We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Barra de Navidad, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After my third visit in the last week I had to share my experience here.The food and service is consistently excellent.The atmosphere something to experience Gaby is a world class Chef and the staff professional and friendly .The music on Mondays and Thursdays is first class but either reserve a table or get there early as the place fills up.
I can't say enough about the incredible view and relaxed feeling you get sitting there watching the sunset and sipping a glass of very good house wine and listening to the Chido Rivera Band.Makes me want to go back again and again.Thanks to Gaby and all the staff for making every visit one to remember

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank slocano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaque, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food/excellent staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

my husband and I are frequent diners here and have always been more than satisfied with the quality and presentation of the food and responsiveness of the staff. I would highly recommend this jewel of a restaurant

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susansj1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewiacke, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great time great food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Vainilla Pimienta is one of the newer venues in Barra, the hotel it is based in is still under construction. We went as a group of 10 for dinner and to hear the band. We also planned our meal to be able to watch the sunset. The food was great and the band and ambiance was outstanding. Chidos Band was playing. They were great on their own but they also had friends in the audience who added to the sound. Check out Vainilla Pimeinta for the food, but if you get the chance do it on the night when the band is playing and by all means go early enough to see the sunset.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great menu, consistent quality and service.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This place may be the best place in Barra especially on nights when you can enjoy live music. Next time I plan to try the ribs. The chef there is a real pro and the staff well trained.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food, view and service”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After dining our way through Barra (and Melaque) in the past three weeks, I put Vainilla Pimienta on the top 2 choices. Worth the extra block walk up from the water taxis. My pistachio salmon was on par with fine meals in the San Francisco Bay Area. The sides, a beet au gratin, was delicious.
Tip: Come before sunset for amazing views. Try the Thai Shrimps (on the main menu) as a shared appetizer. It was a Very unique and delicious way to try this entree as well. Enjoy!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nnovak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli also viewed

 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
Melaque, Costalegre
 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 

Been to Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing