We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience by itself”
Review of The Gurnard's Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zennor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gurnard's Head
Ranked #1 of 6 Zennor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience by itself”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A place you MUST experience! High quality; unique concept; amazing decoration; location suitable to relax and feel close to nature and friendly young staff! I's definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 845IreneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    123
    36
    27
    14
See reviews for
78
292
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Gurnard’s Head is an almost like a “lost treasure” in the middle of the Cornish nature. We stayed one night (B&B) and also had dinner. The room was nice, a relaxing atmosphere with no TV, but reliable wi-fi (no mobile phone coverage). And a very comfortable bed, the bed was the best part.
The dinner at the restaurant, was very good with a gourmet twist, but always maintaining traditional and local ingredients. The atmosphere was very nice, and allowed for a special dinner.
Breakfast was good, with a different choice of cooked food and cereals, very good homemade bread. And I loved the homemade yogurt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thankfully it was only slightly isolated for our trip as we were staying in St Ive's although I did stumble across it during a circular walk along the coastal path and after nipping in for a quick look I vowed I would return for an evening meal ... I was even more determined to sample the food after visiting their sister establishment in Mousehole, The Old Coastguard. Needless to say it lived up to expectations; we dined as a couple in the bar rather than the restaurant as we do tend to prefer the informal, generally we are a couple that don't tend to linger over food, we like it to be refreshing, tasty, well presented and unfussy and we like it to be served by friendly but unassuming staff. The Gurnard's Head delivered on all counts. Another big part of our early evening jaunts tends to be the hope of enjoyable local ale; again well delivered.
The menu is simple, exactly as stated and different to it's local sister establishment, so we were pleasantly surprised that we had in effect an extended menu to chose from. Summing up the food is superb washed down by local ale and served by very pleasant and knowledgeable local staff .... oh, and the setting inside offers a cosy and welcoming feel - they appear to have a log fire burning at all times - and outside, well it is just breathtaking.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thellusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in a better room this time, view towards the moorland. Daily trips by the milking herd of Friesians along the road was a treat to watch. Good evening meal, but we also visited the sister hotel in Mousehole -- and were very well treated over there. You need to understand and accept that this a rural , rustic hotel -- (posh it is not) -- but if this your style then it is fantastic located and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidgetbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved the Gurnard's head...Zennor is a lovely tiny town with not much going on but nature and quiet. Gurnard's Head is an old coach inn at rural crossroads and a stay there is a trip back in time, but with fabulous food and fantastic art on every wall. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating. Wine list is top notch and food is local, fresh and seasonal -- fish is amazing and good veggie options too. It's just quiet and peaceful, with a nice garden in the back and a terrace. It was too chilly to enjoy eating outdoors during our stay, but I'd love to come back again and hike, eat and curl up with a good book and glass of wine in the garden!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting. A busy and popular pub. The rooms are basic but the bed extraordinarily comfortable. No TV,no Wi-Fi,no mobile phone signal. A rustic ambiance. The room above the kitchen is very noisy but everything did quieten down about 10pm. However the stairs to the bedrooms are wooden and much clattering is to be heard as guests ascend and descend.
The evening meal was lovely but very overpriced. The staff were efficient. Breakfast was very poor. The waitress was like a character from Little Britain and really quite intimidating. The cooked breakfasts were tiny. Guests had to make their own toast which resulted in a queue of elderly people puzzling over how to work the toaster and hot food cooling fast. Apparently making your own toast allows you to have toast when you want but the result was quite the reverse.
Despite the wonderful setting and the excellent bed I would not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatdrinksleep, Owner at The Gurnard's Head, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that it wasn't quite right for you and that we won't see you again. We'll look again at how we do things at breakfast to ensure that our guests have the best experience, although we're confident that portions at breakfast are generous without swamping the plate. As far as supper pricing is concerned, our starters are priced at £6.50 - £7.50 and our main courses at £16.50 - £18.50 (with two non meat/fish at £12.50). Considering the quality of the food we offer, we think this is pretty decent value in a market where you can pay approaching £20 for a main course in an ordinary pub. For most residents this is included anyway in our generous Dinner B&B offers which reduce the cost. We're sorry you won't be visiting again but are grateful for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards heath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Herb gnocchi delicous! Creme brulee delicious! Even the bread was delicious! The price was reasonable for a fine dining pub! Parking was ok but there was a beer festival so what do you expect! Service was good and the staff were very friendly ! No disappointments !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pigrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zennor
5.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,616 reviews
8.6 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
458 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
607 reviews
5.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
9.7 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurnard's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurnard's Head

Property: The Gurnard's Head
Address: Treen, Zennor TR26 3DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Zennor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zennor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famous old coaching inn on West Cornwall's beautiful Atlantic coast. Under new ownership since April 2006 and now restored to former glories. Simply decorated rooms, lunch and supper from the freshest of Cornish ingredients, outstanding views to the Atlantic and the neghbouring moorland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gurnard`s Head Hotel Zennor
The Gurnard's Head Zennor, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing