We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely coffee”
Review of The Old Chapel - CLOSED

The Old Chapel
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: There's a review for the hostel part here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186243-d283436-Reviews-The_Old_Chapel_Zenor_Backpackers_and_Cafe-St_Ives_Cornwall_England.html but I just want to review the cafe. The food was wonderful and the service fantastic.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely coffee”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the old Chapel twice for coffee and cake both of which were delicious. First time fab carrot cake and second time apricot and date flapjack. We sat in the garden in the sun and it was very relaxing. Friendly service too.

Helpful?
Thank Miaowsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Always an Enjoyable Stop!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A perfect place to stop off either walking, cycling or driving around the Lands End Peninsula! Superb walking from the car park, good food in the cafe, and find of the holiday this year: a lovely little gift shop selling a mix of locally made and ethically sourced very unusual and good quality gifts.

Beautiful church close by, nice pub adjacent and even the car park makes a perfect picnic spoton a sunny day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Historylovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot, great lunch and goodies”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Perhaps it was because we had just hiked five miles along the rugged South Coast trail, but the welcome here seemed very warm and the food delicious. I had split pea soup, accompanied by a crusty loaf of bread. It all seemed tasty, home-made and just plain wonderful. Be advised that this is a casual little cafe, which bills itself as a rest for back-packers, but for three tired and quite choosy travelers, it hit the spot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best homemade cake around”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here last week, service was efficient and with a smile. Coffees and tea made seamlessly then took a seat in the clean cafe. Ordered soup and paninis, the soup was especially good. I stayed for a cake whilst my husband walked to Zennor head. Was delicious, can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Have had lunch here a few times this summer. Quick service, lovely home made food. Well worth a visit if passing through

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Chapel also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing