beach for walking and swimming if you feel so inclined. You don't even need to leave the Villa as all goods can be delivered - chicken, seafood and even beer!! You must also try the baked goods delivered at the dock in the mornings at 8 - delicious!! We definitely will be returning and recommend Villa SantaBarbara for your visit to Barra de Navidad

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the whole place is great and is as advertised.
Liked least: no beach at the property, however, a short walk
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1lorena
oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Leave all your cares behind, unwind in peace and tranquillity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the one bedroom end unit for 9 days. Barb and Barry were very accomadating from the minute we arrived. They had some beer and food allready in our fridge to get us started. They even had a bottle of wine for us. It was wonderfull. The condo was very clean, the colors were bright and cherry. We found the end unit to be very private and quiet. We would open up our doors early morning and would just feel all our cares just melt away. We would sit outside on the patio and have our coffee and watch some of the boats go by. Or grab the most wonderful pastries, quiche or bread from the little french pasty guy who came through the canal daily in his boat. . The view of the Grand Bay or mountains was also very nice. Town was only a few blocks away so we would wonder into town then back in the afternoons to lounge at the pool where the breeze was so nice coming off the canal then walk back to town in the evenings. We felt very safe walking back and forth or for a few dollars you could take a water taxi back and forth. The restaurants in town were incredible and Barb and Barry knew exactly where to tell you to eat. The local bus was less than a dollar to take you to the next town or you could rent a taxi for a few dollars. We were even able to rent a car from Cactus rentals just down the street from the villa. There was even a bbq where we cooked some shrimp on one afternoon. I would defiantly stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you Barb and Barry for making us feel so welcome.... And the beds were very comfortable too!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: How welcomed we felt staying there.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chriscal1...
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Santa Barbara.We felt very welcome by Barbara and Barry who provided lots of ideas of what to do while visiting the area.
The accommodations were great! Very comfortable, relaxing ,clean, bright and cheerful.
A great place to relax by the pool and a short walk in to town to many great restaurants.
We borrowed their bicycles to see even more of the area.
The canal location is alive with birds and fishermen going by yet quiet and away from the town.
We loved our stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We really appreciated it. It was
Also a pleasure having you as our guests and would love to have you and your friends come again in the future.
Sincerely
Barb and Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilrdhd
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa de Santa Barbara. Barry and Barb, the owners, were very accomodating and knowledgeable about the goings on in the area. They spoke Spanish as well! The listing description and pictures were accurate; the entire place was beautiful and clean. The day we arrived at the villa we found our fridge held a complimentary dinner and food to tied us over till we could get to a grocery store. We were even provided with wine and beer! How welcoming that was! The location was great. We walked to town, to the beach and the market. If we wished to travel to Melaque, (a nearby town with lots of shopping as well) the public bus picked us up on the main street or you could flag down a cab with ease (inexpensive cab fares!). We experienced great massages done at the poolside under the palyapa. Fresh baked goods were delivered by boat via the local French bakery in the mornings. The afternoons spent at the poolside were glorious as the breeze from the canal kept you at just the right temperature. There was not a day without warm sunshine! At dusk we would saunter into town, sit and enjoy the incredible sunsets and partake in some great restaurants in either Barra de Navidad or Melaque. If we had wanted we could cook at the villa on the outdoor kitchen/BBQ provided, another great alternative. We felt safe and secure throughout our stay. Thank you, Barry and Barb for a lovely experience. Look forward to seein you again! Cheers!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappySail...
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, comfortable, friendly - We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

The setting is wonderful, right on the canal; we could walk into town and to the little marina where we worked on the new-to-us sailboat. Barb and Barry were helpful and welcoming and even had a recommendation for a guy to work on our outboard motor; we enjoyed the outdoor kitchen, spacious palapa and cool pool for those warm afternoons -- and the opportunity to visit with other guests. We'll visit again when we return to our boat.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfortable, friendly place with helpful hosts.
Liked least: No cross ventilation in the studio unit - needed AC at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailorJef...
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Totally delightful! Barry and Barb are the most perfect accommodating hosts! Villa is exactly as described, if not better. Excellent canal front location with an easy walk into town. Safe and the grounds/rooms are well equipped and spotless. A perfect side-trip destination from PV. Highly recommend Villa Santa Barbara if your travel plans take you to Barra. Hope to return again soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The palapa & pool, plus the easy walk to town
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChAmPs936
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to unwind!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

From the moment we stepped onto the property at Villa Santa Barbara we knew we had found heaven. So peaceful, so relaxing, the owners go out of their way to make sure the guests have the utmost comfort. From beautiful flowers in the room, to cold beverages waiting in the fridge for our arrival, along with a full course breakfast prepared by them as well. Villa Santa Barbara is clean, cozy and relaxing, with all the beautiful birds signing their songs every morning, we slept til minimum 9:30am for the duration of our vacation. This Villa is close to town and the beach, but is in a very safe and secure area. We totally recommend this Villa ~ Enjoy your stay!!!!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Peace & Serenity along with the Hosts
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing