We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Manglito

El Manglito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited El Manglito 5 times over our 10 day stay in the Barra area. The beer was delicious and cold and our waiter Moy was great company. It is located right on the water where you can enjoy the sites of children playing in the water and fishermen bringing in their catch. We unfortunately never ate here as we had free food at our hotel, but we did meet other people who said their food deserved 10 stars! We visited during the day and night and often there was live music. A great little spot to enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a great spot to stop for a cocktail day or night, as well a lunch or dinner. Our first night in town we ate fresh marlin and dorado a friend had caught earlier in the day. They prepared the fish 6 differerent ways accompanied by plantains, grilled veges, rice and salad. Moy, our waiter is fabulous and a wealth of information. As a transplant from San Fran his bi lingual abilities were a plus for me and my poor Spanish skills. He also mixes up a concoction I call Mexican Gatorade for my spouse when his stomach is upset. It's basically beer with lime and salt but it works for him. Come see Moy and the rest of the crew.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klredbutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sta barbara
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We often visit in the afternoon to enjoy the shrimp cocktails and watch the boats. A lovely setting on the lagoon and good food too

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnStaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Huachinango: better than Acapulco on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The menu had huachinango priced by the kilogram, which to me is always a good sign. Moy, our waiter, an ex-pat from northen California, told us it was like a red snapper and he brought us several fish to select for our meal. We chose the largest and it was rubbed in garlic and scored and grilled Absolutely delicious. With the ice cold Estrella, the local brew (which I switched to after my favorite Modelo Negro from the Yucatan), and some fresh Pacific oysters, it was heaven on earth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pancho_cisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sweet location and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a precious location, overlooking the lagoon, lunch on a beach that is ALWAYS calm, looking out at the Grand Bay Hotel. A favorite.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank snooky030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Manglito also viewed

 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
Barra de Navidad, Costalegre
 

Been to El Manglito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing