We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trebarwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome and then shown around the Mill House . We ate in the restaurant the food was excellent and of a high standard . Bed linen and towels were pure white and we had a good hospitality tray in our family bedroom . The morning breakfast was the best we've ever had and of excellent quality , I would recommend the Mill House Inn .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairesimon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    80
    33
    29
    10
See reviews for
58
185
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have eaten in The Mill House Inn three times now, to varying success - but all three times were decent enough.

On our most recent trip, we celebrated our first wedding anniversary.

If it's possible, ask to be seated (or ask when booking) in the smaller restaurant area, not the main restaurant (only open at weekends, I read). It is just off the main (small) bar area, and is nicely set-out, with tasteful decor.
We have eaten in the main restaurant, but it lacks atmosphere, and you don't get the same buzz from the locals enjoying the pub.

The food is always interesting, and more-often-than-not, decent.
The three mains I have had eaten here are Grey mullet (superb), Pork Belly (average) and Ling most recently, which was good.

The starters and puddings are always amazing, and the wine list is affordable, and not pretentious.

I travel to Tintagel (and it's surrounding areas) frequently, and in an area not noted for it's culinary excellence, this is a bit of a gem.

The only downside is that it is on the expensive-side.

I have not stayed in this establishment in it's capacity as a Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Visited here in June and stayed overnight in a 'superior' room. Quite what it was superior to I'm not sure. Bedroom was just about passable but smelt quite musty with a very smally and creaky bed. Bathroom was big and fairly modern so that was a bonus. The main restaurant (which looks really nice) is only open at weekends so you have to eat your evening meal in the main bar area (fairly grubby looking). Food was quite nice but nothing to write home about.
A real pity as the the place looks charming and could be fantastic. Other friends visiting the area asked about it but we suggested they could find much better for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room ... got a glimpse of one that wasn't... didn't look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateT779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downtown bodmin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

nice place,food was tasty but two potatos? come on what kind of roast has two potatos? left as hungry as i came.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nibzDowntownBodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This place has so much potential to pull its socks up over first impressions and standards of accommodation for the price. My wife and I arrived at Newquay walking the coast path for an intended 10 days, not having booked accommodation ahead. After our Padstow stop we thought we might be struggling for choice at Tintagel/Trebarwith and therefore broke our rule and booked The Mill House Inn, having seen it advertised in a Cornwall FOOD magazine. First impressions are dire - the reception area is tired and dirty with a broken door to the cleaning cupboard in full view. The room at £110 was small and the ensuite bathroom more like a closet. We were so mad that we had got caught out we walked around the neighbouring village of Treknow in the rain and found 4 B&Bs and 4 Hotels in the vicinity, some clearly offering superior standards. We then walked (in the rain) the half-mile down to the Port William pub at Trebarwith Strand to avoid giving the Mill House owners any more of our hard-earned cash for our evening meal. The only redeeming aspect of our stay was the breakfast which was superb. When you read other reviews everyone says the food is great - and this is clearly the Mill House Inn's strength. If only they could sort out their accommodation to suit. The next night we booked at the Trevenna Lodge B&B at Tintagel which for £80 for a superior room was 10 times better than our stay at The MIll House Inn. (see our review on this B&B).

Room Tip: The reception area particularly badly needs a makeover
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARYNC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have ate here a few times now and find the food to be good local produce, atmosphere is very laid back and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yatna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

On arrival we became nervous whilst approaching the front door to reception which was tatty with dirty hand marks around the handle and not a good first impression. Shown to room 3 which was small, very dark and smelled damp with a tiny wardrobe. Looking at someone else’s feedback after our visit, I noted that the mould under the shelf holding the kettle was still there and also the dirt behind the tap on the very tiny wash hand basin. The shower was very good but the soap dish was broken as was the shower gel dispenser. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and well presented.

I doubt very much that the hotel inspector saw room 3 before making the award. The offer was 3 nights for the price of 2, but we decided not to stay the 3rd free night. I have stayed in far superior rooms for less money and on the basis of room 3 we would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timbo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trebarwith
1.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#5 of 25 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Property: The Mill House Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trebarwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing