We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and beer”
Review of The Tinners Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zennor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tinners Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Zennor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Tinners Arms last weekend and ate there a couple of times. We had been before to eat and drink, but had not stayed the night. It is a great place, both to stay and, particularly, to eat. It is also an excellent real ale pub. The food is so good not because it is especially technically complicated, but rather because it is of a kind that is recognisable as being homemade (in the best sense) and is simply and cleanly presented. This is true both of the food in the pub and the breakfasts in the B&B accommodation. I think there are very few pubs these days which serve food like this - that is; which is neither 'restaurant-like' in style or ambition (although I have nothing particularly against that), nor which (I think) consists merely of pre-prepared catering co. dishes. Very good place in all respects.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of 18 of us hiked 40 miles of the South West Coast Path over the May bank holiday weekend, basing ourselves in Zennor. 6 of the group stayed at the Tinners Arms and all 18 of us ate there for all 3 nights. The food in the evening was fabulous - menu to rival the best for choice and local fresh produce. The breakfasts were talked about until well into mid-morning. Huge amounts, plenty to keep the bears going until lunch time, The staff were warm and welcoming and the pub is exactly what you need at the end of a walk. The rooms were great, with everything you need. Advance booking for food and accommodation recommended as this place may be remote but it is well loved by the locals too!

Room Tip: Great views of Zennor Church from the double room with the bay window. But everywhere is spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and ate in the pub on three of those nights. We could not have had a better stay. Staff were friendly and helpful with advice about what to see and do around the area, service and food were excellent, room was wonderful. Breakfasts are legendary, Chef makes sure that you are well prepared for the day. Will stay here again if we are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having previously spotted the Tinners Arms on a trip out, we thought that we would give it a try for an evening meal. We decided to eat in the restaurant and straight away had a warm reception from the two lovely girls behind the bar. We had our two sons with us, and at age 2 and 5, meals out can be interesting! However, the service was excellent and the food was amazing and definitely at a high class restaurant level. From start to finish the food was superb and the staff even bought a game over for our children to play with. If you want a place to eat with lovely fresh and tasty food which is presented in a lovely manner then this is the place to go!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having walked over from St Ives we eagerly anticipated our pints of Burrow Hill cider & crab sardines... However whatever you do DON'T forget your table number. Even dropping extra cash into the tips pot couldn't bring a smile over the furious grimace that faced us over the bar!
PS crab sarnies & cider delicious!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very unfriendly staff. Two fatties (who presumably crawled out of the grave yard next to B&B), working in the bar seemed to be very unhappy to serve anything. You ask for a coffee, they say "Wo?", they mean 'what'. Food is good but too expensive. The owner is not around and two fatties shutting the pub whenever they feel like it (very unpredictable). For the first time in my life, I bought a take away beer from another pub (because this one was shut very early) and drank in my room. The area/surroundings is Beautiful. I strongly recommend you go to Zennor but keep away from tinners arms (unless you like drinking in the cold and stop drinking at 8:30 pm).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank henry123452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This has been a favorite spot for me and my husband for several years. Unfortunately, we decided it would be our last visit this time. We had a very unfriendly welcome where we were asked whether we knew how to settle down in our rooms or we would need help and when we seemed to be unsure what to say we were shown the way with an obvious reluctance. This reluctance to serve continued throughout our stay. The first evening my husband was told off for moving a log on the fire to try and get it going again. The reason given was that 'the landlord didn't like the fire because it was too hot' (we were in fact shivering). The second night we were told we could not order food after 8.00 pm. The third night we were told we could not order food after 7.30 pm. On the last night our request to make a fire in the fire place was rejected once again on the basis that it was too late (about 9.00 pm). They shut the pub at unpredictable hours--one night around 9.00 pm, another night around 11.30 pm etc. In short, I would certainly not recommend this place to my friends because it is unfriendly, cold, overpriced and has unpredictable hours. I would however strongly recommend another pub doing B&B: halzephron in gunwolloe. It is warm, friendly and it has excellent food, fire is on all the time with an unforgettable beautiful sunset over the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hulya750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zennor
4.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
631 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
10.9 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
515 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tinners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tinners Arms

Address: Zennor TR26 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Zennor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zennor
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Tinners Arms Hotel Zennor
The Tinners Arms Zennor, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing