We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint!”
Review of The Gurnard's Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zennor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gurnard's Head
Ranked #1 of 6 Zennor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for one night because we needed somewhere near Penzance and St Ives.
We had a "small" double room and it certainly was small and we would not have wanted to have stayed in this room for more than one night.
In general the hotel seems to have gone for a quaint old-fashioned feel with a mixed bag of furniture selected more for its rustic charm than its user's comfort. On the plus side however the food was very good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The location is spectacular with the hotel located alongside the coast road a few miles west of St Ives. A drive along this road in view of the Atlantic Ocean is one of the joys of Cornwall. Whether the bright mustard yellow colour, with which the walls of the hotel are painted, enhances this prospect is a matter of opinion!
We might stay again but would definitely want to go for a bigger room.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in Penwith for our summer holiday this year and know the Zennor / coastal road area quite well. Having visited The Gurnard's Head last year we thought we'd pop back in for a quick drink whilst passing.

First of all (and it needs mentioning)... the yellow... really makes it stick out but is a *little* garish in the countryside. I can only assume it's to help increase visibility for wayward ships around the rocky outcrops in the local area! :-)

Drink selection excellent - particularly the Cornish ale and cider. Toilets nice and clean, restaurant nice and clean... staff very professional and polite. No complaints at all.

We ended up booking a table for an evening meal and again weren't disappointed. Reasonably priced food was served by friendly staff in nice settings - what more could you ask for?

Staying in Cornwall for a week, we ended up popping into The Gurnard's Head on 3 separate occasions, so they're clearly doing something right. Particularly enjoyed the cattle traffic jam we saw late one afternoon, although I don't think the Gurnard's can take the credit (or blame) for that!

Keep up the good work and we'll see you again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having heard good reports about this eating place we turned up at lunch time. Service was extremely slow, food was good quality but portions were small and the bill was overly large. We were unimpressed with the wine selection. Overall the waitresses seemed uninterested in serving us and we won't be going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miriam624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This seems to have a high reputation locally. Empty when we arrived but soon filled up. Service very slow (two hours for three courses). Wrong drink brought and when challenged the waitress told me the original was off - not mentioned when I ordered it and based on her general attitude not true at all. Food was not top quality - overrated and poorly presented. The worst point - the (South African?) waitress. She seemed to think that every mistake could be solved by patting me on the shoulder as if we were old friends. Far too familiar and an attitude which annoyed all in my party. It will be a long time before i go there again. Another case of a place trying to live on its reputation and failing - give it a miss.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Silkman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A place you MUST experience! High quality; unique concept; amazing decoration; location suitable to relax and feel close to nature and friendly young staff! I's definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 845IreneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Gurnard’s Head is an almost like a “lost treasure” in the middle of the Cornish nature. We stayed one night (B&B) and also had dinner. The room was nice, a relaxing atmosphere with no TV, but reliable wi-fi (no mobile phone coverage). And a very comfortable bed, the bed was the best part.
The dinner at the restaurant, was very good with a gourmet twist, but always maintaining traditional and local ingredients. The atmosphere was very nice, and allowed for a special dinner.
Breakfast was good, with a different choice of cooked food and cereals, very good homemade bread. And I loved the homemade yogurt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thankfully it was only slightly isolated for our trip as we were staying in St Ive's although I did stumble across it during a circular walk along the coastal path and after nipping in for a quick look I vowed I would return for an evening meal ... I was even more determined to sample the food after visiting their sister establishment in Mousehole, The Old Coastguard. Needless to say it lived up to expectations; we dined as a couple in the bar rather than the restaurant as we do tend to prefer the informal, generally we are a couple that don't tend to linger over food, we like it to be refreshing, tasty, well presented and unfussy and we like it to be served by friendly but unassuming staff. The Gurnard's Head delivered on all counts. Another big part of our early evening jaunts tends to be the hope of enjoyable local ale; again well delivered.
The menu is simple, exactly as stated and different to it's local sister establishment, so we were pleasantly surprised that we had in effect an extended menu to chose from. Summing up the food is superb washed down by local ale and served by very pleasant and knowledgeable local staff .... oh, and the setting inside offers a cosy and welcoming feel - they appear to have a log fire burning at all times - and outside, well it is just breathtaking.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank thellusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zennor
5.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
4.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
843 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gurnard's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gurnard's Head

Address: Treen, Zennor TR26 3DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Zennor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Zennor
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famous old coaching inn on West Cornwall's beautiful Atlantic coast. Under new ownership since April 2006 and now restored to former glories. Simply decorated rooms, lunch and supper from the freshest of Cornish ingredients, outstanding views to the Atlantic and the neghbouring moorland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gurnard`s Head Hotel Zennor
The Gurnard's Head Zennor, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing