We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant weekend”
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trebarwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Arrived to a warm welcome and then had a drink in the lovely cosy bar with great atmosphere with lovely locals. Great cider too! The room was clean and beautifully presented and a gorgeous view. The dinner was fantastic and the breakfast yummy. The whole stay was made perfect by all the staff and particularly Joe. They were friendly but not over the top and made us feel comfortable throughout the stay. Would highly recommend it and will definitely go back. Just down the road from a beautiful beach as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location, by the side of a pretty stream and an easy stroll to the sea. It has a huge asset in its staff -- they're friendly, cheerful and helpful. The menus are interesting -- both bar and restaurant meals -- and the food we had was excellent, perfectly cooked and presented. The breakfast was as good as it gets -- local ingredients, freshly prepared and an excellent range of options. The are nice touches such as fresh flowers on the tables in the dining room. The downside is that the fabric of the hotel, and the room we had, are in need of some investment -- it's all looking a bit tired. Everything was spotlessly clean and the shower was powerful. But it could, and should, have a wow factor that at the moment is lacking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheddar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I took my partner here for his birthday. Admittedly we booked last minute and got a "laterooms" deal. So I guess that was why we ended up in room 6 which is the most errr... "bijou" The Mill House Inn has to offer even though they weren't full which was a shame. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the staff were very accomodating, the food was fine. The manager DID show us another of the rooms the next morning as we were leaving and it was indeed much bigger, but unfortunately this was too late to improve on what we had personally experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serafinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This B&B is ideally located for exploring the beautiful coastline. The rooms are clean and tidy. The breakfast was a real plus... Very good choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plus point for us was that they accommodated dogs! Only negative point was the rooms are above a pub, therefore a little noisy! Particularly as there was a band on, we were informed of this prior to booking so it wasn't really a problem. We would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We've eaten at a nearby pub with a view of the sea before and enjoyed basic pub food, but decided we wanted something a bit less canteen like from this winter lunchtime visit. My wife had been to the Mill House before with friends, but this was our first visit as a family. What did we like:

- Comfy sofas by the fire to relax in while our order was prepared
- An owner happy to go and fetch his own newspaper for my son and I to look at the sport section as someone in the pub already had the pub copy
- A chef who was prepared to put the sauce on the side for my fussy eating son
- Friendly service
- Fair prices

Why not 5*...
- No sea view when you've come to the beach is always a shame

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank REDScott1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The owner is very welcoming & the tasty food from the restaurant makes for an enjoyable meal.
I can't say the same of the bedrooms ... sparse, cold, tired at the edges & I found it difficult to get enough hot water for a warming bath.

Not sure there was a fitness room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My companion had soup as a first course, which he reported as very good, and we both had the roast beef. The beef was delicious, the vegetables were fresh and pleasantly varied, and the Yorkshire pudding reminded us both of how our mothers used to make it. Neither of us could have found room for pudding. It really was a treat - very friendly service, a lovely room with interesting pictures of local views, and - with a glass or two of Merlot - a very pleasant occasion, and extremely good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JanetCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trebarwith
1.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
287 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
638 reviews
9.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 1 in Bolventor
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trebarwith
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing